We’ve Set a New Record

Standard

Too bad it had nothing to do with running in any way, shape or form! 

4:15 am – the earliest I have ever been up with one of my “sleeping through the night” children, on a consistent basis.  It’s an absurd hour.  It’s in-humane.  It’s borderline abuse. 

This is what 4:15 am looks like:

Don’t be fooled, it’s not as cute and adorable as it looks. 

Ok, maybe it is:)

The way it works in the Edwards’ household is that (historically speaking) I get up with the kids.  Part of the whole “stay at home mom” thing.  With the new development of the little guy thinking 4:15 is an acceptable time to start the day – we had to make a new plan.  I draw the line at 4:45 – I will get up at that time everyday to go to the gym and get my sweat on, but I can NOT start my day to an off-the-wall 22 month old at 4:15 everyday followed by the other two monkeys around 6-6:30am.  So the hubster and I alternate days.  Unfortunately for me, this was my day to get up with the boy – and it was a Saturday  (unfortunately for parents, children don’t care whether or not it’s a weekend – they’re up early!) 

The whole gang

Silly that my #1 concern was when and how am I going to get my long(ish) run in now?!?! 

The 7:30am nap really helped whip me back into shape – and I was cruisin’ on the treadmill by 10. 

The rest of the day is a complete blur – but it was Christmas eve, so I’m sure it included a little present wrapping, hanging with the family time. 

I used to have a GREAT memory – it went straight out the window when the kids came.  Now I can’t remember what I had for breakfast.  That’s a lie, I have the exact same thing every day.  More like I can’t remember whether or not I brushed my teeth, put deodorant on.  You know, basic hygiene, it’s a tough one;)

What about YOU???

Are Saturday/Sundays usually reserved for longish runs?

What time do you get up on the weekends?

How early is TOO early?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

One response »

  1. I am mother to 4 children. 11 year old (which is almost like having a second me around), 9 year old(tenderhearted and completely lazy!), 7 year old whiz-bang, drama queen, beautiful daughter, and baby boy who just turned 1 and just recently went off dairy due to a 6 month long ear infection that the ENT swore he would need tubes to rectify. Not so apparently. Nice and clear since we are off dairy. Let’s hope it stays that way! I read your blog with tears in my eyes…yes it is beautiful…but 4:30 am!!!! I have my sillies trained to sleep in until 7:30 for the older ones and 9:30 for baby. Which is wonderful!! My oldest in middle school so mornings start at 6am for him and I during the week. I try to get my run in from 7am (after MS drop off) and 8am (wake up sleepy heads for Elementary school) so Saturdays are my long run days. I roll outta bed whenever I feel like it and take off. If everyone is alive when I get home I count it a success. Albeit the baby’s diaper may be dragging on the floor it is so full and no one has moved off the couch from watching ICarly but hey I got my run in so I can handle it all with grace and a smile. I have those ugly mornings when I decided to crawl back into bed and not get in the run and it makes for a grumpy day for sure!

    So Davey and my bro were buds growing up so we are FB friends and the is how I was recommended to your blog. I had a question and Davey figured you’d be the one to ask. So here come the big question. I am signed up for a Mud Run in a few months. Have you ever done one and got any advice on how to train? I guess my other question is how on earth do you get your kids to go to bed at 6:30pm???? 8:30 is a miracle around here but we are dashing off to piano, scouts and dance at 6:30 so maybe that is why??

    Good luck on the marathon! I am not that adventurous. I run just enough to keep my sanity and some semblance of a waist line. I have NEVER run a 5.27 min mile ! I think 7 something was a HUGE success when I was much younger. But it never hurts to have a goal!

TALK TO ME:-)

