Time for SPEEEEDDD

Standard

Workouts!

I had never done a “speed” workout in any of my training.  None of my training ever actually followed any sort of program.  My training was always of the “put as little amount in to see how much you can get out of it” kind of training.  Not by choice, but because I didn’t have time to run 40, 50 or 60 miles a week.  So I ran what I felt like and what I had time for.  What do you know – it kinda worked for me.  My highest mileage week was probably only ever 40, and that was on a 21 mile long run week.  Terrible, I know.  I don’t even keep track of my mileage:-/  This year.  I will start doing that.  Maybe.  I will also start doing speed work this year.  I’m pretty sure that’s the only way to get faster.  I’ll crank out the longer runs, but speedwork is a foreign world.  time to get acquainted. 

Mile 21 of the last long run before the October '11 marathon. I never know what to do with my hands when running pics are being taken.

I did my first two experimental speed workouts at the track about a month ago.  Short and sweet.  I just did 4×400’s, at 1:10 pace with 1/4 mile jog in between.  Only 2 miles total. 

Workout today – 35 min/5.5miles stepmill fatburner level 18 + 3 miles total treadmill (5×400 @ 1:15 pace, 1/4 mile recovery jog in between each at 7:30min/mile and 1/2 mile jog at end)

The treadmill scares me at that speed.  12mph.  The fastest the treadmill will go.  The past two runs at the gym, my treadmill blew a circuit and shut down.  dead stop.  at 9mph.  not cool.  definitely don’t need that craziness happening at 12mph.  or what if my knee gives out or some other freak thing happens.  my treadmill fear.  I overcame it today and did an introductory speed workout.  I lived.  to tell about it.  I will do more. 

Do you like speed work?  Long runs?  Sitting on the couch eating chocolate truffles?

When was your last long run?

When was your last speed run?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

One response »

TALK TO ME:-)

