Don’t get too comfortable.

Standard

Workout – 6 mile treadmill run, 1% incline, 41 mins.  15 minutes strength circuit

Yay!!!  We made it to Wednesday.  I got to the gym this morning at like 5:15, really didn’t want to go, but really didn’t have a choice since I took yesterday off.  I would be grumpy mcgrumpster if I didn’t do anything this morning.  to put it mildly. 

Hopped on the torture belt (aka treadmill) and started the run- at the usual 8.6 mph.  Here’s the thing – this pace has become pretty comfortable for me.  In my mind, it’s a decent pace.  Puts the mile at 6:58.  In my mind, that’s pretty good.  But, it dawned on me – I’m getting TOO comfortable with it.  One year ago this was not a comfortable pace.  And I also hated running on treadmills (more than I do now).  I just gave up running for the winter, for the most part. 

Me talking to myself during my run (totally normal to talk to yourself on the treadmill.  even more normal to sing out loud listening to your music):  If I don’t push it now, I won’t be faster one year from now.  Marathon’s are not comfortable.  Fast marathons are even LESS comfortable.  So why should my training be comfortable??? 

So, I bumped up the pace to a 6:15 min/mile and told myself to push it a little bit.  And I was TIRED this morning.  We don’t sleep a lot in my house.  Those little lovelies of mine are up early.    I want to do my fastest marathon this year.  Period.  The only way I can do that is if I run when I’m tired.  Run when I’m sluggish.  And run faster when I want to run comfortably. 

So when things get comfortable for you – push it.  Make it uncomfortable.  You’ll be surprised how good you feel after.  There is nothing easy about running 1 mile, 3 miles or 26.2 miles. 

lovely portalets in the rear. really adds something to the nice post-race family picture

 

This picture was right after my October 2011 marathon – SOOOOO uncomfortable!  I was miserable for most of that race and most of the rest of the day.  I think my stomach was trying to eat me, I had such intestinal discomfort.  I said never again will I run a marathon.  So I signed up for my next marathon the next day.  just 4 weeks later.  and beat my time by 6 mins.  victory for me.  expect more of yourself.  nuff said.   

What was your last run/workout that you pushed it a little harder?

Have you ever had a miserable “I never want to run again race”?  What was your hardest run yet?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: How to Friday 3rd edition – How to get Fast(er) « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

