Mr. Resourceful and look what came in the mail!!

Standard

It is a GOOD thing I did make it to the gym this morning.  It was a LOOOONGGG Wednesday home with the little kidlings.  I even contemplated locking myself in the basement and doing another round on the treadmill.  unfortunately, the staircase is open to the basement, so the whole “locking” myself down there part wouldn’t really pan out.  and I should probably pay attention to my children that are all age 5 and under.  call it instinct. 

The afternoon went on as it usually does.  I prepared a delicious meal for dinner, after I made the kids their a la carte lunches.  I am a short order cook.  breakfast, lunch and dinner these days.  the girls cut up all sorts of paper and taped it all over my house.  that’s what they are into lately.  “kid” scissors and tape.  what about the barbies all over the house and baby dolls?  no no no.  tape and scissors are soooo much more fun.  While the girls were wrapping the inside of my house in paper, Luke decided he was hungry for some mandarin oranges and couldn’t wait for me to open the can for him.  being all of 22 months, surely he can figure out how to do this by himself.  just hop up on the counter, grab the kitchen scissors and have at it!  good luck little guy.  didn’t get too far, but I let him try.  like I said, mr. resourceful.  stimulates the creativity.  no worries – I distracted him with matches to get the scissors away.  toddlers really shouldn’t shouldn’t play with scissors.  I think I learned that in motherhood 101. 

We had mussels ( the little bam, as we affectionately call Anna, begged me to get at the store and was totally grossed out by when they were ready to eat) and these AWESOME salmon burgers.  I want to eat these everyday.  for life.  so so good.  I will post the recipe.  de-lish!!!

steamed mussels!!!

 

kidlings lovin' (or hating) their mussels

 
 

best salmon burgers. ever. no argument. hands down.

 
 
And look what I found in the mailbox!  Both on the same day.  time stops when I get these magazines.  the only two I subscribe to.  move over dirty bathrooms and piled up laundry.  I must read about the top 10 marathon contenders for the olympics and find out how and why Molly Sims has such a smokin’ hot body. this instant. everything else must wait. 
 
 
Truth be told, and I like to keep it on the honest up and up – I just peruse the issues when I get them.  Try my best to contain my excitement for the fun reads inside and save it for a killer stepmill workout at the gym.  so there they sit on my counter until I get to the gym.  I will savor every minute I am reading them as I step my little legs away.  I am such a loser – I really do get very excited when I get a new issue.  It’s no lie.  
 
Tell me,
What’s your fave magazine subscription? or do you just go to Barnes and Noble and read them all there?  c’mon, let’s all be honest here???:) 
 
What’s your fave dinner recipe that you could eat every night for the rest of your life?  Seriously.
 
We may have finished off the night with some ben and jerry’s chubby hubby…and hangover 2…maybe
About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

4 responses »

  1. I get soooo happy when magazines come too! I love Women’s Health and Runners World. And Glamour. And Self. And really anything with cooking or celebrity pictures. Hahaha. I’m not currently subscribed to anything. My husband gets men’s health so that’s my only pick right now!!

    • Hi Corrie Anne!! Thank you for commenting!!! I had a debate with myself when I subscribed to “SHAPE” because I only wanted to get one fitness mag and I didn’t know which one to pick – I love Shape, but I love SELF too – so many good ones! I’m sure there are some good things in mens health;-)

  2. I love and recommend Oxygen Magazine…great ideas for strength training, nutrition, and fit ladies to look at…and of course Runner’s World Magazine! I also do get excited when they arrive in the mail. The really isn’t a dinner recipe, but a piece to the meal…but, I could eat baked sweet potatoes every day of my life! I make them in the microwave just because it is easy…but, in the oven is better yet 🙂 I spray a little “I can’t believe it’s not butter” on it and use a little non-fat plain greek yogurt…and sometimes ketchup! 🙂 i’ll stop now with the smiley faces!

    • Hi and thank you for commenting!!! I love smiley faces, and tend to overuse them as well:) I also LOOOOVE sweet potatoes!! They are so good on the grill, just wrap it in tin foil and pop that sucker on there. I’ve been topping them with sauteed black beans, so yummy!!

TALK TO ME:-)

