How To Friday #2

Standard

How To Friday – 2nd edition – How to….have BALANCE in life. 

I am well versed on these issues of balance.  because I say I am.   because I’m a mom.  and a runner.  and an educated person with a degree in human development and family studies (not sure what that means either, but I paid a heck of a lot of money for it) and lots of other things.  I have lived the long life of 29 years, upon which much wisdom has been gained.  I will impart to you.  always giving. 

I think there are 3 important parts to BALANCE –  MIND, BODY, SOUL.  You can’t only work, only run, only be a mom, or just eat chocolate and watch reality tv all day. You have to feed all the different parts.   Too much or too little of anything will leave you walking sideways.  I’ve seen it happen.  ain’t perty. 

Let’s talk mind.  There are a few good ways to accomodate your mind. 

Read – here are a few at the top of my list.  hoping to get to them tonight.    I welcome any recommendations, although these have some pretty good life lessons. 

page turners.

Listen to music.  A four year old singing every word of a Taylor Swift song is fantastic.

watch out Taylor

Reach out of your comfort zone and do something to expand your horizons and stretch your limits.  Like wearing sneakers with skinny jeans.  or horizontal stripes.  or holding a baby. 

does that work? no? better luck next time?

or you could think bigger and join a good cause or organiziation.  *on a serious note (what are you talking about, this is all serious!), I would like to actually volunteer at a race or three this year, that supports a good cause – instead of running them. 

Next is body – get in tune with your body.  keep it healthy.  I work it to the max with cardio and some strength.  Remember to nourish it with good food, and stretching or some different activities. 

My daughter forced me into this one and then captured it for all posterity. she’s tricky.  practicing my arabesque – that ain’t perty. 

we have a mini living room. all about transparency on this little blogger. there are worse pics of me.

Getting your veggies – even if they are in carbohydrate form.  in a box. 

Barilla must have known my kids weren't getting their RDA of veggies.

Lastly is your soul.  I think this may be the most important.  Start and finish your day on a positive note.  I usually do this in prayer.  hiding in the bathroom.  sometimes the laundry room if the bathroom is occupado.  this is my favorite mode of prayer and quiet time:

"Streams in the Desert" serenity and peace. ahhhhh.

But for other’s, it might be quiet meditation or whatever else calms and nourishes your little spirit.

That’s all the insight I have for today friends.  Off to try out this little thing called insanity.  wish me luck. 

How do YOU maintain balance in your life? 

When do you feel unbalanced?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. If You Give A Mouse A Cookie is always wonderful too!!! That’s a pretty impressive arabesque. It kinds looks like warrior three pose too. Obviously, I think running helps me quite a bit in the area of balance. Also, actually as weird as it sounds, I feel like blogging helps. Kind of helps me process or something? And reading my Bible restoreth my soul. 🙂 And Starbucks. Just being honest.

    • Agree with everything you said! I was just saying (to whoever I was talking to, and now can’t remember) that doing this blog is kind of therapeutical, and like journaling. I really enjoy it! My iced coffee ranks right up there with running in my book:)

  2. I don’t drink coffee but a diet coke about mid morning helps me feel like my universe is balanced. I also find great perspective in the scriptures. So much GREAT parenting advice in there! God is our father so it is pretty much the textbook on parenting!! I find balancing role as mother and wife pretty hard sometimes. With 4 kids and wanting all of them to achieve their personal best sometimes I forget who helped me bring them into this world. Husbands before kids I always say!

  3. Pingback: Use it or lose it « msfitrunner

  4. Pingback: Good busy day, running and shopping « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

