Insanity

Standard

Workout – rest/XT day.  I’m going to try out this workout:

frightening. why would I want to do that?

 
Actually, that’s not frightening.  here’s frightening. how would you like to see this in your dreams…

she's a real beauty. must take after her father.

 
Let me redeem my daughter. and my husband. real quick
 

much better. that is the same child

 
 

The funny thing to me, about INSANITY,  is that the marketing geniuses behind naming the whole thing were thinking, what are we going to name this workout that’s going to make a gazillion people want to buy it and do it…got it!  INSANITY – they won’t be able to resist.   Resist I can’t.  my neighbor let me borrow it.  I must try.  So maybe they should rename the marathon, Pure Torture 26.2, and they’d have an even bigger increase in people joining the “sport”.  just a thought.   

I’m sure I will find myself hoppin’ and boppin’ on the stairmaster too.  it misses me. 

I LOVE strength training.  Naturally, I don’t do it as much as I’d like/should.  I try to do 10-15min after my cardio, a few times a week.  but I would really like to do something a little more.  I think it definitely makes for a stronger runner.  looks like runningtimes agrees with me, too: 

In another study published in 2005, researchers assigned participants different training schedules to be performed twice a week for 12 weeks. The groups included running endurance training on its own, strength circuit training on its own, endurance and strength training together and a control group. Lo and behold, the group that combined endurance and strength training improved an average of 8.6 percent in a 4K time trial, increased their V02 max by an average of 10.4 percent and ran to exhaustion 13.7 percent longer than the other groups. This study emphasizes the importance of concurrent strength and endurance training

SOURCE

 I like to do the videos – like P90x and Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.  They give me a good workout.  They don’t offer classes at my gym anymore, so that’s not an option for me.  For $10 a month, I’m glad they offer treadmills. and bathrooms.  I also like to make up my own little strength circuits at home.  they’re cute. and special.  just like my kids.

Do you incorporate strength training into your workout schedule on a regular basis? 

Which do you like more, strength training or cardio?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

9 responses »

  1. Hey! Just started following your blog and am loving it. As a stay at home mom/runner I can really relate :). But also not really because you are so super fast – how are you that fast ?!?! Does it come naturally? I would love to read a post about it. Anyway really enjoying the blog especially the kid humor!

    • Hi Grace!!! Thanks for commenting, and I’m glad you are enjoying it!! I will definitely work on a post on speed:-) I think some of it is natural, and some training. Long legs don’t hurt;-)

      • Yes Long legs…that’s it! It is because I am SHORT that I am slow–LOL!! Glad you were willing to state the obvious! A speed runner I will never be but I always strive to improve. Any tips on speed would be GREAT!

      • Hi Shelley!!! Thank you for reading, and thank you for all of your comments!!! 4 kids?!?! I don’t know how mom’s of four do it, and with a 1 year old – good for you:-) I’m sure they keep you on your toes! 3 girls and a boy? I am working on a post on getting faster, so maybe by tonight I will put it up.

  2. Pingback: How To Friday #2 « msfitrunner

  3. Oh and yes I find strength training deathly boring. I am just too much of a spaz but I know it is important so I try to get some in each week. Thank you for posting some video suggestions. Are there any on Netflix??? I used to go to Lifetime which helped me get in the strength training just after I finished my runs but with the new baby I found out that you need an 24 hour ahead of time appointment for infant childcare and I am not that organized! I like to commit to an early morningish type time schedule. How do you not get bored to death running on a treadmill? I HATE cold morning runs and would much rather run in sahara type weather conditions so I used to go to run on the treadmills indoors but by 30 minutes I felt like screaming….even with music!

    • Treadmill runnning is almost more a test of mental strength, I am finding, then it is of physical condition. It’s hard. and boring. Not really anything pleasant about it! But, I also really find no need to run more than 30 min. on a treadmill, unless I’m training for something! I’m on the treadmill now because I really don’t like cold weather running! once it warms up, I’ll get outside, but I don’t always find that “easier” to do. I guess it depends on my mood! and that is ever changing!!

TALK TO ME:-)

