More COW please

Standard

If I didn’t have the attention span of a three year old and could have made it more than 5 minutes into the Insanity workout, I could tell you how it was.  From what I could tell, it looks like a lot of cardio, but I could be completely off.  usually am.  I was a complete spaz attack this afternoon.  Sometimes you just have to know when to let the workout go.  probably shouldn’t be like 3 or 4 days in a row.  that’s just lazy. 😉 .  just saying.  I jumped on the stairmaster for 20min and called it a day.  broke a sweat.  got the heartpumping.  done.  

I started feeling badly today for my husband that he’s been eating my wannabe vegan/vegetarian meals for 3 months.   The dinner conversation that killed beef in this family went something like this: (while the kids were eating a nothing less than phenomenal meal prepared by muah)

ALEX:  Mom, what is this meat we are eating, it’s delicious!

ME: It’s ground meat, my love

ALEX: but what is from???

ME: it’s from a cow, my precious little angel (that’s how I talk to the children)

ALEX/ANNA: ooooohhhh!!!  This COW is good!  Can we have more COW???  Mom, we want some COW, it’s soooo yummy.  Can you put more COW on our plates. 

ME: no more cow.  ever.  that’s gross. 

After 4 months of quinoa, barley and barilla plus pasta, I thought my husband deserved a meat and potatoes meal.  so I got meat and potatoes.  yummm.  cow for dinner. 

Reader be warned:  food pictures to follow.  proceed with caution, or make sure you have an empty stomach.  as yummy as the cow was, the pic doesn’t look so yummy. 

My little helpers.  not helping.

The cow. 

beef tenderloin. garlic mashed. sauteed green beans. i'm suzy homemaker. pie is in the oven.

And that will do it for cow for about another 3 months.  back to brown rice and cannelini beans. 
 
Are you vegan, vegetarian, or eat-anything-that’s-put-in-front-of-you type person?
 
Who does the cooking – you, significant other, or both? 
 
Long runs going on this weekend??
 
About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

11 responses »

  1. Love the cow post…I don’t eat red meat either!! Yuck!!!! My hubby loves it though!! Love your blog, so candid!!! I will be reading more for sure!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!! Your kids are such cuties!! I am a fitness fanatic myself!! Not running though…never was really much of a runner!! I am into doing all my workouts at home, now that I have the baby!!! Love my workout time…it kept me so healthy through my pregnancy!! Look forward to reading more!

    Julie (www.myclothdiaperstash.com)

    p.s. I think I saw you running last sunday afternoon in glastonbury!! I was at a family party driving home and I did a double take and said to my hubby….I think that’s my friend Katie…lol…was it you?? Pink jacket black pants?

  2. Hahaha. You are an excellent wife. I lean towards the vegetarian side of things, but I’m definitely not all the way there. I love chicken and turkey, but I don’t really like cooking meat. I try to makng something more Kevin-y sometimes. When he deserves it. Hah. I cook everything. Although Kevin once microwaved something when I wasn’t feeling well. Hoping for a long run tomorrow!!

  3. I definitely eat like I am a vegetarian some days..but my hubby is a meat and potatoes guy. Kinda hard sometimes to cook for us so that’s why I give in and eat more meat than I probably would otherwise.

    I’m lucky in that we both cook 🙂

  4. I’m definitely not a vegetarian. I’m not someone who eats a ton of red meat, but I don’t think I would ever want to go off of it completely.

    And I am definitely the cook in this house. If I left things up to Brandon, we’d only be eating frozen pizza, Kraft Mac and Cheese, and Life cereal! 😉

  5. Not a vegetarian, but definitely careful about consumption. My week (I do all the cooking) is usually 2 nights fish, 2 nights vegetarian, and 3 nights chicken.

    Headed to Glastonbury to visit my dad today with my 7-year old. Going to the GHS hockey game tonight so he can see how the big dogs play. Maybe I’ll see you running along Main Street. Have a wonderful weekend.

  6. I was a strict vegan for about 7 years until I met my hubby and then it was too hard (and we were too poor) to cook vegan easily. Went almost vegetarian with my last pregnancy. The thought of eating meat-blech! You should give the Weston Price books a gander. They are all about a healthy gut and it encourages good pasture fed meat and especially meat organs. All those good hunting trophies Davey gets would do the trick!! I give my little guy a shot of Vit B with some liverwurst everyday. I still prefer the taste of veggie meals. Especially Indian dishes so my kids love them some curry…not the veggies but the curry. LOL! Lots of fresh fish from Grandma and Grandpa in Florida!

  7. Pingback: Long Runs and Trail Races « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

