Double Trouble

Standard

Workout – nothing yet.  12 miles on the agenda.  don’t know when, where, why or how.  will get back to you. 

I guess it would be nice to have a lazy saturday morning, like most of the rest of normal people.  but, saturdays are for long runs.  long workouts.  lots of fun.  I have an easier time motivating myself if I get out of my sexy lingerie first thing 

xxl pj's are totally in. would somebody please get this girl a new sweatshirt.

And jump right into my running clothes. 

flip flops can be worn year round

Than I don’t feel as much like a bum.  and I can actually accomplish things like make breakfast and fold laundry.  i’m always folding laundry.  way too much laundry.        

My husband greeted me with some scary words at 5:30 this morning:  “today is the day”  “I’m going to start training again”

5:30 is WAAAYYY to early for news like that. 

AHHHH!  My little heart skipped a beat.  why on EARTH would you want to do something like that?!?!  That means I have to share workout time.  I don’t like to share.  anything.  that’s a lie.  what’s mine is everybodys.  looks like that’s going to include my precious time as well.  it’s gonna be a battle for who gets the time.  throw down fights are going to start happening.  will probably look something like this.  with me on top.  he’s got nothing on me. 

Actually, we try to do things a little more civil around here.  what, with the kids and all.  try to set a good example and all of that overrated stuff.  but the truth is, when you’ve got kids, and both parents training for something, it gets a little trickier than when one of us is in training mode.  we have to take turns.  someone has to tend to the chickadees, and we’re told it can’t be the dog.   

My hubs is a stellar athlete.  marathons are beans to him.  he goes for the big stuff.  ironman tri’s, 100 mile utltramarathons.  I stick to the “small” stuff.  And he can do it all with minimal training.  that is why he is a stellar athlete.  talk about mental strentgh. 

i joined the fun at mile 70. this is 91ish. oh the hills. i love hills.

finish line

So here is my 3rd reason for why I think following a race training plan is better than butter and sliced bread.  It forces you to set a goal and holds you accountable.  With both my husband and I training now, we can’t just laze around on a saturday morning. I can think of three other reasons why we will never laze around on a saturday morning. they are all under 4 feet tall and tear my house apart.  lovely little creatures. 

back to the plan – I had to think about what my goal was in order to create the plan.  now the plan will hold me accountable to do my long runs on saturday’s instead of sleeping until noon.  goals are super important.  

But you have to set them first.  you don’t know what you are capable of until you set a goal and then reach it.  then set another goal and reach that.  they don’t have to be crazy, unrealistic or even seemingly attainable.  but they have to be yours.  when you put a plan together, they seem more tangible.  I put in 3 hours for my marathon goal time.  no idea why.  i might have been dropped on my head as a small child. in all reality, it was completely arbirtrary.  seemed out of reach.  but the more I do and follow my plan, the more attainable it seems.  even if I don’t get it this time around, I will keep trying.  and knowing that I made a plan and was accountable to it, is worth it all.

awww. that's not nice.

 
Don’t let anyone tell you that.  at least not to your face. 

You’ve got to believe.  in yourself.  so if your goal is to run a 5k.  signup.  if your goal is to get more organized. don’t have one of these.

 

 

HAPPY WEEKEND PEOPLE!!!  Hope you have a fantastic day:-)  I get to go out AGAIN tonight.  Too much for one week, I can barely handle it.  I’ll fill you in on all the juicy or not so juicy details tomorrow. 

Do you try/like to go out to eat on the weekends?

Does everyone have a 3 day weekend?

Are Saturdays for bumming around?

 

 

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. Katie, I love your blogs. You are so creative, entertaining and yet challenge me at the same time. Love the questions you post at the end. Duane and I got to train at the gym early today, Andrew man was a lazy bones and slept in. We put in our time with the small munchkins and are now appreciating the freedom. Enjoy the fact that you Davey loves working out and that you share it together. Love you.

  2. I want your legs! I’m short and my legs are short and stubby, not cute. Girl you can do anything your heart desires, that 3:00 mary is yours! I’m a big planner so I’m always writing down goals and assessing and reassessing the steps needed to get there, so I agree with you 100%. Can’t believe your hubby is so hardcore, that’s pretty frickin neat. You guys are a power racing couple! What a cool example for your children too.

    P.S. if you want to come over to my home and fold some laundry, that would be lovely 😉

  3. I always wondered how ppl trained w/ kids! Training can take up so much time. But having an understanding husband is key! I don’t even remember what it’s like to not work out hard on Saturday mornings! i wouldn’t have it any other way.

  4. Saturdays are sometimes for long runs, sometimes for relaxing, and sometimes for errands. Today has been a relaxing day so far. Other than a quick run to the grocery store and cooking dinner tonight, I really don’t have any plans! Love it! 🙂

  5. I wish Saturday’s were for lounging. Sometimes I envy people who sleep in, casually workout and veg around the house. In the winter, I am up early skiing and in the summer I am typically going for a long run. I am always happy after the fact, but motivating to get out the door is never easy!

    • Hi Mattie!!! Thank you for commenting, I love it:) Sleeping in even until 6:30 would be nice for me, but than again I get a lot done getting up so early! getting out the door to do ANYTHING, even shopping sometimes is hard:-)

  6. Ah, the dreaded double training. With 2 little ones, we have to navigate those scary waters around here too. Is it weird that sometimes I’m jealous of my friends’ husbands who don’t work out instead of mine who cycles for hours on end? Oh well, if it wasn’t that, it would be golf or something else, I guess. Although right now I have a three month old and my guy is sweet enough to let his exercise goals take the back burner while I focus on getting back in shape and training for a 1/2. If only he could get back in shape for me, then we’d have a win-win!

  7. Pingback: Oh what a night and all about LOVE « msfitrunner

  8. Pingback: How to Friday 3rd edition – How to get Fast(er) « msfitrunner

  9. Pingback: Monday Motivation « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

