I’m a survivor

Standard

Workout9 miles, flat, basement treadmill.  I don’t even care how long it took.  It was the most horrifically miserable run I’ve ever done.  complete exaggeration.  not EVER done, but ever done.  my legs were lead weights.  breathing was horrible.  and it was only 80 degrees down there, not the usual 88.  wimp.  BUT, this is my epiphany.  at the end of it.  I don’t care how miserable it was.  I did it all.  I am sticking to the plan.  I didn’t stop 1/2 mile or 1 mile short because my legs were 3 miles back.  as a matter of fact, I looked at the plan after, and it was only supposed to be 8 miles.  I need to pay better attention. 

SO – when you are having the most miserable of miserable workouts – stick it out.  slow down.  take a breath.  finish it.  you will be glad that you did.  unless of course you are literally losing a limb – you should probably take a break.   glass half full – glad it wasn’t a speed work day.  I probably would have just cut my legs off at the knees.  would have been more fun.   

I can think of a few reasons why today might have been difficult: 1.  Lack of sleep  2.  Lack of sleep  3.  Lack of sleep  4.  empty fridge.  something about needing FUEL for a run?   by mile 7 I bolted upstairs, scavenged the pantry and inhaled a package of sport beans.  delish.  I did have this to drink while I was running:

my favorite water bottle modeling the lovely drink mix. love that little water bottle.

The only reason for that particular kind is the last marathon I ran, this was the drink they were offering.  I wanted to get my little tummy used to it so that it didn’t end up all over me.  now I have a big container of it.  waste not want not.  It tastes fine.  I do like drinking something like this when I go longer than 8 miles, especially when I’m running in the Sahara dessert. I think I would like to try the Gatorade series stuff, though – especially the recovery drinks.  Has anyone tried them?? 

My husband gave me a most beautiful gift when I went downstairs to run –

somebody, help me! I need a flatscreen tv. i feel naked.

A new wall to look at.  something’s still missing.  an even bigger something because that is one large wall.  for a nice big flatscreen.  at least it’s a new view.  I think I liked my corner view better. 

They should make a bumper sticker that says – I survived Target.  with 3 little kids – or better yet – I survived a 3 day weekend.  with 3 little kids – we did have a peaches and cream day and made it out of Target with a few bucks to spare.  of course I found some steals and deals that I couldn’t pass up.  Let me share.  I was super organized and made a tiny little list of some things I needed. 

can you guess what's for dinner one night this week? the lucky winner will....get to be a lucky winner.

I don’t know why I thought Target would carry beluga, brown and red lentils???  what happened to me?? 

The “off the list” crappadoos that were way more fun than the listed items. 

Annies for a buck each!!! bigtime score. that's a favorite lunch around here. this is exciting.

 

sparkly headbands are a must. never pass up a good sparkle.

I've had my eye on those 3 middle pillows for a couple months. finally went on sale. they're happier in my home anyway.

 

Almost bought these last month - funny thing about CT, it usually snows. glad it didn't snow yet. glad I didn't get them before because I got them 50% off today. it's basically spring anyway.

 

he couldn't hang. target is so exciting. tuckered the little guy right out.

That should do it for Target for awhile.  I only had to give Luke 4 lollipops and a container of vanilla wafers to get him through the store.  And the kids didn’t shoplift anything.  always a good day in my book. 

 and I will leave you with a Quick Tip – don’t wear shoes like this when it is 15 degrees out.  bad decision #197 for the day.  that’s all. 

little piggies were not happy

Do you like to wear headbands when  you work out? 

Do you have better workouts on an empty stomach first thing in the morning, or do you have to eat first?

What is your favorite thing to have for lunch?

I will share with you a couple of recipes I am going to try for lunch, later in the week.  after I get to the store and make them.  that could take awhile. 

Leave me some love below:-) 

and don’t forget, you can put your email in and “follow me” in the upper right.  we’ll have fun together.  promise.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. Kevin always reminds me and others that the worst runs are the best prep for race day. He would run 4-5 hours on the treadmill in our unfinished basement not watching tv in order to prep for the monotony of 100-mile runs. A good friend of ours had a HORRIBLE run on his treadmill Saturday in prep for his first 50-miler. Kevin swears it will be the single-most important & beneficial run of his training. Who knows? The guy came in 5th in Western States, so maybe he’s on to something?!

    Impressed with your restraint in Target — your finds are awesome…especially the headbands. Cannot wear headbands running cause my head is some strange shape that they slip up the back of my head.

    My fave lunches (for me) are: sweet potato w/a scoop of cottage cheese, peanut butter and anything, and salad with tuna and a lemon dressing. Another blog I follow had a recipe for lentils w/lite coconut milk & other yumminess. I’ll try it this week & pass it along if it’s any good.

    • WOW!!! 4-5 hours?!?! I will tell Davey that. We were trying to figure out what he placed, we thought he won it. 5th place is beyond impressive! That’s my thought too, these tough runs are good and it’s really such a short amount of time, really.
      I love sweet potatoes too – love them with black beans. I found a lentil soup recipe on another blog that I am going to try tonight. yum:-)

    • Hi Jessie!! Thank you for reading my blog! I am just outside of Hartford, CT – there are a couple of Targets within 20 min drive of me. I keep saying they should put one in my town, but it’s probably better that there isn’t one! Where is your sister???

  2. Pingback: Oh what a night and all about LOVE « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

