Tough Decisions

Standard

Workout – 9 miles on the agenda.  we’ll talk  about this one.  I made a BAD decision.  and now I pay. 

I’ve had to make some tough decisions over the past 24 hours.  things like, should I put the kids to bed at 6 or 6:30?  actually not so tough after a 5am wakeup.  another one – should I have a bagel with peanut butter for breakfast, or should I have crazy oatmeal concoction and save the last bagel for my hubby?   being the ever giving, supremely wonderful wife that I am, I made him the bagel/egg sandwich. I ate the goopy oatmeal.  mmmm. 

hello red Target sweatshirt. don't worry. it has seen the inside of a washing machine.

But the hardest decision I had to make was – do I sleep until 6:30am on my morning to sleep, or sleep less and get up at 5am to get my 9 miles in?  I slept.  Wrong decision.  very bad call on my partit’s Martin Luther King day.  kids are home.  ready to eat me alive.  I’ve accepted the fact that the gym and I have a nice, working, symbiotic relationship – I give up my sleep, but it gives me very necessary energy to get through the day.  I got up at 6:30, by 6:32 I knew I should have gotten my little booty out the door.  after yesterday’s rest day, I’m in the hole LOTS of endorphins.  think I like that word a lot. 

FREE ADVICE – if you are in the position of having three kids ALL day at home and have the opportunity to go to the gym for an hour, even if it means NO SLEEP – GO.  Even if you just sit there.  GO!!!  I think the rule goes something like this for moms.  of small children – moms don’t have to actually workout at the gym to get the full endorphin effect.  you could warm a bench and just absorb all the other endorphins floating around you.  as long as you are out of the house.  pretty sure that’s how it works.  the kicker was that when I did get up – my husband bolted out the door to the gymbo!  That’s my job!!  there might have been a tear.  or two.  I pulled myself together.  something about making lemons….or lemonade.  working on it.  

And this is ALL thats left of my 2 loaves of pumpkin bread from yesterday.  guess it wasnt so good.

 

I think we will go harrass Target today.  I’m sure I need toothpaste, toiletpaper and $150 worth of other stuff that I won’t know I need until we get there.  You haven’t experienced Target until you’ve done it with 3 small children.  good times.  darn good times.

hubby said a prayer on his way out the door that we would make it through this lovely home from school monday – so the kiddos and I are going have a fantastico day.  could be worse.  could be raining.  or snowing.  counting my blessings. 

and someway, somehow I will figure out how to get my run in.  gonna be tricky.  but it’s gonna get done.

Any good plans for the day off?

Do you buy WAAYYY more at Target than you ever need to buy? yes I do!

What gets you off on the right foot on a Monday morning? coffee and a prayer:-)

Talk to me!  Leave a comment below:-)

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. LOVE Target! I always buy more than I plan to there. Gets me every time.

    A good start to a Monday morning is coffee. A good start to every morning is coffee. I actually go to bed thinking I can’t wait to drink my coffee 🙂

    No big plans today. Going to enjoy my day off!

    Get that run in!

    • I am the same way with coffee! but I only drink it iced, so I have to wait for it to cool because I never think to make it the night before. I’ve been getting in the bad habit of having two cups a day – it’s a treat! hope you enjoyed your day off!!!

  2. I’m a huge Target fan.It’s funny, we used to live in a small town and we went all the time. Now that we’re in Denver, it’s pretty inconvenient so we rarely go. I miss it!!! I slept in this morning too. Oops. But I was super sore so I decided to rest up till tonight. You need a gym with childcare. 🙂 I want to own a gym someday with awesome child care where the kids get a lot of energy out while the parents are working out. Aren’t I nice? 🙂

  3. I love Target, but we don’t have one around us. So sad. When I lived in Florida, it was my go-to store for pretty much everything!

    Today I’ve: gone to the gym (sorry!), done two loads of laundry, Bible study, blogging, and I’ve made peanut butter and jelly blondies. And then eaten two. Or three.

    • Those blondies sound so good! I love to bake, but don’t because then I will eat it! So sad you don’t have a Target – and crazy – it seems like there are targets everywhere. probably good for your bank account:)

TALK TO ME:-)

