The Daily Grind

Standard

Workout8 easy miles on the schedule

Tuesdays are generally a busy day with kids, school, dance, living the high life.  very glamorous.  Here’s a glimpse into this fancy shmancy world of mine.  minus the coffee.   there is no coffee in the container this morning.  not a good sign. 

Wakeup bright and early – 4:30am.  Try to get the little crazy back to bed and than give up on life around 5am. 

Change a diaper

5:15-5:30am – Tweedle dee and Tweedle dum join the crew.  everyone is alive and well.  #1 doing her homework for today.  no time like the present to teach procrastination.  I’m very good at it. 

crazies

Hubs shoots out to the gym.  It’s his day.  I have to figure the run in at some point throughout the day or tonight.   

Change a poopy diaper. 

unload dishes.  throw in some laundry.  hug a baby.  kiss a child. 

Davey gets home with COFFEE.  the day has been saved. 

I get to make everyone breakfast – a la carte.  Lately I like to just have a peanut butter bagel.  everyone else usually gets eggs and cereal of some sort.  along with ovaltine milk.  yummy vitaminy chocolatey goodness. 

and I put together some protein shakes for D-man and I for later. 

Get the kids dressed.  Plop them in front of the TV for half an hour so I can breathe real quick.  Pack the bookbag and dance bag for school.

See a terrible message on the news that there is a 90 min delay due to 2 inches of snow = no a.m. kindergarten.  shoot me now.  I love extra time with my kids. 

watching dada do the driveway. and the neighbors driveway. and the other neighbors driveway

#1 would be off to get educated by 8:25.  if it didn’t snow.   

Stick the kids in the car and go to MY FAVORITE PLACE IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD the last place I want to be but spend entirely too much time there – the grocery store.  we didn’t make it to the store yesterday, and Target didn’t carry lentils (the nerve), we run to the store.  not literally.  that’s a little crazy.  

Get the goods and head back home, unless I have to run any other errands.  I usually max out at 2 or 3 stops.  it’s a pain getting the kids in and out of the car.  and it’s cold.  we had snow last night. did I mention that.  thank goodness I got my deal of the year on snowboots for the kiddos!

Gammy to the rescue!  I get to go to the gym before Anna goes to school this afternoon.  I’m sure it was tough, but they managed to get all the snow cleaned up in time for the afternoon kids.  there is a God.     

I should probably feed them lunch.  12:45 – bring the preschooler to school. 

Big girl goes to dance for 1:30-2.  Little guy usually falls asleep on the way and that 20 minutes constitutes a wonderfully delightful nap.  I would prefer 3 hours.  but again, we don’t live in a perfect world.  I’ve accepted that. 

The whole crew is home by 3:30ish, and the dinnertime craziness begins.  little more cleaning, laundry and I’ve got bedtime dreams.  The official bedtime countdown begins by 4pm.  it’s official. 

All in a day.  repeat tomorrow.  new day.  new fun. 

Is there snow yet where you live?

Do you plan your dinner meals out in advance for the week?

How many times a week are you at the grocery store?

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

9 responses »

  1. Haha. A parent’s perspective on school is totally the opposite of teachers. Do you know how jubilant we would be for a snow day? That is until they start lengthening the school day for the rest of the year because the kids have mised so many days. Love teaching. Can’t wait to get back to it!! Lol. We have tons of snow. It snowed yesterday in fact. I would say we go to the grocery store more days than not!

  2. Ha! Loving your blog 🙂 and oh I can’t wait to have kids! There’s no snow, I’m currently in Australia so it’s backwards here – summer and I love it. Love snow but I tend to get sick a lot in the cold.
    Since my life is ridic and I’m transient (dancer, I go where the work or the boy is) I usually don’t have a kitchen or a refrigerator of my own. I love to plan meals but it never goes as planned – le sigh. I plan how I’ll deal with eating healthy (and veg) without much control over where I am. I love grocery shopping!!! When I’m living in a set place I go like 5 times a week. is that an addiction??

    • Hi Eva!! Thank you so much! And I love the comments! So jealous you are in Australia!!! I would love to go there some day. That might drive me crazy not having my own kitchen or fridge, but I guess you get used to it. I used to enjoy grocery shopping pre kids, but now it’s kind of a means to an end – gotta get the groceries to cook! I think it’s best sometimes to go more often, especially to get fresh produce – I’m there 5 times a week because I always forget something I need:-)

  3. Is there snow here? Haha! YES it is supposed to be -46 degrees celsius with the wind chill tonight I have no idea what that is in Farenheit COLD!!
    I plan all of our weekly dinners and hit the grocery store once per week, it makes dinner time so much easier; I don’t have to think about it,and we eat out way less that way. Just started following your blog and I love it!

    • Where do you live that it is -46?!?!? I probably wouldn’t ever leave my house! I can’t even imagine living somewhere that it’s that cold! I used to be good about doing once a week and planning, and I have to get back to doing that! It really makes life SO much easier. and if it was that cold here, I def. wouldn’t be going to the store as often as I do! Glad you are enjoying the blog:-)

  4. No snow in NC! But tomorrow it will drop to a blistery 46 degrees! Miss the CT snow sometimes but not really with kids!

    Go to the grocery store almost everyday. I find I save money that way and buy only what I need for the immediate moment. Plus we live within walking distance which is pretty awesome on warmer/sunnier days.

    I plan for the week but with the hubby traveling at moments notice I don’t buy the ingredients until the day before or day of the meal.

    Love you blog. Gave me great motivation today to SIT and read for a few moments. My usual day leaves me feeling like I’ve lived through a Die Hard movie!

  5. Well since my oldest is 4 every day is a snow day. But you’ve paid those dues already! Anyway my biggest comment / question is – kindergarteners have homework ?!?

    • this is delayed – but YES, she has homework! crazy, I know. and it’s not a lot, usually a sheet or two a week of practicing letters and stuff. but it’s homework:-) my preschooler does too!

TALK TO ME:-)

