Use it or lose it

Standard

Workout – 8 miles.  gym treadmill.  1% incline.  57 min.  done and done. 

I love (even put the word in PINK and italics, big stuff) getting my workout in before noon.  freeing.  I finish it and I don’t have to think about it again until tomorrow morning.  You may get the idea that I live for my run.  or my workout.  or my time.  you might be on to something.  maybe not live for it, but it’s up there.  it is one of those things that keeps me going.  I place a certain amount of importance and give it some credit because it’s my sanity, really.   it gives me balance.   in more than one way.  read on.  find out my running epiphany’s for the day.

I think when I run.  I don’t think I do a lot of thinking during the rest of the day.  I do a lot of doing and listening and talking and running around and making food and cleaning.  but not a lot of thinking. 

I’m running today on the ever loving treadmill (our relationship is really starting to blossom.  moving from hate to tolerate.  baby steps), and I start to think.  smoke may have started coming out of my head, but it didn’t explode, so I kept thinking.  and running.  and thinking. 

and I think – is this healthy? is it ok that I crave a good run, or a good workout?  which led to this other deep thought.  uncharted territory.  I’m not usually comfortable with deep thoughts – is it really the workout that I crave so much, or is it everything that goes with it that makes it so necessary, important and enjoyable for me?   So I started to think what is it about running, that makes it more than running.  that makes it the mind, body, soul balance that I need and can package into a nice, neat little 60 minute jaunt on the treadmill. 

#1 – this is my quiet time.  I pray.  for my family.  my children.  my husband.  whatever comes to mind.  I have conversations with myself.  in my head.  as long as it’s not out loud it’s totally normal.  

#2 – This is different for every runner, but I do think there is something special about running that gets you in tune with who you are and what’s important to you.  there’s a reason racing in running is becoming so much more popular.  there’s a reason there are so many more people signing up for marathons and ultra marathons than ever before.  and it’s not because it’s a walk in the park. 

#3 – makes me feel good.  and strong.  it’s mine.  For me – I’m admitting to myself, that I think I’m pretty good at it.  I’ve always been fit.  I’ve always been a gym goer.  but there’s nothing for me that beats the feeling of working hard for a race, and acheiving what I set out do do.  I can start to see the potential in myself to get better at it.   It’s the challenge.  of pushing myself in a daily run.  of finishing a marathon.  a half marathon.  of doing my best.  of seeing what I can do.   

#4 – I can run.  run while I can.  my husband and I took the family to the track a couple months ago to try out our first speed workout. as we finished, we saw this older man walking the track.  he was about 85 going on 112.  I hope I age better than that.  he was barely shuffling, had about 3 teeth in his mouth and he was there.  and he goes every day.  it takes him 30 minutes to go one lap.  do the math.  he’s not winning any races.  but he doesn’t have to.  he says to us, “if you don’t use it, you lose it.  I can still walk, so I’m here everyday”  I like that.  I’m going to use what I have.  and see where I can go with it. 

For some people, their “running” is cooking, or baking, or dancing, or photography, perhaps spalunking. maybe not spalunking.  it’s different for everyone.  but it’s yours, whatever it is.  If it adds positivity (did I make that word up?) and not negativity, there is a reason it takes up an important space in your life.  and helps you enjoy all of the other very important things in life. 

 

And here’s another little way I’m trying to stay balanced – I gave my red sweatshirt a break. too much of a good thing can be a smelly thing.  good think Target made two colors.  introducing the grey.

Please feel free to email me and share stories of your races, accomplishments, photos, stories, anything!  I love to hear about people reaching their goals and I would love to post about them too!  Also, feel free to let me know what YOU would like to see a post about:-)

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

12 responses »

  1. I love that sweatshirt!!! I think I’m going to need one. I have to both run AND bake to keep my balance. I actually hate working out in the morning. But I wish I liked it. On a day off, I’m always wanting to get it off earlier because I feel like incomplete without it. 🙂

    • That is so funny you posted that – I just read another blog that I follow, and she just read that book and LOVED it. I need to go buy it! I’m sure I will add it to my list right now of blogs I follow:) Thanks for thinking of me!!!

  2. Love this! I think running can provide so much more then strength and mobility for people. For me I do almost all of my deep thinking while running, it’s the only time that I feel completely undistracted by everything else going on around me. It makes me feel alive and appreciate everything that I’ve been blessed with. I think that everyone needs to find their “running”.

  3. I LOVE this post!!! I too find that it is the only time that I can THINK through something and/or rediscover something I had forgotten….like loving my family despite that they think they live in a barn.

    I have been stewing over your comment about how you don’t listen to music when you run and it has always bothered me that I CAN’T not listen to music except during races when I am focused on the finish line. But after reading THIS post I realized I listen to music because it keeps my mind from wandering to the mundane things….like folding laundry….and instead it gives my brain a push to think about goals and the horizon! Nothing like fantasizing that I am actually Beyonce to get me motivated to be my own personal superstar!!

    I am part of a book club and after reading the post about the book suggestions I think I may find one to share. I am reading some reviews on Amazon to find one that is a good fit for the mixed group of girls we meet with. Other suggestions??

    You have also helped motivate me to go ahead and restart my gym membership. This cold weather is NOT helping to motivate me for early morning runs and then by noon I feel like a blob and by dinner my family just goes ahead and calls me beast. SOOO I found out they have a satellite gym like a mile from my house with CHILDCARE!!! Yipee! I can do the morning school dash(I have three that get driven to school at three different times…makes the morning a bit interesting!) and then enjoy an hour in the gym without freezing my saddlebags off!!! PLUS I can take one of those dreadful group fitness classes and get in my strength training.

    MUDRUN here I come!!

  4. Very well said. I had a thought very similar to this today…when I get down or think I’m not doing enough or am not “fast enough”, I think, hey, I’m out there…I’m doing something, it will come in time and it feels soo good! 8 min mile or 13 min mile…it’s still a mile and it feels great!

    • Hi! Thank you for commenting! sometimes thinking this way is the only thing that gets me through some runs – it’s not going to last forever, I will be able to get off the treadmill!

TALK TO ME:-)

