Oh what a night and all about LOVE

Standard

If you’ve been reading my blog for a bit, you know that I have a 23 month old sleep depriving monster living in my house.  Love him to peices, but he has not slept past 4:30am for the past 3 months.  pretty torturous. 

turns out you need sleep.  I used to think 5:30 was a horrible hour of the day to be awake.  turns out 4:30 is about 10,000 times worse.  Last night we decided to try keeping him up later, again.  This is hard in itself.  My kids are in bed by 7.  I look forward to lucky #7:00 all day.  I LOVE my children.  by 6:30, it’s time to put them to bed and replenish my love for them.  we kept the little goblin up until 8:30 last night.  that’s exactly 1.5 hours of less time that I had to replenish my love cup.  no sooner had I put him to bed, did I hear my 5 year hacking up a lung and screaming.  I was certain she was being attacked by one of her stuffed animals.  Her ear hurt and she had completely wet the bed.  she’s not a bed wetter.  oye.  sheets changed.  baby girl drugged and calmed down.  I immediately start having awake-mares that she will be home AGAIN from school tomorrow.  double oye.  

Our plan worked – the boy slept until 5:30!!!!    and he didn’t come out of his room until 6am!  miracles happen everyday my friends.  Amazing what that one extra hour did. 

5:30am is now a happy time. luke's still half asleep. I'm happy.

Because my husband gave me the gift of a new view for my basement treadmill running, I decided to be a good little wife and do something thoughtful for him.  He has just started getting back into training, running, etc. this week.  after having a big tantrum small fit at the beginning of the week about sharing training time, I turned my frown upside down and told him he could have the WHOLE week to go to the gym in the morning.  this is big stuff people.  I’m giving up my morning workouts which means I have to finagle them into the day at some other point possibly causing me undue stress but making me learn that the world still goes round(maybe not as fast, but it goes) if I don’t go to the gym first thing in the morning and run my little tucas off and giving is better than taking anyway.  all in the name of love.   

So I didn’t get my a.m. workout – and am alive to tell about it.  and no small children have been harmed.  I’m actually in a pretty chipper mood.  Maybe because I am wearing some cutey little shoes today

cute huh? lucky brand flats a la tj maxx

and actually put on normal clothes to go with the shoes. 

the crew -1. plus a weeks worth of bronzer on the face. can never have too much bronzer I guess. little scary.

and then took my daughter to dance and had a fun little trip to Whole Foods.  What did I get there, you ask??  well  let me share. 

I don’t go to WF regularly – maybe once every couple weeks for a few things.  but when I go, there are a couple things I like to get.  that only WF has.  actually there is a lot I like to get there, but I have a little bit of will power.  and a budget. 

Because I have a HEART OF GOLD  and I selflessly let my husband have the gym for the week – I treated myself to one of my favorite indulgences – 

it's glowing. so yummy in my tummy.

Coconut milk mint chip ice cream.  kind of strange.  I know.  but it’s not dairy.  it’s kind of expensive.  so I can’t buy it regularly.  and it has a TON of fiber, like 10g, per serving.  I love fiber rich foods.  love them. 

and then these little cuties.  if there were a cute contest for veggies, these would win.  hands down.  and they are delicious roasted.  yum.  and only WF carries the petite ones.  they’re called petite.  what kind of veggie is called petite.  makes me love them even more. 

adorable.

Turns out being the most generous person on the face of the earth pays off – previously mentioned husband whisked through the house earlier to grab his shake that he forgot.  after he left, I went to let the dog in.  what to my wondering eyes did I see, but a coach bag sitting right there for me!!!!  dork. 

it's a big one.

There she is.  I love purple.  and petite veggies.  and coconut milk ice cream.  and sleeping children.  awake children too when they are nice to me.  and husbands that work near the coach outlet and lovingly buy gifts for their wives.  a house full of love today. 

future superstar model

this Wednesday is not so bad after all.  I think I’m even going to deviate from my training plan and not run today.  I’m getting really tired of running on the treadmill in the HOT basement.  and my ankles/shins are a little iffy after yesterdays run.  Tomorrow is my rest day.  stuck between a rock and a hard place.  I will compromise.  I’m a problem solver.  I’m going to do speed interval workout on the stairmaster.  in the HOT basement. tough enough.  and I will do JM 30 day shred.  I AM going to start doing more strength work.  balances out the running.

I have a dinner date tonight with a very. important. person.  I will spill the juicy details tomorrow.  pictures included.  sure to be a good time. 

What does this Wednesday hold for you for a workout? 

How much sleep do you need a night to function properly? 

Does your husband/significant other/mother/sister/brother/close loved one ever suprise you with nice little gifts of any sort? 

What is your favorite food item to splurge on at the grocery store?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. Wednesday-No workout(dang errand days) but renewed my membership at the gym. Turns out they have a new satellite gym right down the street! Yipee!

    9 hours to call myself human but get more like 5-6 on a good night.

    DH-just got me a Coach bag too! Don’t know how to upload a picture to here but it is ballet pink and just my fab favorite bag EVER!! He is great about getting the pearls, bags, chocolate but isn’t afraid to buy me a new stick vac just because he knows I am like that!!

    Favorite food-Well I do love those petite brussel sprouts but my splurge…fresh cut (didn’t have to do the work myself) mango or mango salsa from WF, jalepeno-cilantro hummus or caramels from Trader Joe’s. Delish!

  2. Is your son still taking a daytime nap? Our two-year-old twins were getting up at 4:30, so we had to take out their nap time. Some days I stick it back in the schedule (like when the fall asleep in the car on accident).

    Today I did yoga!

    And I love your new purple purse!

    • Thanks for the advice, not going to nap him anymore! sad, but if he will sleep better in the morning, I guess I will give it up. He fell asleep in the car today, so we’ll see how tomorrow morning goes! but I won’t put him down for a nap anymore.

  3. My husband is so much better with the surprise gifts than I am! Just before our vacation, for example, he surprised me with the Hunger Games books that I wanted to buy. He’s too good to me. 😉

    I typically need 8 hours of sleep a night. So it will be interesting to see what happens when I have children!!

    Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches are a treat that a splurge on. They are sometimes expensive, but I love them. Even Brandon likes them … when I let him have one. 😉

  4. I squeezed in a run right after I dropped my littlest at pre-school. Wait until Luke goes to pre-school. Life changing. Jury is still out on #4, but after mornings like this it’s hard to imagine going back to that stage.

    I need 7 hours minimum…rarely happens.

    Kevin leaves little notes…funny or sweet…hidden around the house. Fun to find. Once I came home from a girl’s weekend and he had installed a flat-screen tv in my kitchen. GREAT treat:-) No Coach bags though…that’s amazing!

    As for favorite splurges at the grocery store…dark chocolate covered almonds or dried cherries.

    • Wow – thinking about a 4th?!?! When I got pregnant with Luke, anna was 18 months, and that was just about the cutoff for me – if she got too much older I don’t think I could have gone back! We have 1/2 day K now, but they are changing it to full day next year. so I will have 2 of them full day and Luke at home – can’t even imagine what that will be like!! Right now they are both on opposite schedules, one morning, one afternoon – gets a little crazy. And I would LOVE a tv in my kitchen. I told my husband I would start cooking even better meals if I had a tv. hasn’t happened yet;-)

  5. I love the shred! And I’m secretly hoping my fiancé gets a job near our coach outlet. I guess this means I’ll have to be nice to him to get pretty gifts…. Your babies are too cute!

  6. Today was a rest day for me. I have a calf injury that I can’t seem to diagnose or fix, so I am debating about getting it looked at by a Dr. Since I had my 3rd child, I really only need 8 hours of sleep…it used to be more like 10. I work 3pm to 3:30 am 3 times a week, though, so I get shorted sleep frequently. Sometimes I sleep good during the day, sometimes not…
    My husband is just indulgent with me…he doesn’t surprise me with gifts very often, he knows I am picky and would rather pick out my own stuff. He is just very supportive when I come home with yet another purse….or like today, when my new Minka jacket from Athleta came, and it was perfect (and purple, my favorite color too), he just smiled while I cuddled my new jacket.

    My food indulgence is really good quality baking supplies…I love to bake, and quality supplies make a big difference.

    • Ugh, injuries are no fun, especially when you can’t figure out what’s wrong. I can’t imagine working that much and having that many kids – wow! I would buy myself lots more stuff if I worked full time!:-)

  7. I need 7 hours to function properly and not be an irritable, grumpy mess. Unfortunately, I’m not sleeping well these days and wake up a lot during the night.

    My husband doesn’t surprise me with too many gifts “just because” but he goes all out on my birthday and Christmas (hello, treadmill!).

    Cute shoes!

TALK TO ME:-)

