Day 5 and going strong

Standard

Maybe what I’m about to tell you has something to do with the fact that I have gotten more than 5 hours of sleep the past two nights.  or maybe it’s because I actually am a more well-adjusted person than I thought I was.  (I don’t cope well with change.  creature of habit and consistency.) 

I have been consistently going to the gym at least 4 days a week to sweat my buns off at 5am for the past few months –  but I am alive and well and I haven’t seen the inside of my gym since SATURDAY – 5 days people!  I might have a treadmill and stairmaster at home to ease the pain (and gammy might have rescued me one day when I went for an hour – but that’s it!).   lets see how long this lasts.  ok it’s only going to last through this weekend.  I know that.  I only gave my husband the gift of the a.m. gym session for one week.   that’s all the kindness I have in me.  then we have to go back to sharing.  sharing is caring.  I can’t have the gym all to myself.  says he.  life’s not fair.  that’s my overused line for my 4 and 5 year old.  I’ll use it on me.  see if it works.

I think it’s good to mix things up a bit.  like not go to the gym every single day and do the exact same thing.  I think it’s good for our bodies too.  I have to force myself to mix things up.  food, exercise, my wardrobe (we all know that’s a tough one red target sweatshirt and running leggings) it doesn’t come naturally to me. 

proof. no sweatshirt. just leggings. it's possible to change. out of stinky clothes.

For example, I have decided it is healthy and ok for me to not go to tj maxx every other day, but once a week would be fine and acceptable.  actually, I haven’t been since my good find over a week ago.  pat on the back for muah.  I also would have no problem eating the same thing every day for every meal.  just to be consistent.  and if those meals included chocolate. sushi.  salmon burgers.  bagels and peanut butter.  I think I could do it.  but I’m trying to include some veggies.  makes the world go round.  I’m trying to clean up my eating.  less processed.  less “box-y” I don’t know where you really came from or what’s in you kind of food

since I’ve had kids I’m much more aware of what goes into their precious little growing bodies, and in turn much more aware of what I put in my body – I just don’t care as much if it’s full of crap for me;-) 

So I made steel cut oats this morning for breakfast.  instead of my usual pre-packaged oatmeal deliciousness.

timesaver - make enough for 4 days, then you get to look at it ALLLLL week in your fridge. mmmmmm.

you’re not missing anything.  believe me.  I prefer the processed shtuff.  but I’m stepping out of my comfort zone. 

so…. got this as a backup because I was pretty sure I still don’t like steel cut oats and it will take me a good 3 weeks to figure out how to make them taste tolerable.  still in a box.  minimal ingredients.  and I know what they all are. 

And then there’s this beauty – does it get any more processed than that. actually yes. it does.  scary.  but this container is starting to scare me.  it just doesn’t look nice and friendly.

 

what’s really scary is that I will default to that stuff in the container, throw it in with some almond milk and call it a meal because it’s so quick.  and easy.  and probably not too good for you either. 

I just want my food to look friendly and nice, like these little cuties.  even if it does come in a box.  I’m all about the protein drinks.  I think it just needs to be more of an every now and then thing. rather than an everyday thing.  for me.  

I will eat more of this

I already scarfed the other 2/3 before I took the pic. I was hungry.

and my cute little petite brussel sprouts. 

I even get in a rut with races.  For the past couple years, the only races I did were the same marathon and the same half marathon.  nothing else.  did I mention I don’t like change.  I will run the same running loop like a crazy person.  so I have signed up for at least 3, possibly 4 marathons that I have never done before.  I might even throw a trail run in there, ahhhh!  another pat on the back.  well done. 

In other news – I have a zit the size of mars forming on my forehead that you should ALL be aware of.  the kind that hurts when you laugh or make a funny face.  it hasn’t even surfaced yet.  watch out. 

the red sweatshirt isn't clean yet. stickin with grey. and the big shnozz. great angle.

So there.  Get outta your comfort zone.  switch it up.  change your clothes for once  🙂  try a new exercise.  or maybe I’m the only one that sticks myself in a rut. 

Who’s excited for the WEEKEND?!?! 

Favorite vegetable?

What have you done lately to get out of any sort of “rut”?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. that protein powder does look awfully scary. girl switch up that diet! your body will thank you for it, pinky swear. all that processed crap is just chemicals and food-like substances that don’t really nurish your body the way it needs or wants. treat your smokin bod to some extra special lovin with some variety ;). try sprinkling some cinnamon on that oatmeal, it’ll jazz it up.

  2. I like my oatmeal with a little maple syrup and coconut oil. That stuff is liquid gold! You can even use it as lip balm, face cream, toothpaste, deodorant and of course to make some delicious sauteed cabbage with caraway seeds! I buy coconut oil by the gallon and it tastes great in oatmeal and pancakes!

  3. I have also been just drinking a protein drink for meals lately, too. I’m not training for anything and I eat way too many carbs and not enough protein so the protein drink was my answer for that. Not a good habit.

  4. Pingback: What Happened this Week??? « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

