What Happened this Week???

Standard

I am soooo happy it’s Friday.  I have no idea what happened this week – but it feels like my whole week was flipped around, turned upside down and shaked-ed (four year old lingo, doesn’t get the -ed endings yet). 

I went to the grocery store about 8 times this week.  which is 8 times more than I want to be there.  and still don’t have anything to make for dinner tonight.  My training plan is whacked out because I skipped a day of running and did cross training instead.  then I took a rest day yesterday when today should have been the rest day because I’m supposed to run 14 miles tomorrow.  now I’m running 8 today and 14 tomorrow and I haven’t run at all since Tuesday.  blah. blah blah.  gonna make it work.  I will probably have to split my run in two today.  4 in the basement, 4 at the gym.   

I think it’s all this sleeping in I’m doing – not getting up until 6:15 instead of the 4:15 like I’m used to.  throwing off my rhythm.  I have no rhythm.  hmmmm.  or maybe it’s because I had this healthy breakfast this week and my body doesn’t know what is going on. 

steel cut oats. doctored up. like spackle. yum.

or it could be the obscene amount of coats and shoes we have hanging in the entryway.  who needs that many coats???  it overwhelms me everytime I walk in the house.  but no  sooner do I clean it out, are they all back.  there’s a whole ‘nother rack you can’t even see with the kids stuff.  intervention time maybe.    

it could have been all the LOVE and niceness flowing around my house.  too much of a good thing?  never.  whatever is was, this week was weird.  glad it’s done.

anyway – I found some fun stuff at the grocery store yesterday, that you must see. 

Strawberries are fun when you haven’t bought them since the summer.  it’s a treat.  someone was trying to sneak them off the counter.  I also found those bagels – french toast bagels?!?  for $1.99 I had to try.  make sure I wasn’t missing anything.  sure enough.  they taste like french toast.  and I never have to buy them again. 

Plantains.  my mom couldn’t even look at them.  they scare her.  agreed.  a little frightening.  like the hulk of bananas.  it might eat me.  but it’s one of those things I’ve always wanted to try.  no time like the present.  no regrets people.  I’ll let you know when I figure out how to cook them, how they turn out.  and mangos.  I love mangos.  but they have been disappointing me lately when I buy the fresh fruit.  I get so excited, and then it tastes bad.  or I cut into it and it’s overripe, or not quite ripe.  take the guesswork out.  buy them canned.  much easier.    

I had a completely lazy, not move my butt from the computer chair all night kind of night last night.  let’s try to use night a few more times in one sentence, shall we?  In being the laziest person on earth last night, I found a little article from Runner’s World relating to my trying to switch to eating more “real” food.  check it out HERE.  spot on runners world.  well said. 

What was your healthy breakfast this morning?

Was your week nice and “smooth”, or are you ready to let it go!?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. First …what the heck is on your oats?

    Our “healthy” breakfast….waffles. oldest had a huge middle school project due so he (and I) were up till 11 so for a reward I let him sleep in and I made waffles. He just called from school…stomach ache. Guess I will be missing my cycling class.

    Had a nice week but ready for some Saturday and a chance to get my spiritual battery recharged on Sunday hearing the gospel!

  2. healthy shake after 10 miler: part whey protein/part soy protein (Both Vanilla) with water, ice, frozen strawberries, and about 1 Tbsp of sugar free instant cheesecake pudding mix! Blend and YUM!….double bonus: Dunkin Donuts French Vanilla Coffee…brewed myself!

    week was jam packed!

  3. I don’t mind the week being over so much either!! I’m out of the office in 48 minutes!! 🙂 My healthy breakfast this week has been Special K cereals since we got a deal on them this week!!

  4. Breakfast this morning and just about every morning – kashi go lean with almond milk, turkey sausage and blueberries. Usually lasts about an hour and then I have to break into the trail mix. I am a starving fool when I am nursing and running!

TALK TO ME:-)

