Music to my ears on a snowy day

Standard

Workout – long run, took it to the treadmill because this is what the scary outdoors looks like –

I don’t do cold.  I most definitely don’t do cold and snow.  13.1 treadmill miles, 1-2% incline.  92 min.  The plan was to run 14  – but I had to be home by 9am.  I figured I would make it a half marathon and maybe get the other .9 in later today.  right.   😉   

It is official.  I do have the best husband in the world.  I did marry the right person.  6:15 this morning, first words out of his mouth when we both got up – it just started snowing, go to the gym now and get your 14 miles in!! NOW!!!be still my heart, I love this man.  there are no othe words I want to hear at that hour

I scootched my hiney out the door and got my butt to the gym.  didn’t even think twice about how I was about to run 14 miles on an empty stomach and that might not be a great idea.  hubs texted me about 1/2 an hour into my run to see if I could be home by 9 so he could out and plow snow.  no problemo.  I’m the happiest girl in the world right now running on the treadmill.  I picked up my pace, but knew I wasn’t going to make 14 miles.  I’m usually all about round numbers, but I also like 13.1 because it’s a half marathon.  so I stopped at 13.1.  job done.  on with the day. 

Post run.  happy endorphins flowing. 

asics speedstar sneakers. might be my new favorites. shhhh. don't tell the kinvaras 😦

had this waiting for me in my car.  I’ve never had these, but they were on sale.  pretty good for an on the go, post run snack.  I like to stuff my face immediately after I run.  especially a long run.  and then again about 30 minutes later.  and every hour thereafter.  works for me. 

Lots happened in the 2 hours I was gone…

Luke ate half a bag of fiber one cereal – about 250% his daily value of fiber.  this should be interesting. 

fiber child also broke my camera.  looking on the bright side, it didn’t take the most quality of pictures ( it was NOT my horrible photography skills that made every picture blurry), so now I have to buy a new one.

I made pumpkin pancakes when I got home.  I found them on THIS BLOG– the kidlings seemed to like them.  I thought they were delightful.  I also thought standing at the stove for an hour sounded delightful, too because I doubled the recipe.  lotsa batter.  not gonna do that again.   

I don’t know what it is about snowy days that make me want to bake every type of delicious cookie and brownie that comes to mind.  was hoping the pumpkin pancakes would satisfy my need to create.  they didn’t.  too bad I don’t have any ingredients for anything except a 2/3 gone back of semi-sweet chocolate chips.  that’s not gonna  get me very far. might have to take a trip to the store.  in the snow.  desperate times call for desperate measures.   I’ll let you know if I come up with anything good.  don’t hold your breath. 

We have a birthday party to go to this afternoon and hopefully a nice quiet night of foam rolling and maybe some icing.  One of my favorite things is spontaneous get togethers with friends that force me out of making dinner.  such a thing happened last night.  beautiful.  our neighbors came over and we ordered Thai food.  I’m hoping for such a thing to happen again tonight.  if not – pumpkin pancakes for dinner.  I have about 40 of them. 

What is your favorite post run snack/meal?

Do you like pancakes?

What is the best news you could hear on a Saturday morning? 

   

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. Hey Katie,
    just stumbled across your blog from a FB post from Jamie – This is Ashley (Bjorbekk) from way back in the day/Spofford/Eastern – many lifetimes ago – hahahah
    anyways – enjoyed finding your entries and you ARE an amazing runner!!! As a stay at home mom who also runs (5-6 mi. a day and only does 1 race a year, NOWHERE near what crazy milage you do!!!) Its nice to hear someone else’s story. I can totally relate to feeling like running is where I get my sanity and what gets me through the rest of the day with the kiddos! so yeah – enjoyed your inspiring and funny stories and your kids are too cute!!
    ps – the fiber one cereal may not end well for the almost 2 year old… my son did something similar recently with the fiber one bars… he dug a few out of my purse while we were in the car… and apparently I’m an unobservant driver because he ate MANY…and lets just say 7 diapers later….

    • Hi Ashley!!! I totally remember you:) glad you came across this and read it. I didn’t know you were into running. It is a great thing, especially with kids! so far so good with the fiber one…keeping fingers crossed;-)

      • PS – I know you live in CT, but not sure where – Have you ever done the 1/2 marathon in Colchester, Feb 25? (I grew up there and parents still live there (built-in babysitters for me 😉 ;)) anyways – Have never done one in FEB – seems so cold – but was considering – and was curious if you’d done it?

      • I’m in Glastonbury, and have never done the colchester one- because it’s in feb.;-) I also heard it’s VERY hilly. Besides that, I just don’t like the cold weather running. The 1/2 I’ve done every year for past 3 years is amica ironhorse put on by Hartford marathon foundation. It’s usually the first Sunday in June- that is perfect to me:) I really like that one. Actually, that’s the only half I’ve ever done!! Let me know if you do colchester and how it is!

        Katie

  2. TIME TO RUN=music to my ears! you did pick a winner!!
    a half on the TREADofdoom definitely makes you my hero!
    I am going to try my hardest to never live somewhere that snows because running in that weather is asking for a serious cold or injury and me and the treadmill do not have a good relationship! 🙂
    In the summer I crave cold fruit after running, especially watermelon! In the winter I crave big veggie scrambles.
    I hope you have a great weekend ahead of you, stay warm!!

  3. I love pancakes, but hate making them. Would love to know more about why you love the asics. I’m looking for a new running shoe, so doing a little research…

  4. You did a half marathon on the treadmill. I’m in awe 🙂

    Let’s hear more about those asics. I’m going to be getting new shoes soon hopefully and will probably not get Brooks this time.

    Great job…you are so motivating!

  5. Pingback: Snow, Orlando and everything in between « msfitrunner

  6. I’m so glad you tried the pancakes!! I can’t believe you doubled the batch! Holy cow, you must have been there forever!! They are quite delicious though so I would have to say the time was well worth it, no? 🙂

    • Yes, I was at the stove FOREVER! By the end, I just started making huge pancakes. We will be eating them for breakfast all week:-) I made a fried egg “sandwich” with them for my husband for breakfast – he loved it! delish!!

TALK TO ME:-)

