Saucony, Asics and Brooks, oh my

Standard

I think one of the BIG questions for runners is – what is the best kind of shoe to be racing in, training in…???  There are so many great shoes out there, where do you begin?

I always find myself looking at everyone elses feet and checking out their shoes on race day.  wondering why they didn’t get the memo that my sneaker is the best and why the heck did they pick the one they are wearing.  is that just me?   

Turns out, the one that’s best for me is not the one that is best for someone else.  crazy talk.  I find I’m generally disappointed when I go into a running store to get properly “fitted” for a running sneaker.  I feel like they look at me and think, let’s find the ugliest most expensive shoe we have and tell her she should buy it.  she looks like a sucker.  without any style.  meanwhile, I can SEE all of these beautiful shoes on the wall, you lovely people trying to help me, with lots of fun bright colors.  they tell me I can’t have those.

So I’ve been sticking with Running Warehouse.  and I love them.  that is how I stumbled on the Saucony Kinvara  this past spring (<—-I want that color, by the way). 

never had the pink. I've had the grey and black.

Before these, I was wearing some type of Mizunos.  I just started feeling like my feet were heavy and clunky.  I wanted a lighter feeling when I ran.  I wear a size 10-10.5 running shoe.  that’s a big foot.  I found these Sauconys and they looked like they fit the bill (you can click on the saucony link above to read more about them) but they weigh in at under 7oz.  I did my research.  ordered them.  ran in them.  and loved them from the first step.  and I’ve gone through at least 5 pairs of them.   They are super light, but I felt like they provided a great amount of cushion.  I would say I am a pretty neutral runner.  I don’t need anything special. 

A few months ago – I found these beauties.  in my Running Warehouse wanderings. 

 

Asics Speedstar – which intrigued me solely because they were pink.  and on supersale.  I actually didn’t think they looked very attractive at all, but I’ve gotten a ton of compliments on them.  I looked further and noticed they were super light weight as well.  3 points for the Asics.  did my research and they got GREAT reviews.  +4.  sealed the deal for me that they only cost $45 – on clearance.  I should have bought 10 pairs.  oh well.  My feet really like them.  I can’t get all technical with shoe terms, but these just feel nice.  slightly more cushioned but still light.  and I feel like they are holding up longer than the saucony’s.  my opinion.  I tend to rotate the two. 

I am feeling the need to go back to training in something a little sturdier, and heavier on a day to day basis – I guess it would be more of a support shoe?  Save the asics and sauconys for the fast runs and the races.  I think that my knees and shins would appreciate that.  I would like to try these shoes for that purpose – Mizuno Wave Rider 15.  why?  because I like how they look.  should there be any other criteria? 

and I would like to try out the Brooks Green Silence for racing –

     I don’t know anything about either of these two shoes.  I tend to pick my shoes on how they look.  and just find the ones that meet my needs and make sure they look kinda cool.  that’s a good way to pick sneakers, right?  It’s worked out pretty well for me.  I won’t buy shoes just because they look nice if they don’t get good reviews.  Nor will I buy a pair to run in just because they are cheap, unless they get out of this world reviews, like the Asics Speedstar 5’s.  in which case I will should buy enough to last 5 years.

Those are my thoughts on the sneaker situation and why I have what I have.  I might get into looking at more of a racing flat for the marathons, but I don’t even know where to begin with those.  I haven’t given it ANY thought yet.  For now, the Kinvara and the Speedstar are working pretty well for me.  

I realize this wasn’t really informative or insightful, just kind of “I like these shoes, you should buy them too” kind of ramblings.  But if you are looking to move into a lighter shoe, and you don’t have crazy feet, you can’t go wrong with either of the first two I mentioned. 

I would say to ease into them, though, and rotate with your normal running shoe for awhile.  That is probably a no brainer.   just thought I would state the obvious.  pretty good at that.  You can also email me with any specific questions!  I’d be happy to pretend like I know what I’m talking about!

I would LOVE to hear what your favorite sneaker is for daily runs?  for races? and WHY??

Do you like to get your sneakers at a specialty store, or do you order online? 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

13 responses »

  1. I run in the Asics Gel Nimbus 12s on a daily basis. I got fitted at a specialty store and then and went and bought them at Sports Authority. I might have felt bad about that now, but I was still in school and had no money… so I did what any poor college student would do 🙂 I’m like you- my feet are as neutral as they come, and these feel great. Lots of cushioning. They are a bit on the heavy side though, so I’m looking for a lighter shoe for track/tempo workouts. I think I’ll check out both the Speedstar and the Kinvara!

  2. I too run in Asic Gel Nimbus 11, 12, 13……I was fitted at a specialty store and since they are my fav. and I want colors to rotate I do order online too. I’m a fairly neutral runner with high arches and like extra cushioning. I would be willing to try other brands but so far nothing has felt as good in the stores as the Nimbus.
    Just started following your blog and went back and read the posts from the start! Kudos for fitting in running with your busy life!

    • It’s definitely hard to switch a sneaker when you find one you love! but no reason to switch if there’s nothing wrong with what you’re wearing:-) Thanks for reading and commenting!!!

  3. I have the hot pink kinvara and the pearl izumi streak.( also in pink). Love both. Mike just ordered me the Saucony Glide…curious to see them. Both have allowed me to run, pain free.

    And of course, speciality stores for me. Only FF for us.:)

  4. I love Asics GT-21XX (seems they are always updating the last 2 numbers…right now I have 2170). I have really high arches, a bunion (lovely) and plantar facitis. This show really works for the odd shape of my foot and is not too heavy. Plus, the new Spring colors are charcoal & a magenta/purple. Had to have them. I worked in 2 running specialty stores for a few years, so I feel like I understand the technology and my foot dynamics enough to fit myself. I think it’s worth going once to a store you can trust to have your gait observed just so you know whether you pronate or you are neutral. Then you can narrow your shoe choices down. You sound as though you have the same feet and biomechanics as Kevin who also can wear any lightweight neutral show. Are all you fast runners built the same or what?!?!?!?

TALK TO ME:-)

