The PLAN – take two

Standard

Workout – in the lineup is 8 easy miles.  I’m going to botch that.  I’m only going to do 3, maybe 5 miles if I’m feeling sassy, and my Jillian dvd.  that’s it.  My mom, aka Gammy if you ask the girls, or mimi if you ask the boy, is taking thing 2 and thing 3 so that I can go to the gym.  I will report back later on the workout and if I stick to my botched up plan.   

The snow we got on Saturday turned out to be great play snow.  Yesterday the hubs gave me an hour and took the kids outside for fun and adventures only they will know.  

davey. and mini davey. scary. on many levels.

 

way too much going on here - anna is having a caniption of some sort. my big finger wanted to join the party. can't even take pics on a phone. and this is totally safe - what they meant when they put the capacity label as "1 passenger" was, "1 adult + 3 children is also acceptable". true.

I got to shop online and eat chocolate truffles clean bathrooms and make some lunch.  really fun. 

don't let that little bag of Target rice fool you. it also has lots of other good stuff like quinoa, barley...and other grainy things. very good.

I may not have cooked dinner for the past three nights, but I still made breakfast and lunch.  I have not completely neglected my family.  they are not begging the neighbors for food.  yet. 

put it in a wrap. everything is better with salsa. call it a lunch.

Sunday funday would not be complete without painting little brother’s nails.  he just wants to be like his sisters.  can’t blame him.  he’ll be well adjusted.   

4 year olds are very good at painting nails. really.

and he was oh so proud of those purple beauties. 

when the tongue comes out - he means serious business. one happy dude.

I found these babies stuffed in the back of the fridge.  popped those suckers right in the oven.  don’t care if the “best by” date was last week.  how accurate are those dates, really?

never too late for Christmas cookies.  I guess that kind of satisfied my need to bake this weekend. 

I actually took a complete rest day and did NO workout at all.  Luke slept until 7:15!!!!  This is crazy.  If you just started reading, my youngest, almost 2 year old, had been getting up at 4 am for what seemed like eternity.  making everyone miserable.  We are on day 6 of him sleeping until at least 6 am.  this is heaven.

Here are my thoughts.  brace yourselves.  I had a little convo with the brain.  it was trying to get all realistic and logical on me about running and my training this far. and I’ve been ignoring it.  I finally gave in and thought I should listen to myself.  It was saying something like this – if I heard correctly –  you have completely, 100,000% ignored the 10% rule in increasing your weekly mileage.  going from maybe 20  miles a week to 45-50, doesn’t work for me.  and if I do the math correctly, that’s over 100% increase.  go ahead and keep it up, but I will give you the worst shin, knee, ankle and every other kind of pain and injury I can think of.  and you won’t be able to run in your marathons. and you won’t be happy. go for it.  or take it easy and I’ll try to be nice to you. 

I think it sounded something like that.  I have started to have a little anxiety that I am doing too much.  While the plan that I found is telling me to do that many miles – I need to be smart about it.  It may not be healthy for me at this exact point.   I really don’t want injuries.  I know Runner’s World is a smarty pants when it comes to running, but it doesn’t know me and my body. I do.  and I need to remember what works for me and what I’ve done in the past.  and try a little better to mesh it with the plan that I found (run, run, run) what my body is telling me to do (take it down a notch for now) and what my mind wants to do (run a lot of miles). 

My past 2 fall marathons I did without a plan.  without speed work.  without a lot of miles and without any idea of what I was doing.  and I did pretty well.  I want to give myself more credit for what I can do.  I also want to blend it with a true plan so that I can do better this year.  I’ve got TWO marathons coming up in April.  that I would actually like to run in.  I’ve got big goals for my races this year.  But I NEED to also remember that I have to be healthy in order to achieve those goals.  or it’s not worth it. 

That is why I am “botching” up the plan a little this week.  and next week.  I’m scaling back the miles.  I will do my long run on Saturday.  In between now and then, I’m going to mostly focus on strength and maybe getting in a few short runs.  not 8-9 milers.  Next week, I will slowly pick it back up.  and by the following week maybe get back into the 9-10 mile runs, depending on how the body feels.  I’ve got ALL year to hit my goals.  I tend to rush things and want to reach my goals ASAP.  or yesterday ASAP.  doesn’t work. 

That’s the plan chickadees!  taking a chill pill and listening to my body a little more.  I think it will be good in the long run.  Stay tuned!

How was your weekend??  Did you do anything fun?

Do you have a hard time listening to what your body is telling you vs. what you want to do?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

6 responses »

  1. Yes, I have a really hard time listening to my body. I want to run everyday! Currently I am dealing with (I think) piriformis syndrom. Literally a pain in the butt! I have been taking it easy for the past week and am trying to listen to my body. As you said, you need to smart about it!
    Great post!

  2. Amen, girl. You definitely don’t want to push it too hard. Listen to your body and take care of it! 🙂

    And P.S. Brandon is obsessed with expiration dates. I tell him that most of the time, the date just means that the food will taste it’s best prior to that date … it’s not like it will make you sick (unless it’s something like meat and you’re way beyond the date, of course). But he doesn’t want to listen. Come try to talk some sense in to him, will ya? 😉

  3. You’re so smart to listen to your body — it’s hard to do, because I often feel like I’m giving up, but really it’s preservation so I can enjoy a lifetime of running.

  4. Pingback: I love her « msfitrunner

  5. Pingback: All about Green « msfitrunner

  6. Pingback: Back at it…for today « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

