All about Green

Standard

Workout –  hit up the gym this morning.  4 easy treadmill miles.  20 minute strength circuit.  I left Jillian behind today and made  up my own super fantastic circuit this morning.  I’m sure Jillian would be proud. I pick 4 or 5 exercises out of the recesses of my brain.  not really the recesses, more like the ones that are front and center and pop out the fastest.  I repeat them 3 or 4 times or until I get really bored.  day 2 of sticking to the less is more plan.  see you next week marathon training.  job done. 

Little green monster has been harrassing me and screaming in my face ever since I walked back in the door.  I haven’t figured out what to do with him yet.  so I just keep feeding him sugar and hoping he will crash eventually. 

pretty sure he can scale a flat wall

he is part monkey. 

I went to the grocery store yesterday and actually had a LIST and dinners planned out for the week.  mind blowing.  I don’t know what happened to me.  there is actually a possibility that I won’t have to go to the store 12 times this week.  I might have gotten my act together yesterday.  still TBD.  to be determined. 

This blog – Oh She Glows – is quickly becoming one of my favorites to pull recipes and ideas from.  That’s where 3 of my dinner meals came from this week.  Last night I made this 15 minute creamy avocado pasta.  I’m not going to say any thing more about it other than – go make it.  go make it.  now.  the only other thing I will say about it is if you don’t like sprouted grain pasta or ancient grain pasta, use something else.  like barilla plus.  other than that – go make it.  of course I doubled it.  I double everything.  so good.  and so green. 

I used sprouted grain Ezekiel pasta. wouldn't do it again. and my food pictures have not improved. don't expect them to. ever.

I have a couple more recipes lined up from her and one from Food Network.  then I’m banking on leftovers and a couple nights of spontaneous plans that get me off the dinner hook and through the week.  I will share as the week goes on.   

To keep the green thing going, I thought I’d try a green smoothie this morning for breakfast.  I know I’m like 10 years behind on this one – but Oh My Goodness!!!  It was good!!!  Spinach and everything. 

counter full of life. look at all that healthiness. whoa.

 

almond milk. flax. spinach. frozen raspberries. protein powder. ice. was going to do p.b., but that might have been overkill.

I think I’m going to have to make this one again today.  and for breakfast every morning until I can’t stand to look at my blender anymore.  yum. 

And here’s a little trick my daughter did this morning – little nifty spiffy pants that she is.  magic.  she made it stand up all by itself.  we are so proud of her.  and her many accomplishments.   

tell me that's not impressive. I might be easily amused.

Upward and onward with this day.  It is supposed to be in the 50’s here?!?!  That might force me outside for another little run later.  but probably not because I have 3 kidlings that need tending to.  good thought though. 

Talk to me people!

Do you like to make green smoothies?  What is your favorite smoothie recipe?

Where do you get your dinner inspirations from?

Happy Tuesday friends!!!:-) 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

14 responses »

  1. that broom is awesome!! Ha! check out skinnytaste.com so many delicious and easy recipes, and arunningtale.com are two of my favorites when I’m doing my meal plans. This is my new fave (I don’t remember where I found it) it’s a gem!
    Quinoa Tabouleh Salad
    – 2 cups cooked & cooled quinoa
    – ¼ cup chopped cilantro
    – 2/3 cup chopped cucumbers
    – ½ cup edamame beans
    – 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
    – 1 Tbsp olive oil
    – Salt & pepper
    combine cooked & cooled quinoa & veggies in a bowl
    add vinegar, oil, & salt and pepper
    Enjoy!

  2. We totally do the green smoothies a few times a week! Even the kiddos live them( and it’s kinda the only way they eat anything green at this point…)
    Fav recipes in our house come from glutenfreegoddess – amazing stuff!! Even the husband approves 😉
    – also laughed out loud at tour son climbing the counter… Mine does the same… Also part monkey;)

    • I have found some great recipes on glutenfreegoddess! I tried her vegan mac and cheese – not bad. One of my favorites is her sweet potato enchiladas. so good! My girls have always been climbers, but he takes it to a whole new level. must be a boy thing!

  3. I’m afraid of the green smoothies. I can’t believe I am, but I am. I’m sure I’ll get over it one of these days because it seems like SUCH a good idea. I love skinnytaste as well, and i always checking out the Clean Eating Magazine website.

  4. Pingback: Eat like a mother « msfitrunner

  5. Pingback: Good busy day, running and shopping « msfitrunner

  6. Pingback: Winter Wonderland « msfitrunner

  7. Pingback: Chia Talk and Avocados « msfitrunner

  8. Pingback: It Really Works and a GIFT for YOU « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

