Eat like a mother

Standard

CT is completely confused and thinks it’s springtime.  this is not a problem until tomorrow when it decides it’s winter again and we have to deal with the cold.  makes me kind of grumpy.  I’m going to enjoy the nice weather today though.  I can handle that.  In celebration of this unseasonably warm day, I took the kids on a field trip to TJ Maxx.  I know you were getting concerned that I had not had a TJ’s trip in the past 5 days.  I did it for you guys. 

What DO you know.  I found a couple deals.  I put them all on together to save on pictures.  I think you will enjoy what you see.  I also think I’m not quite sure why this kind of fashion hasn’t caught on.  it is the perfect blend of athletic meets trendy.  I would call it athlendy.  I like to wear my leggings 24/7, but I also enjoy a pair of snappy leopard print wedges.  wardrobe staple.  glad they are now in my wardrobe.  I see no reason why I should have to decide between the two fashion genres and why I can’t enjoy them together.  no one has done this look yet.  watch for it.  

lucky brand cotton tee, another pair of black running leggings. never have too many. leopard print bcbg wedges. i’ve been eyeing those beauties – finally caught them on clearance. no one wears a size 10. i do.

Why do I keep taking headless pictures in this dirty mirror?  for some reason it happens to be the only full length mirror in the house and we never adjusted it higher for the tall drink of water that I am. so we get headless shots.  simple really.  

surprise. not JUST another pair of black leggings. we've got some snazzy blue to jazz 'em up. good times.

 

I know. I will never be a foot model. I have accepted that. it was only a matter of time before you realized I wasn't perfect and beautiful. i've got veins. big veins.

 

darling. bcbg. just darling.

 
 
 I’m sure you didn’t doubt that I would in fact make myself another green smoothie for lunch.  I did.  just like I said I would. I put a little more spinach in this one and no protein powder, so it was pretty green.  but I still couldn’t taste the green!  fantastic.  getting so many veggies today, I can’t stand it.  
 

I do have a face! lacking mascara and eyeliner. I feel naked without mascara. i've been exposed.

 

I even had a sweet potato with the green goodness.  put it in saran wrap and popped it in the microwave for 5 min.  sweet potato done.  if a plastic wrapped potato in the microwave isn’t a recipe for cancer, don’t know what is.  but I’m hoping the goodness of the sweet potato out-weighs the badness of the plastic in the microwave.  fingers crossed.  I think microwaves are just weird.  but so convenient.  that’s why I still use it. 

so appetizing, hmmm? but so easy to make.

 
My body is so happy that I’m not finishing off the pot of Annie’s mac and cheese that I made the kids for lunch.  I find that I get into this downward spiral of not actually making a healthy meal for myself and instead eating the crust of my kids sandwiches and cold macaroni.  not good.  I end up eating like a mother – leftovers from the kids.  bad habit. I’m trying to make more a point of making myself a nutritious and delicious meal while I’m making the kids their lunch, or even better – right before.  so that I’m not starving and eating all of their food.   I need to remember to make my nutrition a priority as well.  moms often go with the I didn’t have time to eat or I finished off my kids food so I’m all set or I forgot to eat excuse.  I’m sure even non-mom’s do that.  not sure whose kids they’re ripping off, but I’m sure those are some excuses of a poor diet for any old sam.  of which I’m guilty.  no longer.  gonna have me some microwaved sweet potatoes and green smoothies.  this week.  we’ll see about next week. 
 
Any good shopping deals lately?
 
Are you guilty of snacking all morning and calling it a meal?  or finishing off your kids food?
 
How do you feel about the heels with the athletic wear?  yay or nay? 😉
About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. Delightful shopping deal today — stopped into Lululemon while picking up the hub’s suit from being tailored & my have sweater was on sale & available in a reversible cream/silver. I already have it in black/grey. Happy happy! Also perused Nordstroms and found a cutie cardigan with a springy blouse…now that I’ve bought it we won’t have another warm day until June. But made me 🙂

  2. Microwaved sweet potatoes are one of my favorite lunches! I either drizzle olive oil on top or honey and cinnamon. So good :). No leftovers for me either – my daughter is a very hearty eater and there is never anything left.

  3. after seein those veins I must return to my apple/tree comment…sorry;-( love mom -other than that you do athlendy fabulously!

  4. those wedgies are the jam. I have some flats like that. I like to say they go with everything. Even leggings. I never snack off my stepson b/c everything he likes has no flavor. BOO. Or maybe that’s good? 🙂

  5. I LOVE TJMAXX!! best place to buy dry-fit running gear and socks! I am loving your leopard print heels! I wish summer would just hurry up and get here! I freeeeeeze if I drink smoothies in this weather, I miss them!
    I hope your week is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

  6. I snack all morning while at work! It is out of control. LOVE your new finds and leggings look amazing on you!

  7. I tried wearing my yoga pants running on the treadmill the other night…thought I would die! I think I will stick to my running shorts (and need to pick up some running skirts…tooooo cute!) I don’t know how you wear long sleeves and long pants. I like to sweat but I over heat! Plus I am not sure I actually want to know what I look like in a pair of actual leggings. YIKES! Pear shapes are meant to wear certain styles…I think those are one of them.

    • Shelley!!! Hi!!! I missed your comments for a little while:-) I guess I’m in this legging phase of workout clothes – never was into them before! I don’t really mind the heat, doesn’t make a difference to me. The running skirts are AWESOME too!! So glad I found those.

      • Ahhh! I bought an actual pair of running leggings….nothing like my yoga pants!!! I bought a pair to help juice me up for a run outside which I knew was going to be cold (as a rule I don’t run outside if it is below 55 degrees-LOL). They are cute and I got them at TJ’s! So my run was not only below 55 it was 18 degrees. Luckily I thought it was like 40 and didn’t find out until I got back home and my husband told me how insane I was running in 18 degree weather. I was seriously shocked!

      • Aren’t they great?!?! I’m hooked on the leggings! and go you for running in 18 degrees! It was 20 degrees last weekend, and I walked right back inside and called it a rest day!:-)

  8. Pingback: Can’t Catch Me and Apologies « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

