Back at it…for today

Standard

I took a break from my break from running this week and did my planned workout – only because it was speedwork day.  Is it weird that I actually look forward to that run? 

Workout – gym treadmill.  flat.  2 mile warmup @ 7:30 min/mile, 4 x 1600’s @ 6:00 min/mile with 800 meter recovery jogs @ 7:30 min/mile.  8 miles total.  54 min.  This was the best workout I’ve had in probably two weeks.  I felt awesome and strong and beautiful and smart and funny like I was superwoman and I could save the world and then go run a marathon.  all at 6am.  true.  running does that.  just me?  whatever.  it was a great run.  and I was super sore from my two days of Jillian/strength training.  I like speedwork because I really feel like I’m accomplishing something towards my goal of getting faster.  It feels like hard work, and I like that. 

ran in my spiffy new pants. they stayed in place. sign of a good pair of leggings. I do have other gym shirts, that one seems to be the favorite of the week. or two..

Enter reality when I get home.  turns out I’m not superwoman, awesome or funny.  smart and beautiful stick with me wherever I am.  and I have to feed hungry children, change dirty diapers, think about what to make for dinner at 7 am, do laundry…and forget about my dreams of winning the olympic marathon.  until the next speedwork day:-)

Rewind to last night – New recipe #2 for the week courtesy of Food Network – I made for dinner last night. 

 

this is what cooking dinner with 3 kids looks like. Luke is in charge of the steaming hot pot of boiling vegetables. he'll only burn himself once. then he'll learn.

The following conversation at the dinner table tells me how good it was :

Alexandra:  “Mom, this is sooooo good.  What day is today?”

Me:  “Thank you my little love nugget, today happens to be Tuesday, why do you ask?”

Alexandra:  “You should make this dinner every single Tuesday.  every week.  every week that has a Tuesday, you should make this.  It is so good.  I’m going to eat this whole bowl”

Anna:  “Oh yeah, you should make this every Tuesday.  It is so good.  I’m going to eat this whole bowl.”

Sometimes I wonder if poor Anna ever has an original thought in her head.  I guess it’s easier to just copy the person who spoke before you anyway.  Maybe she’s on to something. 

I guess it was good.  It was a veggie pot pie – my theory is that anything is good if you wrap it in pie crust.  just a theory. 

I think this is my best food picture yet. quit while I'm ahead?

I wanted a vegetarian version, so I googled “vegetarian pot pie” – pretty creative.  the recipe I used was the first one that came up and it got good ratings.   it was pretty flavorful, and didn’t taste like your typical pot pie because it had things like fennel and parsley and chives in it.  Yum.  I would make it again.  I made my normal changes like I do to every recipe.  for some reason I always feel like I can make a recipe better so I subsitute things and omit things at my leisure.  and then wonder why it usually doesn’t turn out right.  gamble paid off last night.  turned out good.  add it to the book ‘o recipes!

We finished off the evening with a mean game of hide and seek with the kids.  my husband had the kids going.  the fun thing about playing hide and seek with a 2, 4 and 5  year old is that you can hide in front of their faces and they probably won’t find you.  the best spot he had was laying flat on Alexandra’s bed.  It took them 20 minutes to find him, and I had to help them.  In the words of my oh so dramatic 5 year old, she liked hide and seek as much as she liked dinner – “this is the best night ever!!!  we should do this every Tuesday night!!!”  ok sweetheart.  if that’s all it takes to make you happy.  pot pie and hide and seek.  pretty sure Mommy and Daddy can handle that one. 

Davey and I tried to sit and watch Biggest Loser.  I couldn’t really get into it last night.  I haven’t been watching it regularly – but I haven’t really been clicking with the contestants the past couple of seasons.  I miss the Jillian/Bob combo.  But, I do LOVE to watch the workouts they do.  geek.  and I love bob. 

More later, on Target fun and more new recipes! 

What was your favorite game to play as a kid?

Do you watch BL?  Who is your favorite contestant?  Are you into other reality TV? 

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

7 responses »

  1. You are hysterical. who are you and why do you keep commenting on my blog – “lane”? hehe. that’s how your name shows up. Then I must look like Brooke Burke too….:-)

    • yeah I don’t know where my first name (Brook) disappeared to….was sure I put it there….and I of course don’t know what to do about it now…

  2. Used to love BL but haven’t Watched since Jillian left.
    Okay – so this is weird but my sisters and I loved to play “soap opera” and “news interview”. We grew up without television (gasp!) and would act out shows we saw at our babysitters house. Looking back, she could have thrown us a bone and let us watch some nickelodeon!

    • Glad to hear you feel the same about BL since Jillian left:) That is so funny that you used to play that! My sisters and I used to play “ice skating” a lot, and pretend we were professional figure skaters in our basement. lots of fun:) and “teacher”. that was a BIG one!

    • Hi Katy! The pink ones I’m wearing are the Asics Speedstar. I got them on runningwarehouse.com I think they only have blue ones left there in limited sizes. I LOVE them. I did a post on them this past week, if you scroll through. I think it was titled “Saucony, Asics and Brooks, Oh my” They are for running and they are super lightweight. very happy with them!!

TALK TO ME:-)

