Stick a fork in me

Standard

I’M DONE!!!

16 miles on the treadmill.  1 hr 58 minutes.  varying speed and incline.  this run was so all over the place, I don’t even know where to begin.  I made the bright decision to take it to the tread today.  the weather was just atrocious for outdoor running.  sunny, beautiful, 45 degrees.  CT in January.  my goodness.  who the heck wants to run outside in that?  not me.  that’s for darn sure.  that sounds like pure torture.  running inside on the treadmill for 16 miles is a MUCH smarter, funner (it is a word when you live with little people), happier way to run. 

ok.  I did have good reason to run on the treadmill.  it was a little bit chilly outside.  not buying that one?  how about this.  I had already put it in my head that I was going to do the 16 on the treadmill.  then the weather decided to cooperate.  but my mind was set.  and it’s hard to change this lady’s mind once it’s set on something.  another reason…I’ve been doing most of my running on the treadmill.  switching gears for me is a very hard thing to do.  keeping it on the treadmill gear was just fine.  #3 reason was that I wanted to listen to music.  I’m just starting to enjoy some country pandora while I run, and I’m not comfortable actually holding the iPhone while I run outside, when I can just put it on the treadmill, inside.  (after listening to country for 2 hours – I’ve learned you can solve all the world’s problems with an ice cold beer, and an old pickup truck.  maybe a girl in a red dress.  easy peasy)  #4, same thing with my agua.  I wanted to drink it while I ran, but did not want to actually hold the bottle.  treadmill is good for something again.  treadmill it was.

Miles 1-6, 8mph, 1% incline and alternated 4%, 5%, 6% incline for the last 1/4 mile of every mile. 

Miles 7-16, 8mph-8.5mph, 1-2% incline.

For reference, running 16 miles on a treadmill is about as boring as watching paint dry.  or copying the dictionary.  take that back.  copying the dictionary is way more fun and entertaining.  

no smiles. get me outta this gym.

My stoic look after running for 2 hours on the treadmill.  where am I?  how did I get here?  how do I get home? 

I’m pretty sure people were looking at me funny.  The treadmill only goes for 60 minutes.  then I switched treadmills and started her up again.  Has anyone done a really long run on a treadmill and felt like people were staring like get this girl a doctor she has clearly lost her mind.  can’t wait until I do 20 on the treadmill and have to restart it twice:-) that’ll be fun. 

I actually felt great, physically.  my legs were good.  my knees were good.  the only thing that wasn’t great was my stomach.  whatever I had eaten way too close to my run beforehand was definitley not digested and kept trying to make an appearance for the first 10 miles.  then is finally settled.  like a rock in my colon.  that was equally not fun. and I just decided I do not like that word colon.  kind of like the word moist.  won’t use that again. weird.  moving on.    

I was most excited to see these two things when I got home – my red sweatshirt, nice and clean.  and my iced coffee.  awwwww.  so good.  I’m always excited to jump into my sweats when I get home.  but I’m super flipping excited to do it after a long workout.  and a nice shower. 

somehow I lost my pointer finger. not sure what happened to it. nothing easy about taking a picture AND holding a cup. casualties happen.

the tough thing about coming home to 3 kids after running 16 miles, is that you are coming home to 3 kids after running 16 miles.  I guess ideally, I would love to make myself some nice food, like a salad or something, and sit for a minute.  or at least think for a minute about what I would like to do.  nope.  those 3 kids need to eat IMMEDIATELY.  and they need a diaper change IMMEDIATELY.  and they need to cut and glue and staple every piece of paper IMMEDIATELY, and put on a ballet show and sing and dance as soon as I walk in the door.  I grab wildly at whatever food I can find.  don’t care if it’s crusty pb&j from lunch 3 hours ago.  just feed me.  something.  then I get the shower and the nice cozy clothes.  ahhhhh.

I took the girls on a no boys allowed they have cooties dinner (Luke was sleeping and Davey was more than happy to watch a movie in a quiet house for an hour) to Chipotle.  I had an intense craving for Chipotle and heads would roll if I didn’t get there.  we got there and I made the poor decision of adding carnitas to my burrito bowl.  why would I do that?  I don’t even know what carnitas is.  I would have been perfectly happy with my usual beans and rice veggie bowl.  It must have been all that protein talk earlier in the day the got me all confused and feeling like I had to add meat to my veggie bowl.  I had to ask the guy what it was at the checkout. turns out it’s some sort of pulled pork.  maybe I should have asked before I requested it for dinner.  not going to do that again.  veggies please. 

those carnitas are hiding under there waiting to disappoint my Chipotle meal. I will eat you anyway and pretend to enjoy it.

The girls were happy with their bean, rice, quesedilla dinner.  they were happier with their “spicy water” – aka club soda to normal folk. 

will you please stop taking pictures of me and let me just eat my rice and beans. please. mom. gosh. so annoying.

she always looks guilty. I think she's smuggling chips. or spicy water. can't be sure.

And I thought it would be fun and exciting to sugar the kids up before bed.  WHO WANTS TO GO TO TCBY?!?!  ok ok.  we’ll go.

sorry, Alex. only part of your face was cool enough to be a part of this picture. catch ya next time.

that's my spoon in the cup. I thought he would share with me. it's not very fun to share with a 2 year old. getting my own next time.

Luke went after that froyo like it was the last cup of froyo on earth.  Not even sure what ended up in that cup.  trying to get 3 kids through a self serve froyo line – not as easy peasy lemon squeezy as you think.  I apologize to everyone who was behind us in line.  I did my best to keep their precious little fingers out of the cookie dough and strawberries.  I’m confident they didn’t sneeze or cough on the goods.  that I can tell you.  but I’m only human. 

and that’s all she wrote!  ’twas a  good day.  any day that ends with frozen yogurt must be a good day.  Looking forward to a rest day tomorrow.  yeehaw. 

What’s  your favorite frozen yogurt place/and topping?

I like TCBY, but it’s not the same as when I was a kid.  I’m so excited friends of ours are opening a new FroYo place in my town called SweetFrogs – anyone heard of that?  I got the cake batter tonight – did not enjoy it.  So I kept steeling bites of Anna’s chocolate.  she didn’t like that.    

What is your favorite food after a long run/hard workout?

Is everyone relaxing on Sunday, or is it a long run/workout kind of a day? 

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

7 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe that you did 16 miles on a treadmill. You are a rockstar! I think I would have died if I had to be on there for that long. Haha. I’m happy someone else gets fro-yo after long runs. It’s by far my favorite treat. I always go to Yogurtland and I top it with cheesecake bites and chocolate chips. Mmmm. 🙂 As soon as I got back in town from my marathon that was the first place I stopped. 🙂

    • Hi! For some reason your comment went to spam – and I just saw it. I took you out:-) I’ve heard so much about yogurtland – I wish we had one here!! I love those cheesecake bits too, so good! Thanks for stopping in and commenting!!

  2. My little sister sent me your blog. She said you have 3 little kids (just like me!!), your a runner (like me but your faster). and your hilarious (not so much like me:)). She was right on all three accounts. I am loving reading your blog and look forward to it. Nice work on the 16 mile treadmill run. I ran 10 last weekend on the treadmill, however got lucky because I picked the one treadmill in the entire gym that doesn’t shut off after an hour:). I always watch Army Wives through Netflix on my I-phone. I actually look forward to running on the treadmill right now, it’s the only time in my life I can watch what I want without having to worry that the kids are watching it too.

    I love fro-to. I live in Walla Walla Washington and we just got a fro-yo place this past summer. The kids and I love it (though i may love it more than them).

    Did my long run today, it was long for me anyway (I don’t run marathons just half-marathons). 9 miles pushing my younger two boys (ages 2.5 and 8 months) in the jogger. My older son was with my husband which was a nice break only pushing two!

    Today after my run I had a Strawberry-mango spark (advocare drink, it’s yummy!) handful of almonds, cucumber slices with hummus and a chobani mango Greek yogurt. Yum now I’m hungry again!

    Alright headed to bed. Night!

  3. We’re getting a sweetfrog in ct??? You just made my day!! They’re amazing – we went a few weeks ago in VA!! Way to go on your 16 treadmill miles! I’m putting the kiddos down and about to head downstairs to my 10 on the treadmill – I’d literally DIE of boredom if it wasn’t for pandora or Netflix on the iPad in front of me!!!

  4. OKAY now you all have me wondering if I should ditch my playlist and pick up some new exciting show while I run!

    I am not sure I could do that long on a treadmill without sticking a pencil in my eye!!

    I am a before workout -banana-kind of girl and post workout I actually don’t like to eat right away but then a good amount of yogurt or chocolate milk is nice.

    Sunday is the sabbath for us so no sports/running on Sunday but ready to hit it hard on Monday again. Too many group fitness classes last week…blech!

  5. It was supposed to be a long run (at least 6), but I hung out with Ben all day….and I ended up getting 5.2 miles in around 7:00! And felt great! Usually scared to run in the dark, but I ran along the main busy streets so it was fine and safe.

    And when I read you did 16 miles on the treadmill I thought you had gone crazy…longest I’ve done is 9, but after awhile you just kind of forget where you are anyway…

  6. Pingback: Wednesday Fun Facts « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

