$12 Half marathon? I’ll take one, thank you very much

Standard

So when I thought I got the deal of the century getting $10 off the RNR Country Music marathon in April – I was WRONG. 

 I have been toying with the idea of finding a race in between now and my April Marathons. just to test out the good old racing legs.  the problem is, it’s cold here until April.  and what do we all know about Katie….I don’t want to run in the cold.  but running a spring marathon is also new territory for me.  so maybe cold running should be something I learn to like.  well, there is a half marathon.  pretty close to me.  In February.  the only thing I knew about it was that it was super hilly.  I was not about to pay to run a hilly course.  in February.  that’s hard.  but it’s hard.  probably exactly why I should run it.  I went to check out the website and found out it only costs $12.  twelve dollars.  I know.  is that crazy or what?!  what.  I could run it 5 times, and it would still be cheaper than any half I’ve ever done.  I’ll only run it once.  

I have a couple guesses as to why it only costs twelve dollars.  the first is this pretty little picture

how about some hills.  hmmmm.  fun. 

The second is this little diddy – this is usually what February looks like in CT. 

I surely would not pay$60 or more for a half marathon when there’s a risk of SNOW.  eeeekkkk!  they can pay me.  to not run in this.  for $12, I will run the risk of crazy weather.   

So, I signed up.  and I want to win it.  for the females.  done. 

Anyone have races coming up in the next couple months?

Cold weather runner, or do you like it hot?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

12 responses »

  1. Okay that profile looks crazy! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. Hopefully it’s not icy or you will need snowshoes to get up those hills!

    I spent the last 13 years living in Colorado, and I actually love running in the snow and cold. It always seems like such an adventure, and I love how quiet it can be. I have a tough time running in hot weather. I guess I need to get over that now that I live in TN. I have actually run the Country Music half marathon and I was a good time. You might actually luck out with some warm weather at that time of year. I am running the Knoxville 1/2 marathon on April 1 and just looking forward to doing some racing again!

  2. I get really warm when I run, so I don’t mind the cold unless it’s below 20. If it’s that cold, my legs don’t function very well, and you can only put on so many layers 🙂

    No official races in the near future, but I’m debating on a couple that are in May and June.

  3. NC Primal Mud Run in April.

    HATE running in the cold (early in the morning). Discovered I do love running in the snow (once I am awake) when I ran the Manchester Road Race a while back with my husband and cousins. I trained to run with it my brother but never got the chance. I did run the Glastonbury Santa run or Apple Fest run with my brother once. Nothing like running with a sibling. I MUCH prefer running in hot desert/sauna like conditions. I LOVE to sweat(but not indoors)!!!! Guess I am pretty much picky!

    For now it is the treadmill at the gym for me.

  4. Umm that looks INTENSE!!!! But for $12 you can’t beat it. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    I have a half-marathon coming up in the middle of February. I am running it with a friend who has never run a half before so it will just kind of be a fun run for me. I’m shooting for a PR half race either late spring or early fall. I prefer running in temps between 50-65, but I prefer colder over hotter.

    • 50-65 is ideal running weather for me! I prefer hot over cold though, any day. I like a good sweat. I do NOT like humid though. I have another half in the beginning of June that I am hoping for a PR. I love the half marathon distance. Just challenging enough:-)

  5. Hey – are you doing the colchester one???!!! I’m trying to talk my brother’s GF to do it with me… the talks aren’t going well 😉 hahahah The hills ARE bad… I also keep having flashbacks to the horrible runs we had to do in Cross country in high school… o man…

    • Yes, I bit the bullet and signed up. now I’m scared!!! I need to go drive the course to see what I’m in for. I have not been hill training AT ALL! Do it! I’ll be there:-)

  6. Not sure how I missed that you are running Country Music in Nashville! That’s my neck of the woods 🙂 If my runner’s knee would go bye-bye, I’d be all about running the half in Nashville.

    Those hills look killer!

TALK TO ME:-)

