Clean it up

Standard

Workout – 7 Miles on the gym treadmill. 50 mins. varying pace and incline throughout.  I definitely can’t remember the specifics.  that was over 5 hours ago.  it has left the building.   

The CLEANSE.  that’s what we’re doing.  the hubs and I.  We like to do a cleanse/detox/clean up our act thinga ma jig once or twice a year.  it’s not what you think.  I’ve seen those “cleanses” where all sorts of nasty crap comes out of you.  and  you have to live on your toilet for 3 days.  not this one my friends.  this is normal.  healthy.  I know there is quite the debate as to whether or not these types of things are really necessary.  I don’t think they are.  But, I think it’s good.  and healthy.  if you do it right.  and it kicks us back into healthy eating.  clean eating.  God gave me this one, beautiful body.  and I have 3 beautiful little bodies running around that I want to be here for, healthy, as long as I can be.  I’m going to take care of the body that I have and do the best that I can do with it.   

The first cleanse we did was last year.  I used Arbonne products.  I liked it.  It was tolerable.  The drink tasted like seaweed.  Actually, seaweed tastes better.  not sure really what the drink tasted like.  but it was tolerable.  Pretty sure it had seaweed and lots of other stuff in it.  au natural.  This one came with a whole diet plan, yadda yadda that goes with it.  to clean up your act.  I REALLY liked the food part of this one.  It taught me a lot about clean eating.  It wasn’t as much a diet, but how to clean up your plate.  A lot of it stuck with us as a way of consuming our food on a daily basis, without a lot of the extra junk and sugar.  we cut out dairy.  and we cut out meat, for the most part.   It prompted me to read a little more about clean eating.  I found these two books – which had a lot of clean eating principals and I learned a lot. 

TOTALLY obnoxiuos looking...but apparently it's part of the marketing. decent read.

And then this…

the editors asked me to write this book and be the cover model.  I was busy that day.

I actually think the title of the book is a little bit of a turn off.  But, it got great reviews, and I found some very useful information in it about basics of how the human body works and what it needs.  I liked it.  And I wasn’t reading it to lose weight.  It is also about healthy, clean eating.  and the marketing worked, because I also bought her workout dvd.  how can you resist anything with abs like that on the cover.  I’m a sucker. 

The next time we did a cleanse, we used the Isagenix cleanse.  There are a whole bunch of products they recommend you take with it.  I opted out of all of that.  I blended the two different cleanses and kind of came up with my own thing.  Using just the Isagenix Cleanse drink this time.  nothing else from them. 

We are doing this 9 day plan – and this is how they recommend you do it, for cleansing and weight loss:

I follow this plan kind of loosely for a couple reasons.  One, is that weight loss is NOT MY goal.  For my husband (who is not overweight, but a complete handsome stud and doesn’t need to lose weight, I love you sweetheart), he wants to lose some weight.  So I tweak it a little for each of us.  Second, is that I don’t want to eat all of their snacks, bars, capsules, magic potions and things.  It gets a little gimmicky for me.  and expensive. 

For the 4 cleanse days, where you are just supposed to have the cleanse drink – we also have raw veggies and fruit – keeping it super clean.  here’s the superstar cleanse juice. 

for life. they don't mess around.

looks good to me. clean me up.

For the 5 “shake” days, in between the 2 sets of cleanse days – I will make my green smoothie with lots of goodies in it for breakfast and dinner.  super healthy.  we are just glowing by the end of the day.  (the shake days are great for my burned out not wanting to think of, make, concoct, plan, or eat for that matter, any more meals, so please leave me alone and let me not cook self)  and the “normal” meal is salad or something.  Third reason I don’t follow it to a T is that I am still running and working out.  It’s HARD doing that on minimal food on the cleanse days.  but, it’s also only 4 days total of the cleanse drink.  not so bad.  my husband may have been cursing me by the end of last night.  curse away, you’ll thank me for it in a week!  or 9 days because technically in a week you will be drinking the cleanse drink and cursing me again.  cleanse day 1 down.  3 more to go honeybuns!

That’s the shpealio dealio peeps.  We are on day 2 of the cleanse drink.  followed by the 5 shake/whole food eating days, and 2 more days of the cleanse.  Then we will be lean mean cleansing machines.  watch out.  crazy things happen after I’m cleansed.  I stop scarfing down my kids’ leftover grilled cheese sandwiches. 

put down the sandwich. katie. put it down. walk away.

I can think straight.  make up delicious, nutritious, healthilicious dinners.  run warp speeds.  scary. 

as I promised, I will talk about the amazing dessert I made last week….later.  My son is rearranging his bedroom, again.  naptime fun.  and I must be a responsible parent and go take care of him.

Have you ever done a “cleanse”?  Which one?  for weight loss or overall health?

If you could eat anything you wanted, everyday, what would it be?

Have you read any great healthy eating books?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. Hey there. I have been reading/skimming the last some-odd days of your blog and can I just say LOVE! You are beautiful, your kids are ridiculously cute and you my friend are HI ….wait for it…LARIOUS!!! I am planning on being inspired to actually attempt a cleanse of my own very soon (coffee and my skin have become mortal enemies) can you say Sahara Desert anyone? Not to mention the caffeine keeps me from ever being fully hungry enough to bother with a proper meal. So, tonight my friend, I will be rereading and taking notes from your blog…and missing you terribly. Thanks my CT BF;)

    • Hi!!!! MISS YOU!!! Clean your act up and get back to me. 🙂 Love you!
      and my kids want to know when they get to see their VT girls. get back to me on that too. or you may get a surprise visit from these CT crazies.

  2. Cleanses are intense!! I like the way you modified it since you workout a lot. That’s definitely what I would have to do too. Not giving up running for a cleanse! No way. I’m curious to see how it goes so I can learn from you!

  3. Perfect timing…I’ve been considering a cleanse to jumpstart things for a while and have spoken to a few friends about this Isagenix craziness. I’e also heard that Tosca Reno is a great source for clea eating…so today I (1) talked Kevin into doing the 9-day cleanse with me. It didn’t take any real encouragement – he’s always up for a challenge…we’re going to start next weekend so we can commiserate on the first 2 days of cleansing together. I may see if Grandpa Trustey wants to take 3 little angels for 2 days:-) (2) I ordered both books your recommended. Figured I can read them in my 9-days then start day 10 with a new, clean eating approach. Here’s my question, which I unfortunately think I know the answer to: is there no coffee for 9 days? Ugh. BTW, has Davey seen that there is a new movie about Western States 100? Good motivation for long treadmill runs: http://www.ws100film.com/

    • That’s great! I think if you can “get rid” of the kids for those 2 days, it will be MUCH easier on you. For me, it’s very hard preparing and being around the kids food. I’ve totally “cheated” and if weight loss was my goal, it would make it harder. That’s my opinion! I will do another post in a day or 2 about how it’s going. Did you order isagenix and their products? And no coffee:( tough one. For this, I do no dairy, soy, gluten, alcohol, caffeine, yeast forming foods, and we don’t do meat anyway. Can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!! And I will tell Davey about the western states video- he needs some motivation:)

      Katie

  4. Wow, I totally want that “This is why you’re fat” book. This post has made me want to shop online. And I’m totally curious about the cleanse, I want to try it! But I’d try it your way – want to keep exercising and not buy all their shake crap. Green smoothie sounds like the way to go! Your blog makes me want kids stat.

  5. Pingback: Spinach Bread and thoughts on running « msfitrunner

  6. Pingback: Birthdays, food, and fun « msfitrunner

  7. Pingback: Coffee love and a dinner « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

