Family Fun

Standard

Workout25 minutes on Stairmaster, until Luke decided to throw himself off the stairs. 

don't worry. he's not dead. that's just the beginning of a massive. head banging. tantrum. that resulted in him catapulting himself off the stairs. fun.

that trumped the end of my workout.  maybe I’ll finish it later.  maybe not.  technically it’s a rest day and I have 18 miles tomorrow.  it worked out perfectly that it was the hubs’ morning at the gym and it’s my rest day.  that way my running hopes were not dashed to a million pieces.  I wasn’t planning on running anyway. done dealio.  

I started my workout with just one child to watch.  way easier than three little midgets. 

he looks ready to attack.

One by one they trickled down the stairs.  and then there were three. 

they're in that mess somewhere. I pretend that room doesn't exist at the end of the day. much like every other room in the house. why pick it up? just to get destroyed again 12 hours later.

I was beginning to get a little frightened that more children that needed a mother to harrass would start coming down those stairs to find me.  glad it stopped at my three.  glad I only have three.  you can take away my peaceful workout, but you can’t take away my happy little smile because I’m steppin’ my worries away. 

You can’t take away my little bicep either – you like that.  I’m working on it.  But I’d be more than happy if you took away my little bitty non existent chest and replaced it with a little bitty bigger chest.  but that’s for another post.  whoever says your boobs get bigger after you have kids lied.  mine got smaller.  and I didn’t have much to get smaller.  but, I’m actually liking it more and more the more we run together.  Flat chestedness works great for running.  I probably don’t really even need to wear a sports bra.  but I do it so I feel a little bitty normal.

Last night Nonni and Petey came to visit.  good times were had by all as I continued my not cooking because we are cleansing streak for the 4th night in a row.  a beautiful thing.  I made a big salad, of which there are no pictures because it looked like every other big salad you’ve ever seen.  maybe a bit more exciting because I made it, but you get the jist.  I ordered a pizza for the kids that looked like every other pizza you have ever seen.  and then we had a little game and story night. 

we break out the big checkers for the +60 crew.  makes it easier to see and play.  😉  I love this checker game.  it has tic tac toe on the other side.  endless hours of entertainment flipping it back and forth. 

And a little night cap of reading Princess and the Pea and Little Blue Truck.  His and hers books. 

miracle of miracles. they DO know how to sit still.

It’s nice to have a nice, mellow, family night every now and then.  I was saying to my husband that I often feel like we rush the kids off to bed at the end of the day.  which is probably because we actually rush the kids off to bed at the end of the day.  The days are sometimes always nonstop, but it’s nice to stop and smell the roses of childhood games and reading family fun.  just every once in awhile.  we don’t want to spoil the children letting them have a seriously happy go lucky childhood filled with candyland games and ring around the rosie.  it’s not that posie. 

I love my children every second of every day.  Sometimes I need to remember to take the time to love them.  more time than just the dailies.  So stop and smell the roses of whatever you are doing.  even if they aren’t roses and are more like poopy diapers.  one day those poopy diapers will be gone.  hopefully the roses won’t be gone. 

Weekend plans???

What is your favorite game to play?

Would you rather play board games, watch TV or go to the movies?  hubs and I are big movie people.  we don’t ever go to the movies, but we rent them a lot.  I’m sure it’s making me smarter. 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. I feel like I would rather just read a book wrapped up in my snuggie snuggled in with my pups. Can’t I just make a living off of that?

    No need for a sports bra here either, scary to think that my chest may actually shrink after children…there’s not much to get rid of.

    • Oh, reading a book is great too! with a nice cup of tea. hubs and I have been doing that lately. so much more refreshing than sitting in front of a movie. yeah, don’t have high hopes for any changes in the chest area after kids if there’s not much there now, sorry!;-)

  2. Just love those family pictures. What an amazing thing to have extended family around. That is the number one reason we left Colorado after 12 years to come back to TN.

    At this point I think I would prefer to go to a movie, just because it seems like such a treat. Preferably by myself. But the reality is more likely to be redbox. 🙂

    And I love scrabble but only when I’m not sleep deprived so maybe we’ll get back to that in a couple of years.

    • We are very blessed to have as much family as we do around. I don’t think I could do it any other way. that is so funny, sometimes that’s exactly what I want to do, too – movie by myself! my husband does that. we used to play scrabble a lot as a kid. great for your mind! now I’m afraid I would only spell words like potty, binky, baba, and crazy toddler words. I’m afraid I’ve lost most of my big girl vocabulary;-)

TALK TO ME:-)

