Birthdays, food, and fun

Standard

I don’t know how this ended up in my hand, with a smile on my face like it’s ok 

or how both of these ended up on my counter. 

can you guess which one is mine?

 

I’m not a genius, but I’m pretty sure that doesn’t follow the cleanse plan.  or any healthy eating plan.  anywhere.  

we kind of totally fell off the cleanse wagon this weekend.  really from about 3:30 pm yesterday until this moment. 

I’m human and I have forgiven myself.  We have two days left tomorrow, and we will finish strong.  we will be back in the game.  

It started going downhill yesterday with the plethora of visitors we had all day long bringing wine and cheese and other un-cleansingly good things.  It started crashing last night with our dinner guests, salmon burgers and this amazing dessert I made that I have no pictures of because I will get to that in a hot minute.  and then it totally combusted in a blazing fire this afternoon when we got lobster rolls, onion rings and french fries down by the shore.  go big or go home.  if we are going down, we are taking all of the greasy fatty food with us.  thus ending the weekend with his and hers ben and jerry’s.  I could think of no other way to celebrate superbowl sunday than by not watching the superbowl and eating a pint of ice cream.  don’t worry, my precious, green smoothies – I will come back to you this week.        

I also need to say I have spent way too many hours this weekend wearing real clothes and not enough hours wearing sweatshirts and leggings.  maybe that’s what put me out of my game.  and forced me to eat gobs of savory and sinfully delicious food giving me horrible heartburn and indigestion. 

You could barely call that real clothes because the top is the Gap workout line and is basically workout wear, but it’s form fitting and therefore gets stuck between comfy but not quite, not a good place to be (but is still one of my fave pieces of clothing to wear).  it was my weekend outfit.  I may not have taken it off all weekend.  you will never know. 

More fun things – it was my Nana’s and my little sisters birthday’s this weekend!  Nana is 80!!!!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! 

and baby Hannah is 25 🙂  she’s my little baby sis, and she’s having a baby, and I’m soooooooo excited.  besides the point.  we are talking about their birthdays.  we did a little celebration and had some cake.  furthering our plunge into unclean eating. 

no cake is complete in my family without some sort of marshmallow decoration.  don’t even bother if it doesn’t have marshmallow flowers or hearts on it. 

it also tastes better if you eat it on animal plates. 

 

gammy didn't feel like playing along. party pooper.

SO GOOD!

Ok.  pre-party, we took a little family day drive down to the outlets this afternoon.  no worries.  I left all of the coach, michael kors, and dooney & bourke bags on the shelves where they belong.  which is a good thing because my phone disappeared into some outlet shopping black hole while we were there, and I had to buy a new one.  it was there one minute and gone the next.  no clue where it went.  I can’t be without my phone.  seriously.  we don’t do a house phone anymore.  not cool if I don’t have my cell phone.  first stop on the way home – AT & T store.  good thing I was due for an upgrade and only had to pay an arm instead of an arm and a leg for a new iPhone.  it wasn’t so bad upgrading from the 3gs 😉 

That’s why I have no pictures of our non-stop crazy day yesterday full of delicious food and family fun.  I don’t back up my phone regularly.  I just  happened to have done it last week for the first time in like 8 months.  good timing.   

Thank the good Lord today was a rest day.  I didn’t run or do strength.  Kind of a bummer because I fell off my I want to do strength training at least 3 days a week, and it just started last week wagon pretty quickly. 

Goals this week – stay motivated and get in all of my training miles – somewhere in the 50 mile range.  without running on the home death machine treadmill.  THAT’S A LOT.  for this girl.   Do at least 3 strength workouts.  Stick with the cleanse for the next two days and continue clean eating after that.  I’m excited for that part.  sometimes I wonder what happened to me that that’s what I get excited for.  I also want to read through my new SHAPE mag that has been sitting ignored for way too many days.  yes, that is a valid goal.  there’s some good info in there.  I didn’t say these goals would be deep and meaningful.  they never really are.  they just need to get me through the week.  and lastly, not wash my hair more than 3 times.  big goals.  really big. 

What are some of your goals for the week?  deep and thoughtful or completely surfacy, do share:-) 

        What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

How do you get and stay motivated during the week to exercise, make healthy decisions, or just get in the shower?

 

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE Chubby Hubby! I haven’t had it in so long, but it’s definitely a favorite!!

    Last night we got Coldstone, and I had cake batter ice cream with brownie mixed in. Normally, I get brownie AND cake pieces, but they were out of cake. I wasn’t too happy about that! 😉

  2. Some of my goals for the week: eat less sweets, workout 5 days, drink lots of water, keep doing my exercises for my piriformis and foam rolling. Sometimes it’s really hard to stay motivated…I work with people who are not really “health nuts” like me and my husband certainly isn’t, either 😉 But, I just think about my goals and what I need to do to get there.

    Not an ice cream person at all. If I eat it, it has to be smothered in hot fudge 🙂

  3. Ooo.. I had some nice vanilla frozen yogurt last night. Yumm.. it was no sugar added, but sosososooso good. I love fro yo more than ice cream honestly. I love to load up at Yogurtini!!

    I don’t really motivate myself, per se. Man, I hate getting out of bed in the morning! Lol. My best weapon is just being in a routine!

  4. Pingback: Monday Motivation « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

