Monday Motivation

Standard

Workout – 30 min level 20 stairmaster.  no run. I can explain.  hold that thought.  squeezed in some weights.  had high hopes of hanging out with Jillian, but apparently a five year old would rather watch Sid the Science Kid.  where did I go wrong. 

I don’t know why I’m surprised when every Monday rolls around (it definitely does that more often than any other day of the week, crazy I know), that I am disorganized, and couldn’t find my way out of a paper bag if I had to.   Looks like Alex feels the same way.  she just gave up on life last night before Monday even got here. 

Yucky Monday would be the reason that I broke my goal of not even 24 hours ago of trying to stick with my mileage plan for the week.  The run today turned into a better than nothing stairmaster workout, which almost turned into no workout at all due to a non-napping gremlin.

I didn’t even bother getting dressed today.  or changing into actual workout clothes.  too lazy for that.  those are just cotton yoga pants.  not a great clothing choice to do the stairmaster in next to the wood stove.  hot.  sweaty.  yuck. 

The hubs and I were debating last night whose turn it was at the gym this morning.  we made the mistake of settling on, we’ll see how it goes in the morning.  don’t do that.  make a plan before Monday morning as to how the workout is going to go.  I blame the impaired judgement on ben and jerry’s ice cream.  otherwise the kids will gang up and sleep in for the one day in the past five years, and no one gets up for the gym.  and I’m boycotting my treadmill at home.  makes out for a rough start to the week.  at least for this old lady.  I’m all about plans.  I’m just not great at implementing them.  I think I need to spend more time on Sunday planning out the week, meals, which old sweatshirt I will be wearing and when.  even SHAPE mag agrees with me on the ickiness that Mondays usually are.  but they give some suggestions on how to make it better.  I should have read this last night and maybe I would have gotten my butt out of bed to exercise. 

I didn't see anything in that little snipet about mimosas, brunch and a free nanny. not sure how funday this monday could be.

It’s that “early morning run” part.  I missed that today.  there goes my funday monday.  will have to wait until next monday.

I kind of take weekends off from caring about what the house looks like.  if the laundry is folded or not.  taking showers and brushing my teeth.  I kid.  I brush my teeth.  Mondays present me with a lot of things to do and I sometimes get a little overwhelmed with the 13 loads of laundry ready to be folded and the children playing with the dust bunnies.  better than real bunnies.  no feeding or cleaning.  we might hang on to those ones.  So instead of getting overwhelmed and praying my house falls into a black hole so I don’t have to clean it – I just pick one or two little projects to complete.  and I’m happy again.  I can do one or two.  I can’t do 9 or 10.  too much.  today I shopped online and folded laundry.  maybe I will vacuum. done.  

I got a chance to catch up on my SHAPE.  which, by the way I get at least one peice of mail daily saying my subscription is ready to renew and I better do it like 3 days ago or the world will end.  don’t worry SHAPE.  I love you.  I will renew.  STOP SENDING ME MAIL.  Here are some other fun things I found while I was reading and stepping. 

Jump rope.  looks like a great workout.  but I think I would rather poke my eyes out with pencils.  even with the pro jumper.  seems incredibly boring.  coming from the girl who stares at a blank wall and doesn’t listen to music while she runs.  Do any of you use jump roping on a regular basis for exercise?   very interesting. 

Here’s another one that looked kind of fun in a strange I could never picture my husband and I doing that, but props to those couples that do sort of way.  

so romantic. a couples workout. the couple that works out together....eats ben and jerry's together?

And I really liked this little article about exercise during pregnancy. 

I think being pregnant is no excuse to stop exercising.  I did until the very end with each of mine.  I was doing pushups in the delivery room.  WHAT A DIFFERENCE in delivery and recovery.  actually, I would know nothing about a difference, because I worked out with each one and I was in good shape.  but I can say, recovering from pushing a baby out was not that bad – nor was the pushing a baby out part.  hindsight. ha.  I do think being in shape had a lot to do with it.  and it looks like my children will be stellar athletes and little einsteins.

I’m off duty for dinner for two more nights.  wahoo.  that almost makes a monday funday.  the cleanse ends tomorrow.  which I’m totally ready for.  and back at it with healthy, delicious cooking on Wednesday.  Hopefully I’ll have some brain power going and get some great meals planned.  not likely. but I dream big. 

Stay tuned – I’m going to do a “lineup” post of some of my favorite things – like vitamins, supplements, and other important things that come to my mind. 

Was your Monday a funday?

Did you/are you/will you workout during pregnancy?

Are weekends for cleaning and housework, or to you take a break from it all?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

5 responses »

  1. This is why I love your blog! So true to the reality of staying home with kids. I am super type A about my house but with the new baby I am becoming more relaxed about it on the weekends and really trying to use the time to have fun and rejuvenate. This idea works for me on sat and Sunday but yeah sometimes I freak out on Monday :).

    Definitely exercised through both pregnancies – ran til almost 8 months with this last one while pushing my then 3 yr old in the BOB. I’m sure I looked like a nut. After that I couldnt handle the potty breaks and walked/did yoga.

    • Yes- life changed drastically, especially after the third! I just had to learn to let things go and try not to have too many freak out moments! I get overwhelmed when stuff piles up, but am better about letting certain things go. And also realizing the importance of me getting some sort or workout in on the weekdays- even if it’s a toss up between cleaning the bathroom or a quick run- the quick run usually wins now:-) I’m entering new territory now with my almost two year old ready to give up naps- this means ZERO down time! Ahhh!!;-)

      Katie

  2. Like that snipit about pregnancy, being that I’ve never been pregnant at this point in my life I do often wonder how my lifestyle choices will effect my fetus. My husband might punch me in the face if I made him do that workout, we aren’t kitchy like that and get very competitive wih one another.

  3. I tried to stay active through both of my pregnancys. I mainly walked with the first and the second time around I wanted to run as long as possible but only made it to week 20, then walked from there. I also did strength workouts too. I’m sure recovery is alot quicker if you maintain your workouts. It drives me nuts when women just “let themselves go” and eat whatever just because they’re pregnant!
    As for cleaning on the weekends, I usually don’t!

  4. Glad to hear I am not the only one that has children derail my best efforts to become Superwoman! Even with the childcare center at the gym available…my littlest monster misses Mommy and they come yank me out of kickboxing…rrrr!

    Monday are actually my happy day. After having to push aside my OCD tendencies and try to let the house “relax” over the weekend I am happy to boot everyone off to school and work and start digging the house out of what looks like tornado damage. It is my “Saturday” so bathing is optional on this day for me since I don’t usually leave the house. Monday’s also give me a feeling of a new start. Sort of like New Year’s on a weekly basis. Only to fizzle out by Friday so I am happy to have a new start each week.

    I am willing to work out during pregnancy. My bladder not so much. More strength training and walking than any form of running. I had 4 children naturally and walked my son to the bathing station after birthing him. Bounced right back…although it took me a year to get back to any form of regular running. Darn huge, leaky nursing boobs!!! None of my babies were much good with bottles. I am grateful that I took that extra time to snuggle with #4. I already miss that infant stage.

    I do NOT own my weekends. My children’s activities, in-laws and blessed sabbath day manage to plan all that for me! Wouldn’t change it for anything!!

TALK TO ME:-)

