Minerals and More

Standard

I couldn’t even think straight today.  Luke is phasing out naptime.  that’s sad.  That’s 3 kids that don’t stop moving all day.  I’m pretty good at whining about it.  so here we go. 

for all of you non-mommy people – let me put this into perspective for you.  3 kids.  ages 5, 4 and close enough to 2 to call him 2.  #1 and #2 don’t sleep during the day.  of course.  So imagine….you have two mini you’s following you around, incessantly talking in your ear.  it’s cute.  I love them.  now that they are 4 and 5 I can actually understand the talking.  not so much with #3.  this one might be part monkey, part crazy toddler, no part normal.  normal is overrated.  just like reading.  I used to get an hour to 1.5 hour break from the incessant-ness of the day.  now #3 doesn’t nap.  the noise and motion doesn’t stop.  ever.  from 6am until 7pm.  if you try to do laundry, he will help you unfold it.  if you try to do dishes, he will pretend he is the dog and try to lick the dirty silverware.  if you try to go to the bathroom, he will derobe, ask to go pee pee and run around naked refusing to put his diaper back on.  and if you try to go to the store he will go houdini on you and figure out how to get out of every buckle known to man.  all whilst #1 and #2 require some sort of attention and love or else the house will be taped and glued and sparkled from top to bottom.  fun.  really, I do LOVE being home with my kids.  I’m just mourning the loss of consistent naps and a break in the day.  this is why every picture you see of me looks like this – all the time.   

puma sneakers. black yoga pants. black athletic top. repeat. everyday. sometimes throw in a sweatshirt if I want to look extra frumpy.

I welcome bedtime with big open arms and a choir of singing angels.  especially when we have a nap-less day….or week.  the above ramblings would also be the reason I run.  fast.  and often.  and the reason my hair is usually greasy and why my basement looks like a tornado ripped through it.  we call it Luke. 

Onto important stuff.  or more important than my protrayal of stay at home mommyhood to 3 very little people.       

I am newly “obsessed” with this mineral.  lets see if you can guess it.  it starts with a pot and ends with an assium.  that whole thing just sounds bad.  Potassium.  Don’t ask me where this came from. Like most things that I think about, it just pops into my head out of nowhere and sticks there until I figure out what the deal is.  So here’s the deal with potassium as it relates to runners.  Turns out it’s pretty important.  But you people probably already knew that and this is old news.  humor me and read on.  here are the top foods containing good sources of potassium. 

SOURCE

What kinds of fruit contain potassium?

The amount of potassium in milligrams (mg) contained in each fruit or serving of fruit is listed beside the item.

  • High potassium foods (more than 200 mg per serving):
    • One papaya (781).
    • One cup of prune juice (707).
    • One cup of cubed cantaloupe (494) or diced honeydew melon (461).
    • One small banana (467).
    • One-third cup of raisins (363).
    • One medium mango (323) or kiwi (252).
    • One small orange (237) or one-half cup of orange juice (236).
    • One medium pear (208).

What kinds of vegetables contain potassium?

  • High potassium foods (more than 200 mg per serving):
    • One cup of tomato juice (535) or chopped or sliced tomato (400).
    • One baked sweet potato, with skin (508).
    • One-half of a medium avocado (450).
    • One-half of a medium potato, with skin (422).
    • One cup of fresh or cooked asparagus (288).
    • One-half cup of cooked pumpkin (282).
    • One-half cup of cooked mushrooms (277).
    • One-half cup of fresh Brussels sprouts (247)

I think they should have checked with this mom, blogger, runner, smarty pants Katie before they finalized their list – I have a couple of other food items that I eat every day chock full of potassiuminess.  The first is raspberries.  over 200 mg per serving.  how do you like them raspberries. 

and then we have spinach!  we know I love my smoothies!  another one coming in at over 200mg per serving.  add ’em to the list. 

look at those numbers. it's just too exciting.

Why the heck would I care about potassium and what does it  have to do with running, you ask?  so glad you care.  I consulted with none other than Runner’s World mag and found some 411 to answer your questions.  read the complete article HERE.  but I pulled some tidbits. 

Potassium is a mineral that works with sodium (also a mineral) to balance the fluids and electrolyte levels in your body. And since steady fluid levels help to regulate your heartbeat and prevent muscles from cramping, potassium is of particular importance to runners. “Think of it as the gatekeeper for fluid movement in and out of the body’s cells,” says Lisa Dorfman, R.D., a sports nutritionist at the University of Miami’s athletic department.

The transfer of these two crucial minerals in and out of the cells–the “sodium-potassium pump”–comprises 20 to 40 percent of an adult’s resting energy expenditure.

Put that adult in motion, running, and studies have shown that he or she will finish a marathon with more potassium outside his or her cells than inside. That’s why you feel weak, your legs might start to cramp, and you may begin to feel bloated. But thanks in part to that unoriginal (albeit useful) banana and water foisted upon you at the finish line, the imbalance returns to normal in about an hour.

Since potassium plays such a key role in hydration, runners might be worried about taking in enough. Relax. Potassium is found in so many common foods that supplementation is rarely necessary to meet the Daily Value of 3,500 milligrams. High-mileage runners may want to take in closer to 4,700 milligrams (you can safely ingest three times that per day), but these amounts are easy to attain by eating a varied diet that consists of lots of fresh, unprocessed foods. That’s because potassium is abundant in all living plant and animal cells. The cells remain intact–along with their potassium content–until food is processed, making whole foods the best source.

I find that all VERY interesting.  maybe I should take a potassium supplement.  or maybe I should take a chill pill instead because I probably take far too many supplements and vitamins.  maybe the chill pill has potassium in it.  done now. 

And I will leave you with some other important vitamins and minerals for runners.  according to LiveStrong.  you can read the article HERE.  I will list them for your reading pleasure.  

  • Sodium
  • Potassium (there she is again.  I was onto something)
  • Calcium and vitamin D
  • Antioxidants – C and E, beta carotine and selenium
  • B vitamins – thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, pantothenic acid, B6, biotin and B12   

Do you get enough of the above vitamins and minerals?

Do you like to take a nap during the day?  Do you like it when your small children nap?  that’s a silly question. 

What is your favorite piece of “comfy” clothing?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

6 responses »

  1. My oldest two took naps until the day theynleft for kindergarten…LOVELY:-) Darling daughter stopped at 15 months and also announced “YOU arr NOT the boss of me!” Hasn’t really gotten much better since then. I need a nap everyday for grouchiness but I am too ADHD to settle down and take one.

    Favorite comfy clothes….anything in my hubby’s drawer!

  2. I should get enough vitamins and such, I take a really good supplement pack.

    I work Nightshift, so I always lay down for an hour before I go to work. When my kids gave up their naps (my youngest is almost 5, and she’s just given up naps in the last couple of weeks) I made them have an hour of “quiet time” in thei rooms every day. That way, I got my nap time and an hour of peace on the days I wasn’t working.
    I live in t-shirts and Victoria’s Secret sweats at home…lounge wear all the way when you sleep odd hours.

  3. wow thats sounds tough running after 3 kids!! My mum did it and I don’t know how! I am ok with a dog just for now 😉

    Thanks for the info on potassium. I will try and get some more in. I am trying to boost iron and calcium as well.

  4. I would mourn the loss of naptime too. I think I still mourn the loss of MY naptime!! Haha. Just wait till they start saying up later!! Just kidding. Lol. I don’t know how you do it! 🙂 I have this pair of black leggings that I enjoy wearing as pants when I need to be comfy!

TALK TO ME:-)

