Coffee love and a dinner

Standard

Workout – at home.  stairmaster/strength combo.  here’s the thought process.  I like to do my cardio straight through.  I don’t like to do these crazy workouts that mix up your cardio and strength and make you go back and forth between them.  until this morning.  I wasn’t planning on going to the gym.  I was forced to the basement.  I didn’t want to run.  and I didn’t want to hop on the stairmaster – feeling a little too ADD for that.  I did want to do strength, but knew that wouldn’t get me through the day. 

My solution – 6 minutes of level 20 speed interval, followed by a few strength exercises.  I did this 6 times.  ended up giving me 6.5 miles on stairmaster and probably 20 minutes total of strength.  not too shabby.  I can see the draw.  breaks up a very boring workout and makes it not so boring.  I’m not that simple minded, but sometimes I think all it takes to get through a workout when you just aren’t feeling it, is to trick your mind into thinking you aren’t really working out.  like doing 6 minute stints on the master instead of 40 minutes straight through.  or if I have to run 10 miles staring at a blank wall, I reset the treadmill after 3 miles so it feels like a few short 5k’s.  ok, maybe my mind is pretty simple.  seems to work for me.  I wasn’t taking this morning’s workout too seriously either, which you can tell by the choice of clothing, yoga pants again,

victoria’s secret yoga pants. the only ones long enough for these legs. the only thing I buy from VS….unfortunately for my husband.

and the shoe choice – definitely not serious shoes.  fantastically adorable.  not serious. 

 

Despite the poor attitude and choice of clothing – it was a great workout and nice to do something different from my normal.  branching out.  just a little bit.

Pretty sure my husband fell in love with me all over again this morning when I pulled out this bad boy – don’t worry, it’s not R rated.  nothing in my life really exceeds PG. 

don’t judge the pot. it’s super fancy. for serious drinkers only.

Coffee.  glorious.  cleanse is done.  coffee is back.  I made enough for TWO iced coffees today.  I don’t mess around.

Luke got a little hungry for a bowl of cereal when I went downstairs to throw in a load of laundry.  silly me forgot to childlock the cabinet.  not sure he poured enough for himself….glad I have another cup of coffee waiting.

I think he should have chosen a bigger bowl.

Ok, quick dinner recipe.  This is nothing fantastic or exciting.  But I make it at least once a week.  I made it last night.  It’s super easy.  Vegan.  And I think it tastes pretty darn good.  It’s called sweetpotatobroccoliblackbean dinner.  very original.

looks kind of edible. I love it.

Here’s the deal – I grill the sweet potato wrapped in tin foil.  tastes so good grilled.  first I pre-cook each one for 2 minutes in the microwave so that it doesn’t take so long on the grill.  It probably takes about 30 minutes on the grill. 

One (I usually do 2) package of frozen broccoli florets on a cookie sheet or pan.  I use my stoneware bar pan, like a cookie sheet.  425 degrees for about 25 mintues.  Misto it with olive oil, little salt and pepper and to the oven. 

Sautee rinsed, drained black beans in a little canola oil, fresh minced garlic, salt and pepper.  I cheat and use dehydrated garlic if I don’t feel like the real stuff.  I could eat the whole can of these.

Split open the sweet potato.  I like it with a little bit of some sort of buttery spread that isn’t real butter.  or olive oil.  then pile on the toppings.  you get a little sweet, a little salty.  lots of yummy.   

and then dessert.  father of the year brought home a lava cake he hadn’t eaten at a lunch meeting.  we thought it would be a good idea to sugar up the girls in the form of processed chocolate cake product 15 minutes before bed. 

can't imagine where she got her sweet tooth from. she'll eat your arm if it gets between the cake and her mouth. watch it.

 

this one's too cool for school and could care less about the cake.

they actually went right to bed.  I think it put them into an immediate food coma. 

 

Do you need to eat something sweet after a meal?

What is your favorite vegetable?

What kind of workouts have you been doing this week?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

12 responses »

  1. 1- um, yes. I come from the Nelson clan, and I think it is our curse. To counteract this I run, and fortunately love veggies as well and therefore have many responses to number 2. I had a leftover brownie for dessert after lunch today.
    2- Broccoli is my first love if it’s by itself, but a meal without spinach or mushrooms I dont really consider a meal:-). I would also say mushrooms are my favorite, but I quite often say they are my favorite overall food. So I can’t let it be the favorite of two categories. That’s just selfish of them, and then they would no longer be my favorite! Lol. Also love sweet potatoes, peppers, and onions and kale and edamame and….
    3- Pretty much nothing unfortunately. Today will be my first workout because I started a second job this week and have been busy. Planning on doing the elliptical, bc my knees an ankles have been hurting, and some strength. That about sums it up!

  2. I love switching things up like that workout you did….when I have workout add I switch back and forth from my treadmill to spin bike to weights..love it. I want your VS pants! You know I need something sweet after each meal:)

  3. I too keep my blow drier close at hand when consuming massive amounts of Kashi….never know when you might need a quick touch up…. right on Luke!

  4. Great cardio and strength combo!!…I used to do a mix if I felt unmotivated to do strength, for some reason I always am pumped for cardio, but not often with strength! 🙂 now I just add a strength routine in 2-nights a week.
    COFFEE LOVE, so glad it’s back in your life and I hope you are feeling wonderful post cleanse!
    xoxo!

  5. 1-ALWAYS
    2-Oven roasted cauliflower
    3-a very sad pitiful attempt to be like my new blogger hero and try to GET the treadmill to the number 20 (nevermind for 6 minutes)….I was about to fly off the machine at 12. Something to work up to right?, also got back on the treadmill (not as good as the trails but still bliss), and the ever hated strength and group fitness. I hate the strength but alas I do feel stronger because of it…humm is there a connection?????

  6. I need something sweet to eat after a meal for sure. My go to quick fix is usually chocolate chips. Hits the spot!

    BTW, I tagged you for the 11 Random Things. Don’t feel obligated to do it but it’s kind of fun!

  7. I LOVE your purple Puma’s!!!! I have a bad habit of picking my shoes that are supposed to be functional based on cuteness. argh.
    1. I’m a sweet a holic. I’m trying to only eat sugar on Sundays right now. it’s hard. I’m eating lots and lots of frozen bananana’s and grapes after dinner. And today for breakfast…
    2. hmmm choosing a fave is hard. Broccoli I think, or pumpkin. I love almost all vegetables though
    3. Workouts..I’m finally getting a few (like 2) days of running in! I’ve been doing these strength workouts that are supposed to help you not build mass but tone and even…lose muscle. I’m a beast, what can I say!

    Ps. Happy Fit Mama, my go to is chocolate chips too. My boyfriend is convinced they are somehow less healthy then “real” chocolate

  8. I have long legs too, and just found some great lounge/yoga pants at Old Navy for $15. Triple the price for the same thing other places…
    I’m on a green bean kick right now. Love to spice them up with some crushed red pepper & rosemary. Love it!

  9. Love you VS pants! I have long legs to but have never tried them..I’m 5’9.. do you think they would be long enough for me? I need at least a 34 inch inseam..
    oh anything that involves sweet potatoes is good in my book. well minus the beans..

    • Yes! I’m just over 5’9″, and I think last time I actually got the XL inseam, it’s 36 or 37 inches. Usually they have a deal going on, but they have never been as cheap as the first time I got them years ago:-/ Old Navy’s yoga pants like that are great too, in the tall length. I usually get xs because I like them tight and when they get stretched out they aren’t saggy;-) small long works too though because they don’t always carry the tall in xs, which I think is weird.

  10. Pingback: How To Friday – How to be HAPPY!!! « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

