How To Friday – How to be HAPPY!!!

Standard

Workout – rest day.  contemplating this one.  depends on how the day goes.  I’m not really “feeling” the rest day, but sometimes you just have to do what Runner’s World tells you to do and rest.  It might be easier to have a “rest” day today, if I felt like I really worked it the previous 4 days.  but, I don’t feel like I really worked it.  debatable.  to be continued.

*Edit – rest day didn’t happen.  ants in my pants and I couldn’t focus until I worked it out. I think my conclusion is that 1 rest day a week is plenty for me. I did my cardio mind eraser workout from yesterday. 

except today I did 7 minute intervals on the stairmaster, level 20 with strength interjected, 6 times – I did 8 minutes the last time to make it 50 minutes even.  follow that?  LOVE THIS WORKOUT.  it’s not running.  and who knows if it is even good crosstraining, but I feel great after.   This is what the speed interval looks like. 

intense. not really. but it gets the job done.

We were in crisis this morning.  Anna found a little bug in her room. It’s a stinkus bugus loveus.  scientific name.  we call it stink bug for short.  if it flies into a light and burns, you must evacuate the house.  the smell is so horrible.  therefore, stink bug.    

Anna is sad.  stinkus started walking across the windowsill, but she has deemed this her new pet.  she was afraid it was going to leave her window.  not to worry my little lovebug.  mommy is not touching it.  it’s not going anywhere.  and Anna has not moved from this spot.  staring intently at her bug.  Alexandra tenderly tried to console her by wrapping her in her beloved pink snuggie blanket.  that’s a whole different story.  my children are very normal.       

I say what better way to avert a crisis is than by diverting to the playground.  really, I wanted to go to TJ Maxx and Target, but I was outnumbered 2 to 1.  and I’m trying to think more about my children and their needs.  they need to run around.  and I needed to get re-acquainted with my red sweatshirt.  we’ve missed each other. 

you've missed the dirty mirror pictures of the red sweatshirt, haven't you?? you were probably getting concerned that something happened to that beauty. no worries. alive and kickin.

 

Anna, Luke, Luke’s little buddy and I toted off to play.  All better.

cute little penguin. I think it only cost $37 at the Boston aquarium gift shop money trap. but how can you turn down those eyes. it's competing with Anna for biggest eyes on a small face.

*Note to reader – I am newly obsessed with the instagram app on my phone.  every picture is now taken through instagram.  when I find something I like, I use it and abuse it.  get used to instagram pictures.  I think they are fabulous.  they also make my food look nice. 

spring mix, sunflower seeds, pepitas (is that not the cutest name for pumpkin seeds), sweet potato, hard boiled egg, avocado, some sort of balsamic dressing.

doesn’t that just make you want to jump through your computer screen and eat it??   at least instagram makes it look good.  probably tasted horrible.  you can ask my husband. 

Onto business.  I am so HAPPY IT’S FRIDAY!  So in honor of being happy about the day, let’s talk about HOW TO be HAPPY.  This is in relation to food.  In that case, I know you think the answer is simple – consume large amounts of chocolate and drink wine?  that might work for the short term.  I’ve never actually tried that combo for an extended period of time, but I’m pretty sure it would leave you large and in charge.  or large and not in charge, but large and wasted on the couch.  so let’s try a different approach to attaining happiness through food.  this comes courtesy of my mom – who thoughtfully forwarded me THIS article.  I will summarize it for you. 

It is titled 11 Foods That End Bad Moods

My husband went to the store and bought every single item on that list.  and made me cook it.  I’m kidding.  he wouldn’t dare.  and I’m never in a bad mood. 

It is said that fitness/health is at least 80% nutrition and only 20% exercise.  That means what you put in your body is extremely important.  Naturally, if you put junk in, you are going to feel pretty junky.  I’m a firm believer in this.  and I think a poor diet, or even an unbalanced diet can totally effect your mood.  like those crazy extreme diets that cut out carbs completely.  I would be a monster.  there would be no survivors. 

How to be Happy and end bad moods – eat these 11 foods

SOURCE

Mood-Boosting Food #1: Mussels

Mussels are loaded with some of the highest naturally occurring levels of vitamin B12 on the planet—a nutrient that most of us are lacking. So what’s B12’s mood-saving trick? It helps insulate your brain cells, keeping your brain sharp as you age. Mussels also contain the trace nutrients zinc, iodine, and selenium, which keep your mood-regulating thyroid on track.

Mood-Boosting Food #2: Swiss Chard

This leafy green is packed with magnesium—a nutrient essential for the biochemical reactions in the brain that increase your energy levels. A 2009 study in the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry also found that higher magnesium intake was associated with lower depression scores. And Swiss chard isn’t the only way to get your magnesium hit. Spinach, soybeans, and halibut also contain healthy doses of the energy-enhancing nutrient

Mood-Boosting Food #3: Blue Potatoes

Blue potatoes aren’t a common supermarket find, but they’re worth looking out for on your next trip to the farmer’s market. Blue spuds get their color from anthocyanins, powerful antioxidants that provide neuro-protective benefits like bolstering short-term memory and reducing mood-killing inflammation.

Mood-Boosting Food #4: Grass-Fed Beef

Animals raised on grass pastures boast much higher levels of healthy conjugated linoleic acid (or CLA), a “happy” fat that combats stress hormones and blasts belly fat. <—— That is one of the supplements I take, this is good for me, because I really don’t eat meat.  yay. 

Mood-Boosting Food #5: Dark Chocolate

Turns out chocolate’s delicious taste isn’t the only reason it makes you feel so warm and fuzzy. The cocoa treat also gives you an instant boost in mood and concentration, and improves blood flow to your brain, helping you feel more vibrant and energized. Cocoa is the chocolate ingredient that does your body good, so pure dark chocolate is your best bet if you want the mood-boosting benefits minus the extra belly flab. And don’t overdo it.  (or you’ll end up fat and unhappy.  that’s really what he’s saying)

Mood-Boosting Food #6: Greek Yogurt

This dairy pick is packed with more calcium than you’ll find in milk or regular yogurt, which is good news for your mood. Calcium gives your body the “Go!” command, alerting your brain to release feel-good neurotransmitters. As a result, inadequate calcium intake can lead to anxiety, depression, irritability, impaired memory, and slow thinking.   I say unsweetened almond milk for calcium.  45% DV in one cup.  pretty good. 

Mood-Boosting Food #7: Asparagus

Your mom was on to something when she made you finish those green spears at the dinner table. This vegetable is one of the top plant-based sources of tryptophan, which serves as a basis for the creation of serotonin—one of the brain’s primary mood-regulating neurotransmitters. Asparagus also boasts high levels of folate, a nutrient that may fight depression (research shows that up to 50 percent of people with depression suffer from low folate levels).

Mood-Boosting Food #8: Honey

Honey, unlike table sugar, is packed with beneficial compounds like quercetin and kaempferol that reduce inflammation, keeping your brain healthy and warding off depression. Honey also has a less dramatic impact on your blood-sugar levels than regular sugar, so it won’t send your body into fat-storage mode the way the white stuff can.

Mood-Boosting Food #9: Cherry Tomatoes

Tomatoes are a great source of lycopene, an antioxidant that protects your brain and fights depression-causing inflammation. And because lycopene lives in tomato skins, you’ll get more of the stuff if you throw a handful of cherry tomatoes into your next salad instead of slicing up one full-size tomato. And try to go organic whenever possible: Researchers at the University of California-Davis found that organic tomatoes have higher lycopene levels.

Mood-Boosting Food #10: Eggs

Eggs are loaded with mood-promoting omega-3 fatty acids, zinc, B vitamins, and iodide, and because they’re packed with protein, they’ll also keep you full and energized long after you eat them. 

Mood-Boosting Food #11: Coconut

Coconut is chock-full of medium-chain triglycerides, fats that keep your brain healthy and fuel better moods. And although coconut is commonly found in high-calorie desserts, you don’t have to (and shouldn’t) stuff your face with macaroons to get your fix. My suggestion: Try throwing some unsweetened coconut shavings in your oatmeal or yogurt, or toss some in your next healthy smoothie.

pretty interesting stuff, if you ask me.  I am a nerd and find all things food and fitness related and how it works with the body completely and utterly fascinating.  I soak it up.  maybe I need another hobby.

Some other ways to boost the mood, non food related-

1. Hold a baby.  kiss a baby.  get a baby to take a nap.  that’s always a surefire way to boost a mood. 

2. Do something for someone else that makes them happy.  random acts of kindness go a long way for more than the giver.  I like to buy chocolate for my husband.  it’s very convenient that I like chocolate too.

3. Do an activity that makes YOU happy.  If you like to sing – sign up for singing lessons.  If you like to cook, take a cooking class. 

4. Get active.  Most of you that read this are active.  so it’s a no brainer.  but make it a priority to get moving.  it’s good for you. 

5. Put on some makeup, do your hair, change out of the sweatpants and sweatshirt (Katie).  It’s nice to get dressed up sometimes.  even if for no reason. 

6. Buy yourself some flowers.  or go pick some flowers.  not from someone elses yard.  not nice or happy.

There’s lots more…..my brain is done thinking now. 

This has become the worlds longest post.  I apologize.  Now you are probably angry that you have been sitting reading this and don’t have anything to show for it.  I will end it now. in one second.  

I have been tagged (I feel oh so special) by a couple other bloggers in this 11 random things about me (something about the # 11 today.  kinda weird)  That will be coming up.  stay tuned.  I’m also going to try out the creamy avoacado pasta dish again that I tried a couple weeks ago.  stay tuned for that too.  you can be sure Instagram and I will be working together to provide you with some pretty snappy pics of the meal. 

What do you think about those 11 foods?  Do you eat any of them regularly?

What’s the plan for this Friday evening/weekend?

Do you use instagram?  I know I am way behind on this one.  like every other cool thing that comes around.

  

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: How to Friday – how to workout at home….. « msfitrunner

  2. Pingback: Whirlwind Weekend « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

