HAPPY DAY! and mama drama

Standard

Workout8 miles gym treadmill. 1-1.5 incline.  55 minutes.  This was HARD.  with a capital h-a-r-d.  like I just wrote.  I have not been into my running at all.  that’s discussion for another time.  not really sure what that’s about.  I do it though.  because I need to.  I need to because I have signed up for a gazillion races this year.  more like 5 or 6.  and I need to for my mind. 

A couple things hit me – it was probably so hard because I did a dreaded evening workout last night.  It actually wasn’t so bad, except for my run this morning.  Working out at 8pm and then again at 5:30 – tough.  secondly – running is a mental “sport”.  Whether it’s running just to run, or running a race – it takes a significant amount of mental toughness.   in my humble opinion.  100% for sure if you are running a half or full marathon.  again, in my humble opinion.  I don’t care if you are in the best shape of your life – if your mind can’t hack it, you probably will have a pretty tough time. 

It would follow that some of the daily or training runs are more mental training runs than physical training runs.  this is a pretty good thing.  not so fun while your “in it”, but good overall.  I only had 8 miles on my plate for this morning.  I had a hard workout last night, but nothing to go crazy over.  I wanted to throw myself off that treadmill at least 37 times this morning.  I had to keep talking myself through it.  My headphones wouldn’t stay put.  I couldn’t find a comfortable pace.  and I wanted to die.  not literally.  but you’ve gotta STICK IT OUT.  and I did.  and I felt great after.  these are the runs that are fine tuning the mental strength that is needed for ANY kind of run.  don’t give up. 

Ok.  First – THANK YOU for the comments after my post yesterday.  very nice.  made my day.  Second – HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!  from my little ballerinas, to your home. 

Alexandra kept asking me where her v-day present was.  I told her I didn’t have it.  she didn’t believe me.  I said, no really, I don’t have anything for you, ya little crazy.  I am 100% certain that I have not bought you anything.  I love you.  but I don’t have a gift for you (except for the hello kitty shirts I bought in the above picture).  she was kind of dumbfounded.  This is strange for me, to not have anything waiting for them, but before you think I am a terrible mom – I put the hubs in charge of this one.  There is sure to be celebrating later today when daddy gets home and showers them with candy and flowers.  my little cherubs will not go without. 

More biz…This post is half serious, mostly not.  I’m never really too serious.  Unless I’m about to get my period, then I’m all serious and crazy and hormonal.  Little secret – I’m probably a tad hormonal and crazy right now.  not a scary crazy.  just a normal crazy, but bumped up a little on the crazy scale.  that might be the reason for my post from yesterday.  I went a little berzerk.  on myself.  don’t we all sometimes?  maybe not.  my beautiful mom made me feel better by telling me she just read an article saying that a little bit of crazy is normal. and it causes some good reflection and insight.  so that’s what you are getting a little bit of in this post.  she said it was written by a real psychologist.  therefore valid.  I’ll take it.  she’s awesome.  she always has an “article” to explain my crazy away.  Anyway – I’m not giving up on this little blog space of mine.  I like it too much.  I’m sure I’m going to make a liar out of myself and post more than I said I would.  my new balanced goal would be about 3 times a week.  give or take 3 times. 

This is how you can tell I’ve gone a little hormonal, and you can expect it about every 2 weeks –

#1 – I go to Target for NO GOOD REASON.  If you go to Target, you at least need a good reason to go there and spend extra money on things you don’t need.  I certainly could have gone to Stop and Shop (that would be my local grocery store of choice) for dish detergent.  but I thought it was a better idea to drive 25 minutes and get it at Target.  and I found these there.  must have them. 

diapers seem to get thrown in with every purchase.

who eats Mamba’s anymore?  they bring me back to my childhood.  I think my mom always got these for our little easter baskets – but the truth is, she probably got it once and it has stuck in my brain as a most memorable childhood moment, and I must buy them when I see them.   sidenote – for any mom out there buying diapers, the best price I have found is on www.amazon.com/mom.  you get 15% off for subscribe and save and another 15% off for being a mom.  I guess being a mom does have its little perks.  I think I pay $22 for a BIG box of diapers, like over 100.  that’s big. 

I also picked up one of these – one of my wardrobe staples.  I have one in every color, and then some.  the best tanks. 

further exemplifying the flat chestedness. don't be jealous. and the messy closet. got some cleaning to do.

#2 – the zitclops arrives.  more or less in the same spot every month.  that’s a surefire sign that hormones are raging and everyone should be on guard.  nothing is covering up that sucker.  right in the middle of my forehead.  it will grow.  don’t you worry. 

#3 – don’t underestimate my power to devour half a pan of slutty brownies made by yours truly.  I gave the other half of the pan to my madre.  if I’m going to gain 10 pounds eating a pan of brownies, I will make sure someone else is going down with me.  I’m just that kind.  I love you mom.  I did it for you.

 

 

Schedules and life change pretty quickly in Mommy world.  and there is a need to constantly re-adjust. I used to have 30 minutes to think in the middle of the day.  no longer.  that went with the naps.  and that’s ok.  so I readjust and figure out how to make my life work now.  There are at least 597 things to be doing at any given moment.  The trick, for me, is in not feeling like I have to accomplish all 597 things, because then I get overwhelmed and do nothing – silly “all or nothing” mentality.  Focus on 1, or 2 things.  Accomplish just those, and I feel pretty good.  The other 595 can wait.  I can get on with my day.  If nothing extra gets done – that’s ok.  I will pick 1 or 2 more tomorrow.   

I think there are certain “give-ins” that always must happen. for me anyway –

1- my run, or workout.  I count this as “my” time.  gonna happen.

2- laundry – if I don’t stay on top of this everyday, I will definitely lose a child in the pile.

3- love the kidlings.  love the hubs.  I always love them.  but show them I love them by spending time with them.  funny that this one is sometimes the hardest because I have to stop being busy doing other things that I think they need or the house needs, and just be with them.  reading, playing, sitting, talking.  

4- make the meals.  we gotta eat.  I’ve gotta make it. 

There’s definitely more to that everyday list, but that’s the basics.  Then I add “things” to get done to that list.  I can’t add too much, or it won’t get done at all.  the balance is in there somewhere.  finding and keeping it is the fun part. 

I’m going to stop writing now.  Otherwise I might keep getting all reflective and insightful on you people, and you didn’t ask for that kind of punishment.  We’ll save it for another day. 

I do have some fun posts brewing in my head.  fun may not be the word – just makes it sound appealing.  they will just be regular posts, not full of confetti or rainbows or puppies.  but according to me, anything I write is fun.  🙂

Talk to me friends!!   

What’s on tap for Valentine’s Day??  Or do people celebrate early?  or not at all, like me?;-)

What is your favorite kind of candy?  I think my all time favorite would be swedish fish with Mike and Ike’s in a close second. 

How are the workouts going?  anyone have any races coming up that you are training for??

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

14 responses »

  1. I don’t do crowds so we are celebrating V-day on the 17th with reservations at a fancy schmancy place in Chapel Hill, NC (home of our favorite Tarheel basketball team)

    Fav Candy- swedish fish, hot tamales, and cadbury mini eggs

    Workout was derailed by two of my four children getting the stomach flu and a pulled groin muscle during kickboxing class. Went to lunge backwards and my foot slipped and went back a little further than my hip is willing to stretch.

    • Oh no! I almost did a similar thing to my knee the other day when I was doing a reverse lunge – but it was from stepping on a lego and it slid out under me. crazy:-) I am praying the stomach thing stays away. hope everyone feels better!

      • No the stomach bug didn’t stay away and 4 of us got it the same night. Nothing beats puking in a double sink vanity with your son at the other end! He also puked down the stairs while also spilling the vomit bowl (full of vomit) at the same time..it hit the foyer and the leather couch in the living room at the bottom of the stairs…I hadn’t even cleaned up the vomit on the carpet in the kids room yet. So I was cleaning up puke in between my own trips to the bathroom…several trips were derailed when I ran in only to find my husband trying to puke as well…he had stomach surgery several years back which makes it impossible for him to vomit so it was pretty violent for his 6 and a half feet tall body to try to dry heave. And YES the 1 year was still awake and just wandering around the house wailing for someone to put him to bed. It was like a war zone. I have found TWO positives in all this….my house is VERY sanitized now…why YES you CAN bleach a leather couch…..AND I have had two lovely days of recovering from my groin muscle. AT least that is what I am telling myself.

  2. First of all, my favorite thing about this post is the photo of your zit in Instagram. Makes it so much more glamourous :). Secondly, it is really hard for me to pick a favorite candy, but I guess I would have to go with Kit Kat bites. Yes, I realize that they stopped making them a few years ago (very sad day for me), but maybe husband buys Kit Kats for me and cuts them into bites. Who needs V day with year-round love like that?

  3. I’ve never been big on Valentine’s Day. We did exchange a few small gifts, but that’s about it.
    I also love those tanks from Target. I have 3 and would like to get a few more. They’re just so comfortable! My favorite candy use to be tootsie rolls or candy corn, but I don’t care for them now. I’d have to say york peppermint patties are my fav. (My 6yr. old loves Mike & Ike’s.)
    My next scheduled race is a half on 4/28.

  4. It was nice seeing a post from you in my reader! I’m glad you are going to keep blogging. You are so inspirational to me and I love your randomness 🙂

    Favorite kind of candy is anything chocolate! Got lots of reese’s hearts for V-Day 🙂

TALK TO ME:-)

