Chia Talk and Avocados

Standard

Workout – gym treadmill speedwork.  as always, this is one of my favorite runs.  7 miles total (not the plan), 45.5 minutes.  1 mile warmup at 7:13 pace, 4 x 1 mile @ 6:00 pace,  1/2 mile recovery jogs @ 7:13 pace.   My plan was to do 9 miles total, with 5 mile repeats at that pace.  My stomach went wonky at 6.75 miles, I held it in for dear life and all those around me until I hit 7 miles and bolted to the bathroom.  I wanted to get back and finish the last 1 speed mile and cooldown, but time wouldn’t have it.  had to get home to start the morning mayhem.  I was bummed because I have done 4 x 1 mile at that pace, and it’s fine.  I can do it.  I really wanted to take it up a notch and add another mile.  So I kind of felt like I didn’t accomplish much with this speedwork because it was kind of been there done that.  but it was work.  It was still a good run today and I will for sure do the 5 next week.    

Luke got a little beat up in the morning mayhem.  my baby wanted to see which was harder – the step or his head.  darling shade of green and blue right now. 

he was more than happy to show off his battle wounds

I almost took a sweaty post run gym picture because I felt like you needed to see one, but I spared you.  Instead, I took a greasy haired pre-hairdresser photo.  this is the not washed in 3 days look.  super sexy.  my husband just loves it.  sorry super nice hairdresser that you had to touch my greasy locks.   

This was a nice suprise – I knew I had made the hair appt, but it wasn’t in my calendar and I couldn’t remember when it was for.  I’m super organized with my life.  I swore I put it right into the calendar on my phone.  I blame technology for erasing it.  anway, I got the reminder phone call yesterday that my appt was today.  yay for me.  one step closer to blonde.  I am a better person when I am blonde.  on the top of the necessity list.  this month.   

Lets talk chia.  then avocado.  but chia first.    

I think it’s funny that this was something people bought, grew, and made money off of.  really?  and now we eat it because it is the greatest thing since sliced bread.  Naturally, I bought some chia seeds because I want to love anything that is healthy.  fitness is 80%  nutrition, right.  and nutrition is a big part of running health.  I think.  but I didn’t like them.  I tried them on my salad.  I didn’t know what else to do with them.  I really wanted to love them.  I was sad they weren’t fitting into my daily diet.  Good thing I don’t take after my mom in that she goes and buys bulk amounts of things that are supposedly healthy, then tries them.  not a good idea.  I recently inherited a bag of nutritional yeast because I told her I heard it was good stuff.  I never tried it.  she didn’t like it.  now it’s mine.  I haven’t figured that one out yet, story for another day. 

I had been reading that you can soak chia seeds and they become gel like.  I thought that was completely weird. but decided to finally give it a try.  what a great little snack!!!  so glad I tried it.  it’s like chia pudding.  it doesn’t look like shrek, but it tasted great.  You can add whatever you want.  The first time I did it, I added a touch of truvia, a scosh of chocolate protein powder and a splash of almond milk and almond extract.  soak.  eat.  I don’t have a picture of that, but the second time I tried it just in plain greek yogurt, with a little truvia and almond extract.  so good.  so healthy.   

I also put it in my oatmeal.  another keeper.  I think the possibilities are endless.  here’s how it works:  2 parts liquid to 1 part Chia.  and then the add ins.  add a little more liquid if you have more add ins, like flax (that would give you a crazy amount of fiber and omega’s), protein powder, coconut.  It’s like vegan pudding.  mix it up!  I also was thinking you could add any other sweetener like honey, agave, whatever floats your boat.  Pumpkin and cinnamon sounds like it would be pretty tasty too.  get creative.  my creativity doesn’t go very far. 

I found some more info for you on chia seeds.  or skip it on over if you are bored to death of reading about chia seeds. 

Read the whole article HERE 

They are an excellent source of fiber and antioxidants, a good source of calcium, a good source of plant based protein and an excellent source of the plant derived omega 3 fatty acid (alpha-linolenic acid) ALA similar to walnuts and flax. As with any nut or seed, they are low in saturated fat and contain no cholesterol, but like all nuts and seeds they are more calorie dense, 139 calories per ounce, so it is important to watch serving sizes and consume in moderation.

I like me some fiber!  Bring it on Chia seeds

When chia seeds are combined with liquid (like water, milk, juice or yogurt), they form a gel due to the soluble fiber that they contain. This may have some benefit in terms of weight loss (although the research in this area is scant) by helping you feel fuller longer and also by delaying the increase in blood sugar of foods that you consume which contain chia seeds.

 Muy interesante.  Like pudding. 

As with almost all foods, to get the most health benefits, chia seeds are best consumed in their whole state rather than consuming them as an oil or supplement (grinding them is ok too since it retains all the components of the seed). If you want to give them a try as part of your healthy eating regimen, they work well as a yogurt or oatmeal topping, tossed into a smoothie, or used as a binder and healthy fat in baked goods (particularly vegan or gluten free baking).

Almost done here – but you must make this meal.  I’m not going to say anymore about it other than give you the ingredients.  You are responsible for putting it together and enjoying every last bite.  like most recipes – this has lots of room for change and creativity.  the first time I made it, I posted HERE and it from THIS BLOG.  I didn’t like it the first time because of the pasta I used.  I changed the pasta and it’s an amazing dish. 

Creamy Avocado Pasta

Creamy Avocado Part: (slightly adapted from original recipe) for 1 lb of pasta

In Food processor – blend a lot of garlic (I like garlic), juice from 2 lemons, 1/4 to 1/3 cup olive oil.  add in flesh from 2 avocados, and handful of fresh basil (optional).  add oil as needed.  this would also be a great dip or spread for a sandwich.  so versatile.  so healthy. 

Boil any type of pasta – brown rice pasta or barilla plus pasta is really good.  Toss with the avocado cream sauce. 

I added in grape tomatoes.  I also added in sauteed cannelini beans with frozen peas this last time.  so good. 

 

cannelini and peas. you could also add in chicken, shrimp. possibilities are endless.

That’s about it. 

This bowl full of goodness helped us make it through the second Twilight movie. 

My husband said it might be the worst movie we’ve seen.  I might agree.  debatable.  but possible. 

Do you like Chia seeds?  Have you found any good uses for them? 

What is your favorite ice cream flavor?  mint chocolate chip.   

Have you ever done “speed work” for running?  I don’t know why I find that term so funny.  speed work.   

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

14 responses »

  1. Mmmm!! Wish I had me some of that ice cream sundae right about now! Delicious! I recently tried chia seeds & I’m a fan. I’m hooked on plain Greek yogurt, with red grapes, chia seeds and vanilla stevia sweetener, so good!

    • I’ve been doing the plain greek yogurt with chia, sweetener and almond extract too, very good! I didn’t eat dairy for a long time, but was just having a hard time with protein intake, especially not eating meat. so now I enjoy a plain greek a few times a week:-) It’s more the crazy amount of sugar in regular yogurt and dairy that I don’t like. THanks for commenting! Have a great weekend!!!

  2. Chia seeds are great – once you learn to how to hide them in yummy foods …lol.
    I am the same with Twilight – its so stupid, but I still cant stop watching it. I just wanted to let you know I read your blog and I am soooo impressed. I am training for my first marathon, have only two little(ish) kids and a part time job…but boy oh boy, time management definitely is an issue. The most amazing thing is, that you always look pretty good on your pics – how the hell do you manage????????Have a nice weekend, Katerina

    • Hi Katerina! Thank you for commenting! “only 2 kids and a part time job”?!?! There is no “only”, that’s a lot to handle! It’s tough training with any amount of kids, and any amount of work. I don’t know how I could do it if I had to work. It would be tough. Good for you for going for the marathon! When is it? Marathon training definitely takes a lot of planning and time. THe nice thing about the pics, is I get to choose which ones go up;-) I don’t look that great most of the time. getting a shower is a tough thing around here! somehow it happens;-) Thanks for reading, have a GREAT weekend!!!

  3. I love chia seeds! I put them in my oatmeal and cereal. I’ve made chia pudding (recipe from Oh She Glows), but wasn’t too fond of it.
    My husband and I use to eat ice cream several times a week, but finally broke the habit. I rarely eat it now. But I tend to go for anything with chocolate……chocolate fudge, chocolate brownie, chocolate marshmellow. My daughters could live off the stuff!
    Gotta love speedwork. I use smartcoach when training which incorporates one day of speedwork or a tempo run. I don’t love it, but know that it’s necessary in order to get faster!

    • During all of my pregnancies, the thought of ice cream made me sick to my stomach, so I never crave it or sit and eat a bowl. I will make it for my hubs though and sneak bites of off his:-) The same thing happened with chocolate too, and I was worried I would never be able to eat chocolate again! THank goodness I regained my taste for it! My speedwork plans are from smartcoach, too. It nice knowing what to do.

  4. oh my your little guys bump is scary looking! kids are so durable.

    never had a chia seed, they weird me out. don’t be so hard on yourself about your workout, even if you didn’t get that 5th repeat in you still pumped out 4 6:00 miles which is fairly impressive my dear! I would say out of all of the speed workouts I do, maybe 25% of them go as planned…and that is being generous to myself. keep pumping out those miles with a smile!

    • That bump would be scarier if I hadn’t already seen a ton of them from the other 2! They are no fun to look at though! You should give the chia seeds a try – definitely weird, but kind of fun to play with;-) I agree with the 25% too, these days it’s more like 25% of all of my runs! 🙂 as long as I get something in, I’m a happy girl.

    • I think it’s easier to do speedwork like that on the treadmill – it would be harder to make my legs move that fast on the road, but hopefully the treadmill will help! You should try soaking the chia – very interesting!!

  5. I would like to do some “track type” speedwork on the treadmill. I would much rather do it on the actual track but when I’m strapped for time in the morning before work I would like to have that option!

    I LOVE chia seeds! I put them in my chobani greek yogurt, and sprinkle it on my peanut butter toast. Haven’t tried it in oatmeal yet.

  6. Pingback: Got Bleach? « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

