Long Run Double

Standard

Workout – I have no plans to run.  If it happens, that’s great.  if it doesn’t, that’s probably better because I’m already showered and since I got my hair done, I can’t wash it for another 3 days.  my rule.  color preservation at it’s finest. 

I cut these silly long bangs everytime and have no ability to make them look nice. they end up pissing me off and getting pinned back. done.

After being up all night with the sicklings, I knew I had to get in the shower and dressed before the little germs attacked.  Then I slipped back into my Saturday best; sweats.  In true Saturday fashion.  And look at that.  I finally cleaned that mirror.  closet still needs a little TLC. 

lots of cleaning today. I think I'm physically incapable of cleaning unless I'm in old sweatpants and a sweatshirt.

 
___________________________________

Does it still count as a long run, even if it’s broken in two?  I don’t know how it happened, but somewhere between a couple of sick kids and a crazy 2 year old – I got my 19 miles in yesterday.  I started the morning off with 10 flat, horrible treadmill miles.  and ended the day with 9 hilly outside miles.  I wouldn’t say they were miserable, but they weren’t chocolate covered kisses either.  running at the end of the day is never comfortable for me.  inevitably, I have eaten or had something to drink that completely settles in the wrong spot and leaves me with giant stabbing gas pains the whole run.  not pleasant.  BUT, I was very pleasantly surprised at how good the pacing was. 

My garmin was dead 😦  atrocity, I know.  It wasn’t charged.  and I was kind of happy about it.  I just wanted to get the miles done, and not care about the pace.  who am I kidding, I always care about the pace.  I figured it out the old pre-garmin way.  I looked at the clock and ran out the door.  ran back in the door and looked at the clock again.   I have ZERO idea of what my pace is like without my gps.  ZERO.  it’s bad, my garmin dependancy.  pretty sure there are worse things to be dependant on.  I felt like I was running horribly slow, but turns out I held a 7:08 pace without my trusty sidekick.  I double checked my math because I had to slow down so much at the end or else I felt like my stomach was going to explode. 

It was so good to get outside.  I needed this run.  It was physically uncomfortable, but my running body felt great.  I needed the confidence boost because I have been doing so much pretty flat treadmill running.  I was getting nervous that I had lost all ability to successfully run outside.  confidence boosted.  happy times. 

I have a great new speed workout that I did yesterday, too – sprinting across the house trying to get to 2 puking children before they plaster the walls.  That is a good one.  followed by going up and down the stairs countless times doing laundry.  now it’s the waiting game for #3 to join in with them.  or worse yet, for me to get it.  really just a matter of time.  this is what the aftermath of midnight baths and puke fest looks like – crazy hair.   

This one has yet to be touched.  by the stomach bug.  there is clearly something else not right there. 

he might have been singing Taylor Swift’s “Mean”

 

I went to the store to get the sickies gingerale after my run, and these ended up in my hands.  hmmmm. 

 

I was ravenous for sugar. 

what better way to satisy that cravng than processed, chewy gooey good for you red fish.  natural fructose filled apples are overrated.  I never buy these little fishies.  I love them.  but I never buy them.  I love them even more when they are the perfect chewiness.  You swedish fish lovers know what I’m talking about.  nothing worse than an overly chewy bag of swedish fish.  pure letdown.  I used to keep them as a staple in my pantry.  I think that was worse than my garmin dependancy.  last night they eased the pain of endless amounts of laundry and an up all night pukey party.  I got a couple of other completely bad for you indulgences. 

I didn’t even want to eat the ice cream.  I think I keep trying to convince myself that I really like ice cream.  I really don’t like it. or crave it.  just stop buying it.  seriously.  frozen yogurt I could do.  just not really into ice cream.  put it down and walk away, Katie.

Let’s talk more about the run.  and why I really enjoyed it.

1- I really liked splitting it up.  I didn’t have to worry about hydration or food.  I had my water bottle with me on the treadmill.  That was hot.  and I don’t need food for 10 miles.  The 9 miles were outside in 40 something degree weather.  I don’t need to carry water or food for that either.  sweet. 

2- I really don’t enjoy the 20 mile long run.  and that doesn’t make me a bad person.  or a bad runner.  I think my long run enjoyment ends at around the 14-16 mile range.  I don’t think splitting it up everytime is a good idea.  I don’t think you can run the marathon in two, 13.1 mile increments.  last time I checked that’s not how it works.  but splitting it was good for yesterday. 

3- I wore my Kinvaras.  I just love them.  and I ended up wearing the really old pair.  oops.  that’s what I get for buying identical pairs and not marking which ones are the old old ones and which ones are now just old.  that’s my superstellar organizational skills.  good thing Kinvara and I are so in tune, I definitely left the new old ones sitting by the door.  I can tell with just a look.  we’re tight.  

4- The hills.  love them.  they are GREAT training.  they for sure 100% make you a better, stronger runner.  It just makes sense.  it was nice to get re-acquainted with the local hills. 

A couple thoughts. 

1- I have had some pretty crappy, uncomfortable, not the way I planned it kind of runs lately.  but I keep going.  and keep running.  There really was not a part of me that wanted to go back out and run 9 miles.  ok.  maybe a little part of me was really looking forward to it.  but for the majority of the past 2 weeks, it would have been much easier to put the kabosh on my runs.  just not into it.  but I have goals.  keep thinking about your goals.  and let them make you keep going. 

2- Don’t make excuses.  I’m not kidding when I say I had HORRIBLE abdominal pain for the ENTIRE 9 miles.  I ran a loop around my house.  I could have easily dropped back home and called it after 4 or so.  or I could have hopped in the car with the hubs because he was leapfrogging/stalking me for most of the run (that would just mean I’m home sooner to sickly children.  no thanks) That doesn’t get me to where I want to be.  I know my body, and I know that I was very uncomfortable, but it wasn’t going to kill me.  or injure me in the long run.  I think sometimes we default to easy excuses to let us have a pass on things.  don’t do it.  It’s not productive.  suck it up and keep moving.  are you a winner or a whiner.  I stole that from my neighbor.  not a Katie original.

3- Just run.  I think it’s also easy to limit ourselves to a certain “pace”.  by saying things like “oh, I’m not an 8 minute mile runner.”  or, “I could never run that far for that pace.”  why?!?!  make it happen.  you may not be an 8 minute or 7 minute mile runner this exact moment.  but you won’t know if you don’t try.  and you won’t ever be if you don’t try.  I had never consistently run a sub 7 minute mile.  but I did it last year for a half marathon.  for the first time.  13.1 miles.  do it.  don’t put yourself in a box.  besides that being entirely uncomfortable and weird, unless you are a 2 year old – you’ll miss out on a lot.

Leave the excuses at home and get out there.  I’m not talking the I’m severely injured and I can’t run excuse.  that’s not really an excuse. that’s a problem.  I’m talking the silly excuses that you know probably aren’t super valid reasons not to get your booty moving.  like gas pains.  move it.  🙂

What kinds of excuses sometimes keep you from running or working out?

Do you run with a gps watch, or just run on feel?

What’s up for this Saturday?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

8 responses »

  1. Love the post! I am trying to become a faster runner… and your blog has been great for me to read. You are fast!! I am hoping to get there soon, so each day I am just going a little bit faster/harder. I guess Nike nailed it with the slogan “Just Do It.”

  2. I definitely split runs up – well now that I have kids! Sometimes you just have to in order to get it done. These days most of my long runs involve a nursing break. Ah, I think back to leisure of my pre-kid days – running whenever I wanted, wherever (drive time didn’t matter) and the luxurious eating and movie watching after the long runs. But now I am faster and more efficient, so I can’t complain (well, and I love my kids :).
    Love the part of your post about not staying in your box. Hoping to break out of mine pace wise this year! Thanks for the motivation.

  3. Would you feel better if you knew someone went through the same puking and washing torture? Was not funny because my 4 year old started puking after an evening tempo run and I started puking after a long jog…not pretty.
    Hope you dont catch it….you are my new motivation guru :-)…I am going to hop on the hometrainer and make up for my today run (excuse: it was cold and raining)

  4. aww I am in love with your new hair color=soooooo pretty!!!
    I run random trails and loops so I like to have a garmin with me…but when I’m not training for a peak race and just staying in shape I’ll go out and run for time.
    I hope you’ve been having a great weekend and that your lil guys are feeling much better!!
    xoxo!

TALK TO ME:-)

