Candles Galore

Standard

Here’s something I’m really good at – completely psyching myself out for races that I never really planned on doing in the first place and were a total last minute thought.  I go from I don’t really care how I do I want to PR, to If I don’t win this race, I am never running again, to why the hell am I signed up for this hilly race?!?!  oh right.  it was $12.  I couldn’t resist such a deal.  and here’s some more of my stellar logic – let me refresh your memory with the diagram below:

CT14831_Elevation_Map

No matter how you shake it, those are hills.  However, here is my mind making those “rolling hills” disappear– oh, katie, they just made the map look horribly hilly by the way they spaced out the numbers on the axis (is that what they are called???  I think I am remembering correctly from 9th grade math).  In reality, it’s an entirely downhill race from start to finish.  It’ll be cake.  I go a little nutty the week before any race.  tomorrow I will have happy thoughts.  Wednesday I will be frantic.  normal.   

Here’s my plan to get through the week, and feel fresh on Saturday – take it easy with the running.  Do a little strength training.  Which, by the way, I have been VERY good at getting in.  I think I did 5 days last week.  high five.  I will do one speed/tempo run probably tomorrow.  Light ‘n easy on Thursday and probably rest on Friday.  that’s the plan. 

Wherever my crazy little mind is at the moment, you can be sure I will keep you apprised of the weather situation.  Here’s the forecast as of yesterday, for Saturday (I think today we are up to 44 degree high!):

iphone pics 287

Again – tech master Katie had to take a picture of the screen.  Don’t know how to do it any other way. High of 40, race starts at 10am.  Should be bearable.  

 

It’s february vacay week my friends.  It’s one on three for me.  Me and my three kiddos.  All week.  Glorious.  It actually is really nice not having a schedule to be held to.  and on the flip side, it’s somewhat like groundhog day not having a schedule to be held to with these little pets.

Little recap of yesterday – I will be honest – I was a little nervous for Monday.  Day one of staycation.  For one, it’s Monday.  that’s that.  #Two,  it’s vacation = no activities goin’ on.  Three, I didn’t get to workout yesterday morning.  going into the week negative lots of endorphins.  scary place to be.  That’s a Triple threat.  It all turned out great.  Monday + Vacation + No workout = didn’t kill me.  

Day one down – we went candle hunting at Yankee Candle Factory.  I met up with my VT BF because it’s the halfway point.  we figured it would be fun to let the little kidlings play with hot wax. 

iphone pics 288 

Ready to go!

 

and then tear a restaurant apart for lunch.  at that point we were 2 on 4.  still outnumbered.  Only one waterspill and more of our food stayed on the table than the floor – I call it a success.   

 

iphone pics 291

Girls only picture.  Luke wasn’t cool enough.  I’m surprised I got him in the highchair in the first place.  getting him out for a photo op would just be stupid.  I got a great Cobb Salad for lunch, and actually got to eat it.  They don’t skimp on the avocado.  There was a whole one on there.  talk about exciting.

iphone pics 292

That avocado kinda looks like green ice cream scoops.  yum. 

I’m really not a candle person. they are more of a necessity considering we had about 15 days without power last fall between 2 different storms.  The girls started playing “power outtage” instead of house.  and when a light flickered they would look at me panic stricken asking if we were losing power.  traumatic.  always have a candle handy.  turns out my girls aren’t so much candle people either.  they were determined to leave with a candle, but could not for the life of them find one that didn’t make them look like they were going to vomit.  We made it outta there with all children in one piece and some hand dipped candles.  Looks like the girls were in a peace, love and dragonfly mood. 

iphone pics 293

I stayed up entirely too late last night.  Got sucked into watching “the Voice”.  Totally entertained me.  And I started to watch SMASH, but was way past my bedtime and I was having a hard time concentrating.  I was torn between going to bed and really wanting to like the show.  So I did neither and further fueled my race anxiety by staring intently at the above elevation map of my impending half marathon. trying hard to make the hills disappear.  we’ll find out on Saturday if it worked.

half marathon nightmares ensued and we are starting day 2 of VACATION!  Yipppeeee!!!  Off to find something fun and exciting to do with these chickadees.  chat later friends!

 

Do you watch the Voice?

Do your nerves get to you the week before a race? 

  Do you like candles? I like candles, but more aromatherapy type candles. not the really artificial smelling ones.  if that makes any sense. 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. Soy all the way !!! Only way to go with candles- when will Yankee Candle get on the Soy train?? And GREAT pic of Tara and the delightfuls….precious 😉

    • I don’t completely get it either – I’ve never really seen any episodes past the blind auditions. I would like to try to watch it this season. we’ll see. there are a lot of shows I want to watch and it doesn’t happen! I will be thinking about you with your upcoming move!

  2. I am candle CRAZY!! I love to burn them. I burn them out so fast! 😦 I wouldn’t be able to resist a $12 race either!! But yes, I get very jittery. I don’t even sleep very well the night before!

    • I think one reason that I don’t love candles is because they are kind of expensive and there are other things I would rather buy, than something I’m just going to burn! weird. But, I do enjoy them when they are burning. I can never sleep the night before ANY length race!

  3. I do enjoy burning candles. I’m acutally out of them……need to restock.
    I get extremely nervous before my races. My husband always makes fun of me. It’s not like I’m going to win or anything. I think I just put too much pressure on myself to get the “perfect” race time. Don’t psych yourself out. It looks like your well prepared.

  4. I lurve candles! I am burning this one in my house now from B&B works – I think it’s called spiced apple toddy or something like that but it smells amazing!

    I love squeezing in strength whenever possible. At least 2x a week. Also love getting in an early morning run before my 9 to 5 during the week. It keeps me sane. Plus I get to watch the sun rise! But I agree, getting in quality strength workouts as well as cross training is so key to a happy running life!

  5. Have never seen the voice. Embaressingly enough the only thing I’m watching on a regular basis is the Bachelor. Not good!
    I definitely get nervous before races but not until the night before. Glad to know I’m not the only one who has trouble sleeping but ugh it drives me crazy!
    My favorite candle is the one they burn in anthropologie – I think it’s called Capri ? Love for my house to smell like my favorite store :).

TALK TO ME:-)

