New Kicks

Standard

Workout – Tuesdays workout – stairmaster intervals:  13 minutes, level 20 + strength exercises, repeat 4 times.  9 miles on the master.  was a good one. 

I should expect nothing less from my faithful 5 year old used ebay stairmaster.  I’m sticking to my plan for the week and taking it easy with the running legs.  I will run wednesday and Thursday.  *update – ran 6 miles today on gym treadmill.  40 minutes. (I started writing this post yesterday, hence all of the talk about tuesday’s happenings) done and done.  until tomorrow.  That is all.

 

iphone pics 294

I actually tried this new thing today, I stretched after the workout – heard it’s really good for you. I’ll let you know how it goes. that’s why I’m barefoot.  because I’m sure you were looking at my naked feet. I might even foam roll tonight.  that’s procrastination at its finest.  I haven’t touched the roller in a good month because my knee has been feeling great (doesn’t make sense, I know, all about prevention yadda yadda) – race in 3 days…no time like the present.    

Staycation day 2.  we survived. 

And boy did we stay yesterday.  It took me until 11:30 to get my act together to get to the grocery store.  and I don’t even think I showered.  I’m pretty sure I didn’t get a shower because I left the house looking like this…

iphone pics 298

yes, that is a new sweatshirt – so cozy.  I have replaced the red one for now.  nothing like a running warehouse almost freebee.  I’ll take it thank you very much. 

 

I was moving (and thinking) like molasses yesterday.  can’t. get. going.  it was one of those horribly long days where I had to think really hard how the day started.  I finally remembered it started at 5 am and wanted to forget that part.  thought harder as to whether or not the workout I did was that morning or the day before.  I almost had myself convinced I didn’t workout. 

Luke put “his own” shoes on as I was getting ready to put him in the car.  He just prefers pink and sparkly.  that’s what older sisters will do to a boy.  for now.  he was NOT happy when I took them off.  but I forgot to put his own on.  shoeless boy at the grocery store. 

iphone pics 299

Some fun things I got at the store.  I don’t know why I say “fun”.  They really aren’t fun.  Nothing in my mind is fun about the grocery store.  I really just try to get out of there without one of the kids knocking over those ridiculous displays they keep all over the place.  It’s not fun having to pick up 800 different gift cards.  been there.  I digress.  here are the “fun” items.   

#1- Kashi Bars.  I have had some of these kinds of bars, and I like them.  These actually did look like “fun”, rolled in whatever they are rolled in.  sucker for marketing.  

iphone pics 300

But, they are made with soy protein.  the devil in my world.  sad.  Soy and thyroid probs don’t mix well.  And most tasty bars like this are made with soy protein.  most of the ones I find tasty anyway.  My favorites are the ThinkThin bars.  Those are soy protein too.  double sad face.  I try not to have more than 1 or 2 a week.  even that stresses me out a little. 

#2- Quorn Chicken patty things.  Not the official name.  very weird food substance.  I have a hard time eating these kinds of things.  I think I would just rather eat organic chicken.  especially for the price. 

iphone pics 301

$3.99 on sale for 4 of those weird little non chicken, chickens.  The first ingredient is mycoprotein.  or something.  don’t know what that is.  but I know it doesn’t grow in my would be garden if I had a green thumb, and it’s not some sort of wild animal.  I wouldn’t say they tasted bad.  But I definitely won’t buy them again.   

Nuff said about fun and weird sale food products.  Onto really fun things like sneakers!  I’m coming to terms with the fact that I think I have crossed the line into preferring to shop for active wear clothes over regular clothes.  I certainly wear them more often.  I’m trying to keep the balance.  not easy.  stretchy, elastic clothes speak to me. 

These are from my little online shopping extravaganza last week when the kids were home being pukey. 

First pair:

iphone pics 295

I’ve been wanting to try these.  they happened to be on sale.  Nike Lunaracer.  and they will be going back to their home at Running Warehouse.  The only thing I liked about these were the shoelaces.  I wanted to keep them for the pair of shoes I’m keeping.  I’ll do the right thing and just go buy some pink ones.  I didn’t even have to do a test run on these.  nothing felt right. 

Second pair:

iphone pics 296

My baby Kinvaras.  I was due for a new pair.  These just feel like home for my feet.  My precious little big size 10 feet were so happy to slip into these babies.  I keep saying I am going to start training with a more substantial shoe. (the kinvaras are very light, under 7 oz., I think).  but, I keep coming back to these because we belong together.

Instead of trying to talk myself into a sturdier shoe – why not just stick with what is working, kinvaras, and think about racing with a lighter shoe?  I’ve never worn a racing flat.  It might be time to try.  I don’t know how to do this.  what constitutes a racing flat?  do you do any training in the racing flat?  or just slip them on on race day and hope all goes well?  I will have to use google and find some answers.  The shoe that I think I would like to try would probably be this,

Saucony-Grid-Type-A5-Shoes-for-Women-in-White-Purple-Black 

Saucony Grid Type A5 Women’s Shoes

or this,

mizuno 

Mizuno Wave Musha 4 Women’s Shoes

I would love to hear any input about racing flats for marathons that you lovely people have had good luck with! 

I wasn’t completely selfish with my running purchases.  I picked up a trail shoe for the hubs.  these were on sale and got good reviews.  the only thing I didn’t realize was that there is actually quite a bit of purple on them. 

iphone pics 297

it’s fine.  he’s pretty secure.  he can rock a purple and green shoe.  He does mostly trail running and hasn’t tried these out yet, but hopefully they will work great. 

Staycation Day 3 is well underway and we are keeping busy.  Playgroups, birthday parties and all around good times are keeping this day alive and well.  Stay tuned for more staycation fun tomorrow.  peace out peeps. 

ps – hubs and I are all caught up with Twilight series.  I am very disappointed that I will never get that time back.  disclaimer – this is not a judgment on those of you that are all aboard the Twilight wagon.  I’m getting off here.  and I wish I never got on.  I’m all about cheesy romantic lovey dovey movies.  not these ones.  #4 was probably the worst one yet.  I don’t know how we made it through alive – it sealed the deal as worst movie when she decided to name vampire baby “renesme”.  that’s right.  my apologies to those of you with a child named “renesme”, again, no judgment.  wouldn’t be my top pick.  

 

Who’s running today?  Good run?  Bad run?  Take it or leave it run?

Talk to me about racing flats, those of you who are in the know?

What sneakers are you sporting now?  Do you need any sort of extra special support in a shoe?

Do you like the different kinds of non-meat, meat?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

3 responses »

  1. Sweet shoes! I ran today, and it’s like spring here in TX. Hot and windy. It was a lunchtime run though so probably why it felt so warm…highs are in the 80s today! Otherwise it was a beautiful run 🙂

    I like racing flats, my faves are the Newton Distance racers. They have magical powers.

    For training I have been running in the Nike Frees, but I go back and forth between those and Asics. My favorite shoes right now though are my Newtons – I ran two marathons & a bunch of small races in the last ones so it’s time for a new pair.

  2. I got in a beautiful outdoor run today until it started raining. Since I had a 5 month old in the BOB I did the right thing and cut it a little short. With the hills and stroller pushing, I called it good.
    I know nothing about racing flats but those gold yellow ones look super cool :).
    Do not really like non meat meat but I looove black bean burgers with avocado on top!

  3. I did run outside yesterday morning. It was a great run! I haven’t run outside in a while.
    (I don’t know a thing about racing flats). I prefer a lighter shoe with lots of cushion. Right now I have Brooks Summons. My last three pair have been Saucony. I love the look of those Kinvaras, but have never gotten them.
    I do like non-meat meat. I used to buy Boca burgers all the time. Now I try to make my own veggie or bean burgers. I also like tofu and tempeh. I have tried the Quorn crumbles. I actually liked them. It resembled ground beef. I have never tried the Quorn Chicken.

TALK TO ME:-)

