Take it Easy

Standard

Workout – 7.5 EASY miles on the gym treadmill.  Flat, 7:45-8:00 pace.  nice.  I hit the 8 minute mile and didn’t combust.  Or have an anxiety attack that my legs would get too comfortable there and never come back to the 7 minute mile.  My shins were oh so happy with me.  This was fun. 

At the risk of sounding dense and slow and way behind the 8 ball – I have finally figured the “easy” running thing out.  I know.  It has taken me a long time, it’s just the way it goes with me.  I always think I can do something better my way, but the truth is, the best way might be the way it’s already being done.  The way the training plan is telling me to do it.  It goes something like this in my head – ignoring the wisdom and experience from those that have done it – if you want to get faster and stronger, than EVERY SINGLE RUN must be fast(er) and really hard.  NO!!!!!  This is not true.  But, it took me awhile, a long while, to trust that.  I’m trusting now.  I’m running an 8 minute mile on the easy, and it’s good.  The “take it easy” runs are for just that reason.  Take it easy peasy.  lemon squeezy.  Not “take it easy, but kind of hard with a little bit of struggle” easy.  Not “take it easy for a mile and then kill it for the rest of the run” easy.  Take it easy all the way through.  And THEN – work it HARD on the WORK days, the speed days, the tempos and hills and fartleks (I still don’t like that word)  Take it easy.  Then I will have the power and strength and energy to push it hard 100% on the hard days instead of 80 or 90%.  My hope would be that eventually the easier end of my “hard” would be 100% easy.  Follow that?  Simply put, hopefully my fast gets faster and my easy gets faster.  Generally, if you are following a race plan, you are aiming to get better at the race or whatever distance run you are doing or pace you are at.  Right?  Runners who run in races tend to want to get better.  I’ve never heard a runner say “I hope I slow down by 3 minutes this year”.  On that note, the runs can’t ALL be easy.  Make sure your HARD days are HARD.  PUSH it.  Make it hurt.  In a good happy way.  No broken bones, pulled muscles, or stress fractures.  I’m sure all of you are very intelligent and came to understand this principle long ago.  I just joined the party.  I still get a little tense with the really easy runs like today, but I’m learning to let go, and follow along. 

Moving right along. 

No matter how crappy your day or night was last night- rest assured it couldn’t have been any worse than this little lady’s….

iphone pics 399

Not sure what went on, but looks like it was a crazy night in Alex land.  The hair tells it all.  Along with every pattern represented in the little ensemble.  And no, she’s not the birthday girl.  She was, but is no longer.  Not until October. 

Let me share my new Lulu purchase.  Wore it today.  Love it.  It’s like a glorified ratty old Target sweatshirt – for the mom that wants to be comfortable, but not look like a hobo.    

iphone pics 400

I’m not sure what the technical name is for that sweatshirt.  I just call it absolutely wonderful, you were made for me.  Underneath is the cool racerback tank – amazing.  In long length.  My love for them grows.  Good thing I have a birthday coming up.  And I celebrate it all month long.  Which means I have plans to be “celebrating” there plenty 🙂

Anna was begging to go back to Lululemon today.  I have no idea why.  She really didn’t enjoy herself when we were there on Saturday.  But, I do know that ever since I went in there the first time, I just want to go back for more.  Maybe they put something in the air – making you crave their clothing.  The clothes do smell suspiciously wonderful.  Anyway, I sadly had to turn her down to do responsible adult things – like shop at other stores called the Gap.  I blame that on my mom too – she forced me to go and get seriously good deals on clearance items clean and cook and take care of the kidlings.  They need love and attention to grow.  And sometimes food. 

I did make a completely understated but delicious lunch today.  This was after my salmon burger and green smoothie.  I guess I was hungry.  This was one of those fun little treats where I expected nothing exciting from it as far as taste, I was just trying to get some good nutrition going – I was wrong.  This was so simple and so tasty! 

  iphone pics 401

whole wheat wrap, sliced red pepper, roasted garlic hummus, 1/2 avocado, little bit ‘o salt and pepper.  nothing fancy.  totally enjoyable.  totally healhty.  totally easy.  try it. 

 

I didn’t have time to pull all of the things from Runner’s World that I liked reading about (because I just spent far too much time googling and looking online for racing flats)  Most of the articles that peaked my interest require more in depth conversation for another day.  I don’t have the attention span right now to sit and write out a well thought and intelligent post (hence, the spastic all over the place, choppy post), I’m going to share just one little tidbit that I think I am going to try tomorrow.  Tomorrow is a well deserved speed/faster day because I have had 3, count them 3, easy days.  I like these little workout boxes they put in to make the runs fun.  I have very little imagination.  As I have said before, I stay in this tiny little box of comfort, lacking much of any creativity in anything I do, especially coming up with mind blowing fun runs.  So a speed workout is usually pretty straight forward for me– run fast, and run fast some more.  This will not be so boring, because I did not think of it myself.  Here you go. 

iphone pics 403  

 

What is your favorite “workout” right now?  It can be running or not running.

Seriously considering racing flats – pretty clueless about them or what constitutes a “racing flat”.  Anyone with input or knowledge, feel free to share opinions!

What is your favorite lunch lately? 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

6 responses »

  1. Ooo. That tempo workout sounds KILLER! Of course, I want to try that. I love little avocado hummus wraps, and I’m starting to get a little jealous of your Lulu wardrobe! 🙂

  2. I’m still reading through the new Runner’s World mag. It definitely has some good info.
    I think you’re doing the right thing by slowing down your “easy” runs. It gives your body a chance to recover and get even stronger!
    That wrap looks delicious. I love the combo of hummus and avocado.
    My favorite workout right now is any run outside!

  3. That lunch looks delishhhhh…will be adding that into my repertoire. Also love the Lulu purchases. We made a stop at Lulu in Fla this weekend and I treated myself to the cutest crops ever…they look like jeans and have folded cuffs and 3 buttons on the ankle. So cutey, but I’m not doing the description justice. I agree…once you set foot in there it becomes an addiction. I’m using that as a “reward” for every 10 pounds lost. So can’t go back in for another 9 pounds. You and Kevin seem to have similar biomechanics and like the same shoes. He wears a Mizuno racing flat (simply because he gets them for free from our friend who is a Mizuno rep). I know he likes them & I know there is a more substantial flat-like shoe he prefers for a marathon. That being said, he has sustained lots of wear and tear in the marathons he’s worn flats for, so I think you want to make sure it has a little something to protect you from the 26.2 of asphalt. I’m a big fan of the local running store at least to try things on even if you order from a cheaper spot after the fact.

    I need to push some hard days…I am the opposite of you…used to be happy to do speed and tempos, now it gives me anxiety, but if I don’t start I will be a jogger for the rest of my life:-)

  4. Yay for that easy run!!! Hopefully that leaves you feeling super fresh for tomorrow’s session.

    I race in flats for things up to 10 miles (Adidas Adizero I think?) and for half marathons and marathons have run in something a little more substantial (Saucony Fastwitch). My flats are pretty old so probably need to get a new pair this year – my first race of the year is on the 17th (8K) so I’d better get on that.

  5. Just came across your blog via SR’s blog..enjoying reading it! Learning to incorporate easy runs into my training has been something I have just started doing. It took awhile for my self-competitiveness (ok, fine…sometimes my competitive with other runners I see on the running path ; ) and pride to accept that some runs NEED to be slow, but I’m hoping it will help prevent the numerous running injuries I’ve had in the past.

    • Hi Julia! Thank you so much for reading and commenting!! I couldn’t agree more about the competetiveness, with myself! I always want to see how hard I can push it, but when training for something, that’s not the best thing to do. Try slowing down, and then you will really enjoy the hard days, and being injury free;-)

TALK TO ME:-)

