It Really Works and a GIFT for YOU

Standard

Workout8.5 miles, gym treadmill, flat.  Speed/tempo.  I wouldn’t call it a complete speed workout, but then again I really have no clue what I am talking about half the time.  I try to use fancy running lingo, but the truth is I still have to look up what a fartlek is every time someone says it.  I can’t believe I just voluntarily put that word in my blog. 

The run looked something like this…(loosely followed the RW blurb from yesterday.5 mile w/u, 3 miles @ 6:58, 2 miles @ 6:44, 2 mile @ 6:35, 1 mile @ 6:15.  Then I had to ske-daddle on to the homestead and tend to the kidlings.  The article said to do 5 min jog between each pace change – didn’t have time for that and I felt fine without it.  I had hoped for 10 today, but time was not on my side.  It’s ok.  I’m over it.  However, the weather right now is freakishly beautiful and it makes me want to lace up and pound some pavement.  real bad.  no, I’m pretty sure that is not a normal desire when the weather is nice out.  what has happened to me?  It is absolutely PERFECT outdoor running weather.  For another day.

The proof is in the running.  The easy run yesterday, really proved beneficial for today’s speedwork.  WOW.  I’m really impressed.  I’m sold.  I felt 100% fresh today.  I don’t eat anything before morning runs, either.  And I was fresh as a daisy.  I’ve been missing this the whole time.  No time like the present to start.  I’m a little confused as to what to do tomorrow though.  I’m going to have to look into this one.  I kind of want to keep it on the faster side, but not super speedy.  Maybe I will do hills.  Maybe I will just take it easy.  So many possibilities.  Then I will have a completely easy run on Friday to stay fresh for Saturday – I am planning on doing a shorter, long run – in the 14-15 mile range, with some more speed in it.  That’s the plan.

So silly, but I was actually nervous to do the speedwork today, once I got on the treadmill.  I had serious doubts about my abilities.  I have been out of the loop a little bit with my speedwork.  I felt my heart start to beat a little faster as I neared the end of my first 3 miles at the 6:58 pace.  And then again when I was finishing up the 2nd segment at 6:44…but it all worked out.  No casualties.  Everyone survived.  I felt really good, good enough to push it at the end.  I probably could have pushed it a little harder.  Taking chances, making it happen.

You’ll be happy to know that I am doing my part in conserving energy by not washing my clothes…very often.  or showering…daily.  I do my best, but sometimes there is just not enough time between running and making breakfast and dance class and grocery store and more feeding those silly little kids – so I throw in a few bobby pins, some hairspray and bronzer and call it a look.  and hope I don’t see the same people I saw yesterday, because I’m wearing the same thing.   

iphone pics 408

 

I enjoyed another avocado/pepper/hummus wrap this afternoon.  You better believe I’m going to have one of those babies daily until I turn green in the face.  From too much avocado.  I finished it with a green smoothie.  Delish. 

As green as it gets today people.  I really want to be a salad person, but I’m just not.  Especially when I have to make them myself.  I am making meals all day for everyone, the last thing I want to do is chop a bunch of vegetables and throw them in a bowl for myself.  And I really don’t enjoy eating them when I make them.  Face full of lettuce and dressing all over the place.  I just can’t make it a pleasant experience for myself.  I would much rather get my greens in a smoothie where you can’t really taste them, at all.  Or have someone else come and make me a salad.  But, last I checked, personal chef wasn’t in the budget.  I’m the personal chef around here.  It was a super duper healthy day over here.

Here are some ways that help me to keep it healthy – it’s not always easy with “kid food” around.  Or very little self control.  Healthy eating requires mental strength and discipline, just like running.  Believe me, I could easily live on swedish fish, apple fritters (my favorite!), and dark chocolate… 

1.  Total cliche – but eat to live, not live to eat.  The truth is, your body only needs a certain amount of calories to function on a daily basis.  This is my thinking – I put a lot of stress on my body with the running I do.  It needs calories that count, that give it the nutrition it needs to repair, stay healthy and keep me strong.  I try to make sure that the food choices I make, or the calories I eat, really count.  That apple fritter is not going to give my body anything that it needs.  There is definitely a better choice that will leave me feeling better.  Before I put that hunk of chocolate cake in my mouth, I give it a second thought as to whether or not that nutrition counts.  Sometimes I eat it, sometimes I don’t.  I try to leave it the majority of the time.  The more often you make good choices, the easier it gets to make them.  It’s habit forming. 

Start by making one or two healthy choices a day.  Focus on one healthy meal.  Than move on to two.  Practice makes perfect.  Healthy choices also make better athletes.  my two cents.   

2.  Give it a second thought – Think before you eat something sweet or savory, or even something completely useless, like those silly veggie sticks or animal crackers.  I try to think am I eating this because I am hungry, or because I am bored, or is there a better choice I could make with what I am about to eat?   A lot of times I find myself mindlessly snacking.  Reel it back in and think about why you are eating that pretzel rod. 

3.  I don’t cut foods out completely, but instead try to plan for them.  I’ve found I don’t do as well with a bag of m & m’s , because I will eat the whole darn thing.  Don’t underestimate.  I need individually wrapped treats.  Portion control.  Sometimes I will have a piece of chocolate after breakfast, just so I am not wanting it all day long.  Plan for treats.       

4. The more you know, the better decisions you will make – when it comes down to it, eating is all about giving your body the fuel it needs to function and making a decision as to what kind of food that will be.  There are too many unhealthy options out there, many of which are disguised as healthy.  If you are educated the slightest bit about food and nutrition, you will make healthier choices because you will know what that food is doing once it goes down the hatch.  I am pretty confident that red peppers are better for my bod than swedish fish.  even though they are both red, I think my body prefers the vegetable.  This is also because I have read and know what processed sugar does to my body and how the body reacts to it.  YUCK.  Knowledge is power – read, learn, have the power to make healthy decisions.

I am going to help you gain some knowledge by giving away this little combo! 

iphone pics 410

This is my own special little giveaway.  Jackie Warner did not contact me saying, you are so amazing, will you please help me be even more successful than I already am by sharing my book with people through your wonderful little blog.  pretty please.   That didn’t happen.  This is my own dealio.  I have this book, and I have mentioned it a few times in different posts.  I liked it.  There was some good info in it.  Like many books, there are some great things about it, and some things that you could forget you read, like the title – not a big fan of the title.  Nor did SHAPE magazine contact me begging me to flaunt their magazine.  I just love them, and apparently they love me too, because they did send me one last issue before they cut me off if I don’t resubscribe!  So now I have this extra perfectly good, never touched copy because I bought one at the store the other day.  My loss is your gain. 

Ok, so I’ve never given anything away on here (I’m not sure how these bloggers get free stuff sent to them to give away to their readers, but I’m going to figure it out soon so that you guys get more free stuff…someday)  I had a great day today and you caught me in a good mood, and I’m sharing the love.  To enter, leave me a comment on this post sharing the love, telling me how awesome you think I am.  I’m kidding.  Just leave a comment saying you want to know why Kate Walsh is in the nude on the cover.  Kidding again.  Seriously, just leave me a comment saying you want free stuff because free stuff is the best.  I’ll let this go until Friday at 8pm.   

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

25 responses »

  1. I have just recently found your blog and am really enjoying it! I run myself and am working on speeding up and concentrating on easy/rest days which I don’t always take! I am also trying to drop just a couple of pounds because I think that it will make running easier for me. I would like to be my “summer weight” even in the winter. This book might just help me make those little adjusts that will help me! 🙂

  2. And you are awesome and so stinkin fast. I could only hope to do a tempo run like that!
    And who doesn’t like right free stuff about fitness and nutrition?

  3. I made your avocado/hummus wrap yesterday and LOVED it. On the menu for today, too. I have both of these items – book and magazine – based on your recommendations, so no need to enter me into the contest — although it’s a great one!!!

  4. It’s so hard for me to not overeat when in running so many miles. I’d love a few good tips! Ps most bloggers contact companies until
    They become big, then the companies come to them.

  5. haha seriously why is she naked?!
    Great run today!! It sounds like you are learning the speed-thing!!!…I agree each time I do a speed workout I learn a little bit more about how to push myself, and how my body reacts to certain distances and certain paces…fun fun!
    I would love to win the giveaway!! 🙂
    xoxo!

  6. That book looks awesome!! As a yo-yo dieter, I am trying to gain acceptance within my body and LOVE my body! I am always looking for a good read! I love magazines….. I am a book nerd…….literature teacher actually 😉

  7. That is awesome that you reaped the benefits of your easy day. It is weird – a lot of times my easy runs are the hardest I think because I get a little bored. Even though the speed runs and long runs and more physically demanding, they have a feeling of tension and excitement that apparently I crave!

  8. I love free stuff! Sign me up! I love your blog too… I only read three blogs per day: yours, HRG, and SR. You are such an inspiration for me to get faster 🙂

    • Hi!! Thank you so much for commenting – I love new commenters, and comments in general. It makes me feel like I am not talking to myself…as much;-) I will post the winner tomorrow! Have a great weekend!:-)

      • Katie, I seriously love your blog, I’ve been looking at it for a couple months now but don’t ever comment. Maybe I’ll try to get a blog post up one of these days. I’m also a mom and have 3 boys that keep me way too busy. It’s fun getting to “know” you! You are a super fun, speedy gal!!!!

TALK TO ME:-)

