Funky Chicken

Standard

Workout – 8.5 miles.  couple good hills, couple rollers.  No clue about the time.  I parted with my garmin for the run and left it on the counter.  On purpose.  I might have had a slight panic when I got to the end of the road about really wanting to know my end pace and not wearing my lifeline, blah blah blah, but I really didn’t want to be pace stalking the entire run.  It gets old sometimes.  And, I didn’t want this to be a hard run.  Heck, I really did not want to run at all.  I had this horrible feeling come over me today about running – I wanted no part of it.  Very strange and disturbing.  My husband even came home and said, alright, how far are you going to go?  I looked at him and said, I’m not going.  I have zero desire to run.  Wild  horses could not drag me out into the street.  I’m not going.  You can’t pay me enough money to go.  Not gonna happen buster.  Did you hear me…I’m not going.  He replied with something like, get your (tiny cute adorable little) ass out there and run.  You need to and we (the children and I) need you to.  Move it.  Ok.  Off I went.  I put on my Tuesday best – little lulu cool racerback top and stuck my (tiny cute adorable little) ass in a TJ special little running skirt.  compression socks and we’re a go.

iphone pics 432

 

Hit the road.  Hubs was right.  I needed it.  I was in a TOTAL funk today.  I 100% had to force myself out of sweats today.  It was a compromise with my closet.  I agreed to put on the jeans, if I could still wear the comfy, non committal to a complete outfit top.  the smile was a compromise too.  I promised to smile if I was allowed to wear the comfy top….as well as leave the house with greasy hair.  no shame.     

iphone pics 431

The only reason I felt it necessary to get out of the sweats was because I also had to 100% force myself to go to the grocery store.  The 1/2 cup of milk left in the fridge and 1 slice of bread were not going to get us very far today. 

It’s funny how some weeks, like last week, are glorious and beautiful.  All, spring is in the air, and in my wardrobe, happy happy lets run a gazillion miles.  Life is going smoothly and wonderfully and organized.  The kids are angels, and you have time to wash your hair and shave your legs (that is definitely a luxury right now), heck, time to take a shower everyday if you want to…….enter the next week and you can’t figure out where you put your head, which way is up and you need to walk around with a highly flammable sign attached to your forehead because your hair is so greasy.  stay away from the matches.  just me? 

That is my week this week.  highly flammable.  It’s only Tuesday you say?  Oh yes.  I’m hoping we go up from here. 

Couple things that made this week funky:

1 – I took a full rest day yesterday.  This is instead of taking one on Sunday. (I explained why I switched them up last week)  I think it had been what felt like 37 days since I took a real rest day.  From doing any sort of physical activity.  I felt like I earned it and I was 100% looking forward to it.  (I am liking the 100% statistic in this post.  Hopefully I will be 100% normal tomorrow and out of my little funky chicken mood).  What I realized about rest days and myself – I am able to really enjoy a rest day when I know that I am going to get a good workout the next day.  That is, if my alarm went off as planned, allowing me to get to the gym and get my 10 mile planned run in.  The one that I went to bed early for, so that I wouldn’t be too tired.  The one that I was really looking forward to doing.  The alarm didn’t go off.  I didn’t get up in time.  I’m not good at running in the evening after a full day.  Funky chicken. 

2 –  The time change.  Don’t get me wrong.  I LOVE the longer day, more sunlight, yadda yadda.  What I don’t like is that I got really spoiled last week being able to run outside in the beautiful weather at 6 am, before everyone got up.  Before the hubs had to go to work.  Not in the dark.  Not on the treadmill.  Enter time change.  It’s just barely getting light at 7am.  Doesn’t give me much time.  I know.  I could run in the dark.  I don’t do that.  Yet.  Not by myself at least.  Adds to the funkiness. 

3 – Hormonal.  Really no explanation needed.  Raging.  Hormones.  Not fun.  That might explain why I just devoured a skinny cow ice cream sandwich.  what?!?!  There is no explanation for that.  I don’t even know how those ended up in my house.  And now in my belly.

4 – Some other things just to top off the pissy attitude that I’m choosing to hold on to (because life is all about choices, and I could choose not to be a whiny person today, but for now, I’m going to be a big brat.  I’m not actually 30 yet, so I can still do that) And please notice my fantastic blog post organizational skills- I give you bullet points to make your reading enjoyable and orderly.  

  • First, Monday’s usually get eaten alive by the overflow of the weekend; endless amounts of laundry, cleaning, catching up…by the time I finally sat down last night around 8:30 with my cup of tea, little boy blue wouldn’t stay in his bed.  I get up to beat him sing him back to sleep and I knocked my just cooled down enough to drink tea all over the carpet.  sweet.  
  • Then I go upstairs because I have given up on the day and all I want to do is crawl into bed to find this…

iphone pics 428

That is not a large animal on my bed.  I forgot to make the bed after I took the sheets off to wash.  that’s just annoying.  crap. 

  • Alarm didn’t go off this morning, as mentioned.  no workout to get the day going.  Icing on the cake.  I could go for cake lots of icing.
  • I forgot my grocery list in the car, thus forgetting the essential items to make the one and only dinner I was able to muster enough energy to plan this week.  Thank you, hubs, for getting the essentials.  is this day over yet.   
  • I dropped the container full of avocado cream sauce that was homemade oh so delicious for the enchiladas, all over the floor.  Nails in the coffin

I 100% realize that these are menial little silly life nuisances and inconveniences.  They just happen to be the perfect things to be getting under my skin this week.  I 100% realize there are MUCH BIGGER life problems and I should be thankful for the things that I do/have.  I 100% am thankful.  I also 100% realize that you have to give credit to the things that just piss the heck out of you, get it out of your system and move on.  That is why it was good I went for a run.  Run it out.  Stretch it out.  Group gym class it out.  Knit it out.  Blog it out.  Bake it out.  Eat a skinny cow ice cream it out.  Whatever the heck you need to do – recognize and give credit to the menial little funky things and get on with it. 

Tomorrow, I will get on with it.  I’m looking forward to a good speed/tempo run.  But, I am preparing myself for any and all deviations in the plan that I have set in my head.  In case of alarm clock failure or just plain failure to get up.  Life lesson as a mom – daily life does not ever usually happen the way you plan it.  Sometimes it goes so smoothly and according to plan, that I forget it sometimes doesn’t go the ideal way.  Remembering this saves a decent amount of stress when the day actually doesn’t happen the way you planned it.  I didn’t remember that today.  I’m going to remember that tomorrow.  Among many other things.  Like wash your hair.      

 

Any little “hiccups” going on this week for my friends out there? (that what my daughters K teacher calls the children, “friends”, seems so warm and cozy when she says it)

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?  Ever since my first pregnancy, I lost most of my interest for ice cream.  One of the last treats I reach for now.  Same thing happened with all types of chocolate.  So glad that one returned full force. 

Tell me something REALLY good about your week so far!?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. Haha. Call kindergartener “friends” is brave!!” The last couple of weeks were definitely kind of like that for me, but the weather warming up has really pulled me out of a funk!! I really love fro-yo over ice cream, and they have this special kind out for St.Patrick’s Day that I’m dying for. You know, some green minty kind! :

  2. I’m having problems with my dryer this week. Now I have to make a trip to the laundromat. Not fun! It’s silly, but a basket full of dirty laundry stresses me out!!
    The best thing about this week has been the weather. Mid 70’s all week!! I don’t eat ice cream very often, but my favorite would probably be chocolate brownie.
    Being in a “funk” is no fun. Hope you get out of your funk soon!

  3. I found you through several other blogs that I stalk…er, read, and you are so dang motivating! You 100% have the right to complain a little, those are all crappy things that can put anyone in a bad mood. Plus, you are juggling three little ones and an insane workout schedule (for reals, you are a machine).

    The good thing about my week is that my hubs and I are going on vacation on Friday morning!

    • Hi Ashley!!! Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I love new readers and comments:) and I’m just a little bit jealous that you get to go on vacay tomorrow! I hope it’s somewhere warm and sunny!!

      Katie

  4. I really admire you (and a lot of my friends that are mamas) that have babies and still manage to get out there and hit the pavement and bust it out. I hope to be like that when I have kids one day!

    I love me some skinny cow! Esp the cones with the caramel on top…oh my don’t get me started. Also I did some speedwork on the treadmill yesterday and LOVED it!! Thanks again for the tip. Hope you have a wonderful day!!

  5. Glad to hear that I am not the only one who gets in a “funk” sometimes! I have to give myself some positive self talk and yes a workout almost always makes me feel better, until the endorphins wear off anyway! I am not much of an ice cream eater either, but if I have any it is soft serve twist at our little hometown ice cream shop. Something really good about my week so far……79 degrees in March in Iowa is almost unheard of!

    • Oooh, I do love soft serve!! But that’s like a different breed of ice cream that’s not really considered ice cream:) it was 70 here in CT yesterday which is also unheard of, and supposed to be 80 next week! Soak it up! Have a great night!!

      Katie

  6. This may sound creepy…but I showed my husband the second pic in this post and he said, “is that a picture of you?” No kidding! I think we are dopplegangers (except you are way taller than me). PS your post about running easy on easy days so you can run harder on hard days inspired me & tue I had the best speed work out I’ve ever had. Thank you, my confidence has been restored.

    • That is so funny!! Ok, now send me a pic of you so I could see what my twin would look like, lol;) I get that A LOT, that I look like someone somebody knows, or their sister or cousin- I guess I don’t have a very original face! So glad you had a great speedy run- they are the best!!! Have a great night:)

      Katie

TALK TO ME:-)

