Thursday’s Thoughts

Standard

Workout – lets backtrack to yesterday, because THAT was a flipping fantastic workout that kind of lasted all day, and that needs to be talked about.  and today’s hasn’t happened yet.  nothing to report there.  I had speed on the schedule (my favorite!) – 9 miles total run + 3 mile walk = 12 miles in the books (I’m really good at adding) with some strength exercises in the middle…here’s how it went down:

6am session, gym treadmill – 6 miles total (I wanted to get 8-9 total, with 6 fast.  didn’t have time)

1 mile w/u @ 7:45, 2 miles @ 6:10pace, .5 mile jog @ 7:45, 1 mile @ 6:14, .25 mile jog @ 7:45, 1 mile @ 6:14, .25 mile c/d @ 7:45

iphone pics 433

(check out those beautiful sneakers.  we’ll talk about those later.  lets just say, I’m sorry saucony, I cheated on you. and I think I enjoyed it.)    

11am – Walk with kiddos – 3 miles total – at a lightning fast 16 min pace.  whoa.  slow down Katie.  I used to run a lot with the jogger, but now that the kids are bigger, A. they don’t like to sit in it and I have to stop every 5 minutes.  B.  I really think it throws off my running form, the way I have to run to push it (because my form is so spectacular).  C. It’s really heavy, at least 100 lbs, probably more.  This is how the walk started…2 kids in the seat…   

iphone pics 434

This is how the walk ended….one little piggy ran home, one in the undercarriage.  he doesn’t like to sit still. 

iphone pics 436

2:30pm – I squeezed in some strength work in the driveway while the kids were playing.  I’m sure my neighbors think I am crazy.  I am.  I do this often in the summer because the kids want to be outside.  Being the responsible mother that I am, I feel the need to pay attention to them.  I think it’s perfectly normal to do plie squats and lunges up and down the driveway.

5pm – Session 3 for the day – Lucky me, I did get to finish off my speed work – outside!

3 miles total – 1 mile @ 5:56pace, 1 mile recovery @ 7:35, 1 mile @ 6:03

This was nice because it was less than 20 minutes.  Like I never even left the house.  I have never done speedwork other than on the treadmill or track.  My only option was the road last night.  I normally don’t do a full mile for recovery, but the route made it so that’s how it happened – It’s fairly flat for one mile from my house.  Then there is about a 1/2 mile incline, then I turn around and ran the half mile back down for another fast mile.  I didn’t want 1/2 of the speed mile to be downhill.  totally cheating.  The mile back home has a slighter incline than the mile out.  If you can understand anything I just wrote, I’m impressed.  Basically, 2 fast miles, 1 slow.  Outside.  New to me.  I had to push myself instead of a treadmill setting the pace.  I was pretty happy with it. 

With all that running and funning that went down yesterday, Funkmaster Katie successfully left the funk in the beginning of the week and was able to get on with her life.  so says the third person she is talking in. 

Sometimes I get wrapped up in the things I have to DO, instead of the things I should do.  like playing.  with the kids.  I get stressed about the floors not being clean, and the laundry needing to be done, and the closets needing to be organized and dinner needing to be ready promptly at 5:30.  yes, there are daily responsibilities that must get done.  But the truth is, I need to play with my kids.  the other stuff can wait.  Yesterday came very close to me “needing” to get the other stuff done, that would have been a very bad decision for all parties.  we have had some unseasonably warm weather meaning the kids don’t come inside until bedtime.  I chose the wiser and played with the kids yesterday.  The chores got ignored.  new motto – why clean, it’s just going to get dirty again.  We soaked up the sun.  We got some vitamin D.  without having to take a supplement.  saving money all the time.  We ate some froyo.

iphone pics 441  

 

We played in the fountain that was not yet a fountain.  apparently the town is saving money too.  turn on the darn water!  

iphone pics 440

The floors went dirty for another day.  The laundry was still in the basket.  It didn’t go anywhere.  damnit.  Dinner was made and it was eaten.  and we stayed outside all day.  success in my book.  and funky mama kate was back in the game….at least for another day.  😉

So, I have a lot of fun things I want to talk about like running shoes, clean cooking, upcoming races and much more…so many things, so little time, so stay tuned my friends.  Blogging as a stay at home mom with 3 little kids not yet in school full time leaves not a lot of time to post once a day about all of these fun things brewing in my head, so every other day is what I shoot for.  somehow it gets to be 8:30 at night and it’s the first time I have stopped moving all day – from running kids around town, kissing boo boo’s, doing homework, planning meals, making food, running, cleaning up food, going to the grocery store for the 12th time…the list goes on.  It always comes back to balance for me.  I’m finding I am not the best at finding balance in my life, but I’m always trying.  “A” for effort.  Balance the things you love to do, like to do, need to do, have to do, don’t want to do but really should do.  It all works out.

 

How has the weather been in your neck of the woods?

What is your least favorite chore?  Most favorite?

Where do you like to do your speedwork? Track? Gym?  If you don’t do speedwork, start 🙂

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

17 responses »

  1. Yikes. I need to start doing speedwork 😛

    You are superwoman! With three little ones and getting all of these things done (so what if a little dust accumulates on the floor? Kids will remember playing with mom when they grow up!), it’s really amazing! I have no excuse for getting my crap together and pushing myself during my workouts.

    And again… I’ll get to doing some speedwork… one of these days…

  2. You are too cool. I seriously don’t know how you get it all done, but I LOVE the idea of squats & lunges in the driveway. I’ll be adopting that. I do better at speed on a treadmill so there is no cheating, but last week I did a HIIT workout on the roads and it was fun and hard and great. Weather WAS nice here, but as of yesterday we’re back in reality of March yuckiness….cold, damp, dark…Ewww.

    • I have actually never done an HIIT workout – I might have to try that. For some reason I tend to do any running that deviates from just flat out running, on a treadmill. I would probably do the HIIT on the treadmill too!

      Katie

  3. Outside of a few scattered showers today, the weather here has been aweosme. I’m guilty of needing to get things done instead of playing with the kids. It’s hard for me to leave the house “dirty”. Something I need to work on! My least favorite chore is probably cleaning the bathtubs/showers.
    I usually do speedwork on the treadmill.

    • I think there are some people that love to clean, I do not…I do it because I have to and I don’t want a dirty house;) if I had to pick one, it would probably be bathrooms too- its just gross to me!

      Katie

      • Good! I’m sure it will be ready for a nice rest. I just did 9 miles today, which I know isn’t much for you, but I’m pooped! I felt like I could have slept for the rest of the day after that run. I don’t know how you do it! 😉

    • I could not agree more about chores!! There is nothing really fun, ever, about treadmill running. The speedwork on the treadmill makes it a little more bearable for me. It is definitely nice to be running outside!!

      Katie

  4. Its great you put off the chores – its so hard to keep in mind that the play time is a priority. I sometimes forgett it and its such a shame.
    My younger son turned out to be a hard core jillian michaels fan, so I can get my strength done with him next to me!
    I tend to do my speed workouts either with my running group or on the treadmill – so that I do not cheat!
    I really like cooking and baking…and hate all the other things…cleaning, organizing wardrobes (I suck at this one) and above all IRONING! Bleh!
    Have a nice weekend!

  5. I love that I’m not the only one sneaking in a driveway workout while the kids play!!! We just moved here last summer and I’m sure the neighbors weren’t prepared for the crazy family who’s kids play outside every day all summer long and who’s mom does sprints and lunges up the enormous hill of a driveway!!! I keep telling myself they’re only starring cuz they WISH they thought of the driveway workout first!;)

    • So good to know I’m not the only crazy mom that does this! Too bad my driveway is short and flat, otherwise I would probably be doing sprints up and down it too:) Have a great weekend!!

TALK TO ME:-)

