How to Friday and random recaps

Standard

This is going to be a super quick how to Friday, so I thought I would bore you with some nonsensical talk about my day and week.  If nothing more than to just make you feel better about your own life and the various decisions you’ve had to make and daily tasks you have had to do.  Lets start with the business first – workouts. 

I’ve hit 40 miles this week.  yay.  I’m happy about that.  One more day in the week to go.  Shooting for a 50 mile week.

Workout – yesterday – 9 easy miles, 7:35 pace.  The same 9 mile loop I always do.  Even though it is a pretty good change of hills/flat/rollers, I think it’s almost time to switch this one up a bit.  I feel like a running body can get pretty adapted to a certain course, if run over and over and over again – even if it is 9 miles of changing pace and elevation.  time to switch it up.  It was a good run, even though I was grossly overdressed and failed to use the bathroom before I left.  Going potty (2 year old word) has gotten pretty low on the “things I have time to do” list.  it’s somewhere in between tweezing the brows and shaving the legs.  The bladder and the bowels were pretty perturbed by mile 8.5.  lesson learned.  just go before you run out the door.

Workout – today –  5 VERY EASY treadmill miles, 1 incline.  I was in a bit of a conundrum about today’s run.  I am not doing the long run tomorrow (will get to that in a moment), but wanted to get 15-20 miles in between today and tomorrow.  Numbers and math equations flew around in my head for a bit and I settled on getting at least 5 in this morning on the mill.  done.  Saturday will pick up the slack. 

HOW TO FRIDAY – I don’t know what edition this one is, lost count – HOW TO BRING THE SNEAKER STORE TO YOUR HOUSE

Before I start, a little disclaimer is necessary.  a couple little disclaimers – 1. I am all about supporting local, independently owned and operated businesses.  I do my best.  2. As a mom, I pretty much avoid at all costs taking my children into any store where they are lots of things on the walls, shelves, racks, any where within reach.  this would be any store.  I also despise putting my son in a stroller because he can houdini his way out of anything, or he will scream with an ear piercing cry if he can’t. 

Case in point:

iphone pics 438

we have to stop about 37 times on the way to anywhere because he can get himself out of his carseat.  he’s not big on safety.  or listening to his mama.  I told him he would get arrested, and he didn’t care. 

Thirdly, I go through running sneaks way too fast to be spending full price on every pair.  I’m pretty sure I have professed my love for Running Warehouse before, and I am going to share with you how I use and abuse the system.  All’s fair in love and buying new sneakers at not retail price. 

Running Warehouse offers free 2 day shipping AND free returns on ANY purchase.  I know this probably isn’t news to a lot of you out there, but for some, you may not know about the little gem that is Running Warehouse.  You could buy a pair of socks, shipped for free and returned for free, if you didn’t like them. 

Bring the shoes to mama.  I was in the market for a new pair of daily trainers, ones that were a tad more substantial than my Kinvaras (that I love and adore, I just want some more meat for the long runs).  I’ve also been interested in a racing flat. 

Dragging my cherubs to the shoe store is also low on the things I have time to do list.  I don’t want to go and try on all of these different shoes, only to make a rash decision about which to buy just to get my child out before he eats every Gu on display or chokes himself with a shoelace.  I do have time to have them mailed to ME, for FREE, to try on at my leisure.  to think about at my leisure.  And return within 45 days.  Doable. 

(this works for people who have a good idea of what they like, how they run, what they need.  If you are higher maintenance and need to be assessed – go to the running specialty shop.  get checked out.  then go to Running Warehouse.)

iphone pics 456

5 pairs, lots of fun.   

  Mizunos. 

 

iphone pics 458

Elixir and the Musha.  Elixir for everyday, Musha for racing flat.  I really wanted to get the Ronin to try for a flat, not sure why I didn’t.  That will be the next shipment.  These are all going back.  Musha I think I would love, it just ran a tad small.  I’m pretty sure I love the elixir.  TIP – try them out on a treadmill if you are not sure if they are going to work for you.  Do a little 3-5 mile jog and decide.  That way you don’t get them dirty on the street if you don’t like them.

Sauconys. 

iphone pics 457

Fastwitch – purple ones, did not like and ran small.  Type A5, blue/green – I really want to like these, but they ran small too.  I’m going to try them 1/2 size up.

That’s how it’s done in Katie world.  it saves me a few bucks and makes room for my other sometimes expensive shopping habits.

 

 

Odds and Ends

#1. Last week, I signed up for this festive little 5K race

logo-MS-OHartford

 

I had been wanting to do a 5K, and when my friend told me she was doing this one, that was all I needed to jump on the wagon. 

I guess I would like to get a PR on this one.  Whether I’ve been planning on doing a race or I signup last minute, I don’t ever do the, well, I would like to start out at about a 6:18 pace and if I’m feeling good, I’ll push it to about 6:09 and then maybe pull back if it doesn’t feel right and hang tight around 6:12….doesn’t work like that for me.  Good thing and a bad thing – mostly a bad thing.  I tend to just go all balls to the wall from the getgo.  Pushing it until my eyeballs hurt.  I also have no clue about my pacing.  Not my strong suit – pinpointing a pace to the second.  or even 15 second.  So, like many other races, I will probably just run my little heart out.  It’s nice it’s only 3 miles.  This is why I don’t really want to run 20 miles tomorrow, if I’m going to run my little heart out on Sunday.  My legs won’t want to move and my heart will be sad.  So I will do more than 10 and less than 12 tomorrow.

#2. The conversation – Hubs: “My sweet darling wife with abs of steel and hair of gold, would you mind going to lululemon and getting a gift card for so and so”

Me: “whoa there mister!!!  First, who the heck is “so and so??? and secondly, that’s all I needed was a reason to go into my favorite place in the world.  consider it done. 

Is it bad that Lululemon might have replaced TJ Maxx as my go to store?  I don’t even think they are on the same wavelength.  The thing about lulu, as I affectionately call them, is that nothing ever goes on sale – they just have certain items mixed in with all the other items that are “final sale”.  You would never know because they are safely tucked in with the normal priced stuff.  I seek out the “final sale” items, it’s something like Christmas morning to a 5 year old when I find one – they are only half as obnoxiously priced as the regular stuff.

and Luke did the unspeakable there – he pooped.  in his diaper.  worse than that, was Anna yelling in the middle of the not very big store – “HE POOOOOOPED!!!  He’s stinky!!  Change HIM!!!!!”  She’s not a quiet one, that Anna.  Fantastic.  Not only have I left a trail of smooshed grapes (bad snack choice on my part), but now I have a stinky child that needs to be changed.  thank you grapes for doing your job.  We peaced out of that lovely smelling store real quick.

3. I’m more excited than I thought about my new cup with a straw from Target.  it’s the little things, really.  my mom snagged the last clearance one, and I had to pay full price for this one.

iphone pics 453

worth every penny.  now my iced coffee has a happy spacious little home, with a straw, the way it should be drunk.  dranken?  drunken??  

4.  I was assigned the fruit salad for the St. Patty’s party in pre-k today.  green and festive. 

iphone pics 455

Not a fan of cutting fruit in my not free time.  But I missed the boat and someone got to the paper plates and napkins before I did.  always looking for the easy way out.

5. Going with the green – we had green eggs for breakfast.  I’m glad the kids ate them.  I was afraid once they actually turned green that they would be so grossed out and not touch them.  I did not want to eat 3 scrambled eggs just to waste not.  organic omega-3 eggs are no cheap thing.

iphone pics 449  

6. Nutella – Ok all of you nutella freaks, I get it now.  I hate to admit it, but I bought my first jar of nutella, ever, yesterday.  no longer a nutella virgin.  Stuff is good.  too good.  I actually put it in the fridge, I didn’t know what to do with it.  Then read on the side, “do not refrigerate”.  I understand why now.  It gets hard and you can’t just stand there with a spoon or scoop it out with your finger graham cracker.  

7.  Sticking with the food theme – I’ve been missing my avocado/hummus/pepper wrap all week.  The avocados either haven’t been ripe, or I am out of wraps.  Today, all things were in stock and ready to go.  And I spiced it up a bit.  I made some egg whites, chopped up some scallions, put on the hummus and perfectly ripe avocado with an orange pepper.  It was really so delicious. 

*sidenote* speaking of avocados – it is important, especially for women to get enough healthy fats in their diet.  especially if you are exercising/running/being very active.  a lot of people are afraid of fats.  you shouldn’t be afraid of fats, you should be afraid of processed sugar – that will make you fat, but that’s a story for another day.  the truth is that your body actually needs the healthy fat and uses it if you give it the right kind.  NOT nutella.  or oreo cookies.  or a stick of butter.  The GOOD stuff – avocados, almonds, cashews, eggs, sunflower seeds…I don’t remember a lot, but there are some random bits of information that my brain chooses to hold onto – one of them is you should aim to get about 1/2 gram of healthy fat for every pound of body weight.  If you are 300 lbs overweight, I’m no doctor, but I would suggest using your “healthy weight” number to base that off of. 

I use MyFitnessPal to give myself an idea as to where I stand with certain nutrients, like fat, protein, carbs. 

 

That’s all for today friends.  This post has gone on way to long.  Go grab an avocado, order some sneaks, catch a leprechaun, have some corned beef.   

 

Who celebrates St. Patricks Day?

Any races going on this weekend?  Long runs?

Do you like avocados?

Back to the racing flats – has anyone ever worn any of the flats above?  Thoughts?  Musha, Ronin or Type A5 Saucony?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

19 responses »

  1. Glad to hear you’re no longer a Nutella virgin. 😉 When my husband and I first started dating, he had never heard of Nutella and didn’t believe it really existed. I quickly insisted that we make a Target run to pick up a jar. He soon understood why I loved it so much. 😉

  2. I’ve got a half marathon tomorrow (Go Green St. Patrick’s Day Run)! It will be showering on and off, which is a total bummer… but I’m still looking forward to it.
    Looks like you had a great Friday! Hope you have a good weekend with the little 10 (plus?)-miler tomorrow.

  3. You should check out lululemon.com they have free shipping (this might only be to Canada, I’m not positive), but they have a section called “We made too much” and it is on sale stuff, like out of season colors or what have you. Have a great weekend!

  4. I just settled on a pair of adidas adios, and I really like them. Tried most of the pairs above that you did and a lot of them had a really weird fit on my foot, but I have weird feet and ankle problems and I’m really really picky about what kicks I put on those tender boys. Good luck at your 5k! I say don’t worry about the numbers, just get out there and push yourself. There isn’t really much time to figure out pacing for this distance, just know that if it hurts from the get go you are running the right pace 😉

    I love lulu, but man I feel like they are raping me every time I shop there…so I just avoid the store as much as possible. And nutella, this is a staple for my home. It’s good on anything, even broccoli.

    • That is so funny and goes to show how one persons favorite shoe is not right for another person – those red ones in the middle of one of my pics are the adidas adios and I could not get them off my feet fast enough! I DID NOT like them. I didn’t even have to run in them, they just didn’t feel good as soon as I put them on. Glad they work for you! I just came down with a head cold yesterday, blah! So the 5K will probably end up just being a nice little Sunday run – that’s fine!
      Have a great weekend!!

  5. Love myfitnesspal…almost as much as I love avocados. Going to have to try that avocado sauce you made for pasta at some point. Today I am having cubed chicken and avocados with a splash of lemon for lunch….mmmmmmm. Good luck in your race this weekend.

    • You MUST try that avocado pasta – amazing. And you can add so many things to the pasta to make it a complete dish. Enjoy your delicious lunch and hope you get some good running in this weekend!!

  6. I’ve never been to Lululemon. (which is probably a good thing!). When my youngest was between the ages of about 6mo.- 21/2, she was NOT a good shopper. It was always a struggle. Now she’s 6 and loves to shop!
    I eat avocados all the time. Love them.
    I have no clue about racing flats, hopefully you’ll find a pair that you like!
    Good luck at your 5k!

    • If you’ve never been, it’s probably better to stay away:) I love it because everything is LONG – I can never find sleeves or legs long enough! My oldest is now 5, and we are getting there with the shopping without being a complete pain – good to know there is hope:-)
      Have a great weekend!!

  7. I LOVE the Mizuno Musha…I was running around the running store in them last week, i am definitely a Mizuno girl, I train in the Wave-riders and Elixir!
    I am ALL about ordering my shoes online…when there’s a discount you can get them ~20% off, which is half a race entry fee! 😉
    I hope you’ve been having a great Sunday and reach that 50-mile mark!
    tomorrow I’m going to attempt my 1st LR back since being injured…a little nervous, but ready to rock it 🙂
    xoxo!

    • So good to know about the mushas! I had to send the ones I got back to get 1/2 size up and am going to try out the wave rider 15 and choose between them and the elixir’s for everyday training. I’ve been a saucony girl, but I’m willing to test other waters;-)
      Good luck on your long run tomorrow!! You’re gonna kill it with all this good crosstraining and rest from long runs you’ve had – I’m sure you are itching to get out there:)
      Have a great weekend!

      • Today I found a new Mizuno love…the Enigma! they are a little heavier than the WaveRider and Elixir…but still neutral. I have moved away from my Elixir’s because although they are light, they are still a stability shoe and I don’t feel as smooth of a stride with them…I’m thinking the Enigma’s are going to be my training shoe, and then race in the Musha (for half’s and shorter) and the Waverider for marathons.
        haha sorry for all this commenting&blabbing about shoes!

      • Thank you do much for the info! I saw the enigmas and was wondering about them- kicking myself I didn’t order them along with the other 5 pairs I have that I am trying to decide between…I have the waverider, Elixir, musha and ronin, I need to pick one from each category to have a longer distance shoe and a racing flat- I also threw in a saucony type 5A as a racing flat option to make it interesting, ha! Big decisions;) thanks a bunch for your input- I might order the enigmas to check out and compare

  8. Avocados have got to be one of my all-time favorite foods! I fell in love at about age 10 when my uncle from California brought some to us backwards Tennesseans and make fresh guacamole!

    Excited to hear how the shoes work out!

  9. Pingback: If I had a dollar…. « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

