Sick Shmick

Standard

Workout – my sweet, precious, 10 mile run was robbed from me today because I have a head cold.  Yes, my friends, a cold.  Sore throat yesterday morning.  Pounding head last night.  I am not supposed to get sick.  Especially when I have a little 5K’er tomorrow.  Not super important, but important enough that I’m a little bummed I’m not feeling up to par.  These days, I seem to want to “race” every race I run.  If only just to race myself, or see what I can do.  It’s a tough one to race yourself when you can’t breathe out of your nose and you keep hacking up unpleasant things.   I wouldn’t call it 100% sick, but I would call it not a good idea to run 10 miles today feeling like this if I want to have any chance of running next week.  I am capable of making not stupid decisions sometimes.  As much as I want to run 10 miles, and as much as I think it’s totally doable – I’m not going to.  I might go do 5.  go sweat all of my sickness out outside.  Possibility.  goodness knows I won’t take a nap or do anything like rest this cold away with three littles running around.  that’s crazy talk. 

I have read in various places that it is acceptable to run with a cold if your symptoms are above your neck, and not a good idea to run if they are below your neck.   So if I choose to ignore the slight breathing difficulty and coughing, I’m good to go.

 
This is my sad, pouty lip, no long run for me, not feeling 100% face.

iphone pics 460

Drinking tea with lemon and popping vitamin C pills like they are nutella covered swedish fish.  what a sugary treat that would be.

 
I blame it on my little baby love.  the little boy one.  this little boy.

iphone pics 446

 
yep, that would be an accurate representation of my week with him.  (and no, I do not have enough stuff piled on top of the fridge – precautionary measures for the boy who climbs all over the counters when I’m not looking)  he was out to get me this week.  he’s been fighting a cold.  not sleeping at night.  not being nice to me during the day.  and then graciously giving me his cold.  after I have not been sleeping all week because he has not been sleeping all week.   vicious cycle. 

So as much as I wanted to hit 50 miles this week, I’m pretty happy with the running week that I had, and the 40 miles in the books.  Maybe 45 if I get my bum out there today. 

Marathon Countdown – Exactly 4 weeks until Gansett.  Anxiety and feelings of unpreparedness continue to increase.  (I do think a certain amount of prerace anxiety is actually a pretty good thing – I’m sure it could get a bit out of control.  I wouldn’t know anything about that ;-))  Sneaker shopping was indication #1 of nerves.  Keep an eye out for more signs.  Lululemon shopping might have been signal #2.  Pace calculations have already been in the works for quite some time now.  

Happy St. Patricks Day!  This is how we celebrated in style last night – more green food.  for the kids. 

iphone pics 459

I would love to be creative, and make one of the millions of fun green recipes out there – didn’t happen.  better luck next year.  the girls did make some special leprechaun traps though.  I don’t think they caught one.  tricky little buggars.   So dropping green food coloring into Annies Mac and Cheese was the extent of my creativity.  so original, I know.  and there can’t be anything good about green dye in macaroni.  I don’t even want to think about it.  Moving on.  Have a fun, green filled day friends!  Be healthy and happy and safe. 

 

Did you do any fun “green” activities or make any special “green” food today?

Have you avoided the cold and flu season?

Anyone running a St. Patricks day themed race?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

7 responses »

  1. Sorry you guys are sick and hope for a speedy recovery!

    Considering I am reading this post from the hospital as my littlest was admitted with RSV, and my girl is home with grandma and a double ear infection, I guess I should say that cold and flu season has officially kicked our a**. So definitely no races this weekend, but I am getting out for some short runs on the greenway nearby – running is my saving grace sometimes! Reading your blog and seeing that funny green food is a good pick me up too!

    • Oh my goodness!!! You poor thing, and your poor babies!! That can not be easy….sending healing thoughts your way:) I hope everyone feels better soon! And thank goodness you are able to get out and get some fresh air, it sounds like?!? Life of a mom…

TALK TO ME:-)

