Black Attack

Standard

Workout – haven’t gotten to that yet.  The plan is for 9 easy miles.  7:45-8 minute pace.  I’ll fill you in the very interesting deets after the run goes down. 

______________________________

 

Black is my go to color.  My running wardrobe is almost 100% black bottoms, with some color mixed in with the tops – pinks, blue, purple…but I usually default to black. 

iphone pics 463

Right after the race – once again greeted with “Mom!  You won second!!  Yay!!!”  If anything, I am teaching my children that it is A-ok to not win.  at anything.  eventually I will win.  it’s just not my time.  yet.

The only time I will ever stand out in a crowd wearing black, is at a St. Patrick’s Day 5k race.  All green.  I show up in all black.  that’s how I roll.

my cheering crew.   

iphone pics 462

get that paparazzi away from her – she’s not interested in photographs at the moment, that Alexandra.

 

iphone pics 461

My little Anna beauty.  She got all dressed up for the occasion.  

 

 Officials:

18:42 (42 second PR)

2nd place female

22nd place overall out of 2567 people

 

Record number of people for this race.  It couldn’t possibly be because it was UNBELIEVABLY GORGEOUS OUTSIDE!!! The weather was amazing.  I don’t think it was even 60 degrees, but it was sunny, and warm and perfect weather to run a fast 5k with a head cold.

My breathing could have been better.  Wheezing while you are sprinting certainly isn’t ideal, but good to know that it’s doable.  It couldn’t have been too bad, to get me a PR, but it would have been nice to have been able to breathe with 100% of my lung capacity.  such is life.

I have totally underestimated the 5k, until this race.  They are pretty darn fun.  Here’s my list of reasons why YOU should find the next 5k and DO IT!

1. It fits into ANY training plan.  It’s 3.1 miles.  You don’t need to taper for it.  You don’t need to change your schedule for it.

2. It’s only 3.1 miles – you don’t need to go crazy figuring out what to eat and when and how much and all that carb loading jazz – you’ve got enough fuel stored at any given moment for a 5k. 

3. Any level runner can do it.  If you are super fast or super slow and just getting started – it’s a GREAT way to run a race and FEEL GOOD about accomplishing something.  There is nothing like finishing a race, no matter what the length

4. For those who are in the middle of training for a bigger race, or a PR, it’s a great, short test of speed and how the training is paying off.

5. It’s not a time consuming race.  Get there, run it.  Done.  It doesn’t take up your whole morning.  This race didn’t start until 1pm.  We had the whole morning to lay around and do nothing get chores done around the house, chase kids around, and then fit in 2 birthday parties after.  Win win win all around.

6. If it’s nice weather out, like yesterday, you can break out the shorts and tank.  Which also forces one to shave the legs and not look like a cavewoman.  for which my husband is probably eternally grateful.

5k’s seem to be a dime a dozen – they are everywhere now!  If you are in the middle of training or don’t know where to begin – find a 5k and test the waters. 

You might even get a cool race tshirt like this green beauty…

iphone pics 465

And here’s how I felt about MY race…

I ALWAYS go out too fast.  This isn’t such a bad thing in a 5k, because it’s short.  And there’s not a lot of time to really slow down too much.  I think my first two miles were 5:45 and 5:57.  I slowed quite a bit in the last mile.

Even though it is only a 5k, I think that the rollers and slight incline changes really make it a little tough.  which is good, but yesterday wasn’t truly a flat course.  It was enough of a challenge to really make me work. 

I think running a FAST 5k is harder than a 15 –18 mile long run.  just saying.  I looked at my watch at 1.57 miles and couldn’t believe I still had over 1.5 more to go.  And then it’s over. 

I’ve done so much speedwork on the treadmill, it was nice to know I could pull the speed card on the road. 

While I’m running, I feel like I’m giving it ALL I’ve got.  As soon as I cross the finish and let 5 minutes pass, I wonder why I didn’t push it harder in the end.  I want to push it so hard in the end that I don’t have that thought.  I want to take nothing with me when I finish any race. 

I like the 5k.  It was fun.

 

Who has a 5k, 10k or any k coming up?

Who did some fun long runs this weekend?

What is your favorite race shirt you have received for a race?

Tell me about your fun and exciting weekends!?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

36 responses »

  1. Congrats on the PR! 5ks are so fun – challenging but always worth it in the end!!

    My weekend was fun – celebrated St. Patty’s Day and got a 9 miler in! I am wanting this week to fly by because I’m looking fwd to running the Rock N Roll Dallas half next weekend! 🙂

  2. CONGRATS on the PR!!!
    we could be Lulu running skirt twins!! I have the same one…in black because I thought the colorful skirt was a little much. But I do wear colorful shorts, and tops, I like racing in neons!
    I haven’t done a 5k in wayyy too long! I have been hiding in the marathon too long! 🙂 I do think they are a blast, and I have a few fun ones to do this summer!
    I hope you have a great week ahead of you!
    heck yes to your last high mileage week before your marathon! eek I am getting excited for you!!
    xoxo!

    • I just LOVE lulu running skirts!! The other two like it were a bit much. I tend to go for more colorful shoes and tops and would look like an idiot with a crazy colored skirt;) I was a big fan of this style though- the longer back works well for longer legs;) Have a great week!!!

      Katie

  3. Kristin and I are going to do the river run in April
    I am looking forward to it! Will you be running that one? Great job yesterday!

    • Hi! After yesterday, I wanted to because it literally passes my house! But I think it’s the last Sunday in April and I will be in Nashville running the country music marathon:-/ sad to miss it, but excited to go to Nashville! I hope you guys have fun with it, it’s a little hilly for a 5k! Have a good day!!

  4. Great job on the race! If I can arrange all the childcare I hope to squeeze in a 5k next weekend. Gotta get me some new duds for that right? Got new kicks…back to the old standby…Asic Gel. They were like butter on my sore arches and whacked knees! I am glad you noted the difficulty of a speed 5K versus the “ease” of a longer distances. I just began running with a fitness instructor who doesn’t run on a regular basis. She runs a slow pace like me but can WHIP my butt in a sprint…all that interval training has left her STRONG!! So we did some plyometrics/interval training at o’freakin early in the morning today and I KNEW I would go home and feel like I was cheating (even though I was sore) since I didn’t log any mileage. So around mid-day I called a friend and we walked a mile or so just to get the lactic acid outta those thighs. Feeling GREAT now! Some outdoor hills this week and then maybe some speed work/interval strength training at the gym with my buddy later this week. Long run or 5K run on Saturday…more maybe both if I am ambitious!! Excited to hear your week…running, mothering, craziness!!

  5. I was just looking at that skirt on the Lulu website – is it comfy??

    I ran a Shamrockin’ 7-miler on Saturday. It was an off day and not a great run at all. 😦 My knee started to hurt around mile 4 and I actually had to slow down and walk a few times, which is so, so frustrating!!

    I’m doing my first 15K at the end of the month (on my actual birthday!) It’s my first time at that distance (I’m training for my first half and this distance is pushing my training plan, but I couldn’t find anything else that fit in, so I’m just going to go really slow and treat it like a long run) SInce it’s my birthday I’m really hoping for no pain and a positive experience to put me in a good mood for the rest of the day! Finger crossed!!!

    • I love the skirt! I also have either the speed skirt? I’m not sure the exact name, but it has pleats on the back, and I love that one too. I’m normally between a size 4-6 with them and that one I’m wearing is a 6, the 4 might have fit but I didn’t try it- the 6 was nice. I can see how people might. It like the little bit longer back, but I really like it. Bummer about your knee!!:( rest up and take it easy so you aren’t injured for the 15k or half- I’m starting to hurt a bit in my right knee/shin, and I definitely need to give it some more TLC and lay off the miles a bit! Happy training and have a great day!!

  6. Great race Katie! 5ks are fun indeed and are so easy to find anywhere. I don’t think I have a 5k in the books very soon, but I have a half-mary in about 2 weeks so I’m excited about that. I love that the weather has been great and hopefully it holds.
    Have a great day!

  7. Congrats on your 2nd place finish and PR. I love your thoughts on the 5K. I was beginning to stay away from them for longer distances, but they are a good way to test your training or just do a fun run. I’m also liking your idea of all black bottoms and colored tops…probably makes picking out running outfits easier!

    • The black bottoms definitely make dressing for a run a little easier and stylish;) especially since my sneaks tend to be brighter colors or a lot of different colors, the black bottoms keep everything nice and pulled together:)

  8. Yay! Congratulations on your 5K and on your 20,000th page view! I’ll email you separately about someone to contact at Mizuno for free stuff to try. It’s not Lulu, but it’s fun! By the way, I’ll be swinging through Glastonbury en route to Pennsylvania over the kid’s April break — any interest in meeting up with all the kids for some fro yo? We will be stopping anyway. Feel like I know you, but would be fun to meet.

    • Yes, let’s meet up!!! We are on break the week of the 15th, so we can email about details- but we’ve got nothing going on that week. Got your email- thank you so much for thinking of me with your mizuno friend!!! I just ordered 4 more pairs to try again because the last ones were too small- I will definitely get in touch with him- huge thanks!!

  9. Congratulations on such an awesome time, Katie! I have never actually run a 5k race, despite their enormous popularity. I have done my fair share of 10k through to marathon but never a 5k. The shorter races scare me a little because I am convinced my legs are better at distance over speed. I have a 15k ‘fun run’ this weekend and even that has me worried my speed legs won’t be up to par, especially in the midst of marathon training.

    • I am kind of the same way about 5ks and shorter distances- they are faster races and a I put a little more pressure on myself! That was only my second 5k, and I still do prefer the half marathon and marathon- even a 10k makes me more nervous! Good luck with the 15k! Are you training for a marathon now? Keep me posted on how it goes!!

  10. Wow – what an amazing race you had! Congratulations! I love doing 5ks – my husband and I love to do them together. Favorite race t shirt is a tough one but I think I would go with my NYC marathon t shirt because that felt like a once in a lifetime experience for me.

    • I would hope NYC gives out good shirts, it’s so darn expensive! I’m planning on doing it this year, I just have to pull the trigger, form over the money and register! I hope you are backto a healthy house!!

  11. Great job on your 2nd place finish!
    I definitely think running fast (almost sprinting?) for 3.1 miles is harder than keeping a steadier pace for a longer run.
    I actually have a 10 mile race coming up in two weeks. It will be my first, and I’m excited!

  12. Congrats on your PR! Well done. You are super fast!
    I ran a couple of 5k’s last year and forgot how fun they are. I may have to sign up for one soon……
    My favorite race shirt is one I got last fall at the Indianapolis Women’s Half. It’s cute, comfy, and made with the “technical” fabric.
    I’m with you on the black. Love black.

  13. This choked me up. I know how you feel when you think you can’t possibly give more but just 5 minutes later you think you could have pushed harder. Nothing is truer. It is strange. Looking forward to you stealing that first place finish. You deserve it. It’s yours. Next race:)

  14. just found your blog today – i love it! congrats on your amazing time – i’m training for a 5k in May and now i can’t wait (although i’m pretty sure i’ll still only be halfway round at 18.42!!).

    • Hi Dawn!! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and yay on your upcoming 5k!! Is this your first race?!? You will be hooked, if it is, if not then you already know how much fun running races is! Don’t be afraid to set ambitious goals- the worst that could happen is that you work hard for them and actually achieve them;-) Have a fantastic day!!:)

      • thank you for the advice – its not my first race but it has been a couple of years – eep. You’re right though it is so much fun and i’m really looking forward to it now. Have a great day too!

  15. Nice job on your speedy 5k! I draw so much motivation from your posts… thank you for that!!! I also rely on black as my go to running wear… even though I always think the colorfully dressed runners are so cute 🙂

  16. Ahhh, you are a machine! This is awesome, so happy for your mind blowing PR! You go Mama!

    I like the 5k, but while running them I HATE them. They hurt, there isn’t much time to be tacticle, your legs feel like they are going to fall off if they move any faster, and like you said they are more challenging then a long run. But heck girl you killed it any how! Congrats again.

  17. Congrats on the PR & your second place finish. Also, you look pretty amazing in that outfit, so black is your color. 🙂

    My weekend involved a fab birthday for my son, & a 15K run. First ever – loved it, & already signed up for another.

  18. Dude, coming in second IS winning! It’ll be so sweet when you do come in first (soon I’m sure!). I’ve never run a 5k but I have to try. I’m nearly the slowest runner at every race and I’ve always done 10k and above. I feel like I win every time I finish 😉 and black is my go to color too. I love it, for workouts and everyday life! Congrats!!

  19. not a runner. at all! but its so inspirational to see your accomplishments Katie with all you do with the kids and everything. congrats girl! love u!!

  20. I just found your blog and I love it. The pics are so cute. My sister-in-law, also ran Harrisburg Marathon, always has pics of her four kids sitting on the curb cheering her on. Adorable. Black is also my choice of color for running bottoms. Every so often I will wear a dark gray skirt. I haven’t ran a race in years. I’m considering signing up for a few races this year.

  21. Congrats on your PR Katie! Amazing time. I’ve run that race quite a few times and any other year- you would have won by at least 2 minutes…it has gotten very popular and competitive which is nice to see:) You should be proud!
    I need to order some new shoes…tomorrow at pre-k drop off I’m going ask you for advice. I went for a six mile run tonight and my back was killing me about an hour later… I am almost positive it’s the shoes. See you tomorrow!

TALK TO ME:-)