Split Pea Snacks

Standard

Workout – somewhere in the 11-11.5 mile range.  easy pace as planned 7:30 – 7:45 pace.  I did 4 this morning pre 7am, and another 7ish in the later morning.  the later run was sponsored by my mom.  she says, I have some time if you want me to come over and clean in the morning.  are you trying to tell me something, mother?  and, clean??  we do not clean these days.  we run.  I would be happy to take care of the running if you would be happy to take care of the child watching.  done deal.  and I know – an atrocity that I don’t know the exact mileage.  I’m ashamed.  But I forgot to turn on the cooperate with me switch on my garmin.  so it’s my own fault, really.  the watch is only about 13 months old, just a little toddler of a watch.  way too young to be having mood swings and attitude problems like this.  I threatened to trade it in for a cuter baby, it didn’t work.  I’ve tried that with my kids too.  doesn’t work for them either.  they are already pretty darn cute, so it would be tough to follow through on that.

Sneaky peaky of one of the sneaks in the box.

iphone pics 491

waverider 15’s.  I’m not confident they are bright enough yellow. 

you better believe I put on a yellow top to match the sneaks.  you better believe it’s the same top from yesterday.  you also better believe it was not washed between yesterday and today.  I will wash it today. This is not a real review of these sneakers, but I will say I thoroughly enjoyed the ride.  Nothing hurt.  that made me really happy.  My shins didn’t bother me.  my knee was ok.  I was choosing between these two sneakers…

iphone pics 484

and it looks like I will keep the not so mellow yellow ones simply because they worked well, and I ran 11+ miles in them outside.  I can’t return them now.  I like the look of the elixirs.  I tried them on the treadmill last week, and I think I like the greater support of the waveriders – they are a bit more substantial which is what I was looking for in training.  we’ll chat more at a later date when I choose which racing flat I want.  going to test those ones out tomorrow on the treadmill.

one more thing – I got to run with the hubs for my 2nd run today!  this was fun because we never run together.  he’s too slow.  kidding.  we did probably a mile on the trails, that was fun too.  so many fun things today.  it was a hilly run – I needed to get some hills in.  The last time we ran together was when I paced him for the last 30 miles of his VT100 mile trail race last July.  THAT was fun!

100 mile pacer 2

circa, midnight? ish?

100 mile pacer finish

finish line.  2:55am.

___________________________________________________________

 

I’m always looking for and thinking about how I can make healthy snacks for myself, and my kids.  I lack a few things that make the “thinking” become a “doing”.  Organization and creativity.  and time.  I get to a point where I get really tired of buying these “snacks” at the store that seem to be healthy and great but really have little to no real nutritional value to them.  things like Pirate’s Booty popcorn, or those ridiculous veggie sticks that I always come home with.  I sometimes get Larabars, which I think are great and I do like to always keep them on hand for when the ravenous hungry beast comes out and I don’t have anything else to eat, but #1 they are super expensive and #2, there is still quite a bit of sugar in one of those little bars.  same thing with Clif bars, or Kashi bars.  They are great, but some have too much sugar.  and soy.  no good for me.  Natural sugars they may be, but I might as well just eat an apple or a handful of raisins instead of paying $2 for one of those bars. 

organization – My kitchen is grossly disorganized in the baking department.  I’ve got little cabinet space, and the space that I do have has all sorts of different flours, and sugars all crammed into this tiny spot.  My goal is to reorganize that space so that the thought of baking or creating something isn’t overwhelming and end up covered in 18 different flours that have exploded from various containers.  Step 1 – I got some containers to hold baking goods, beans, pasta, grains, etc…heading in the right direction….

iphone pics 487

note – you must actually put said items in the containers to start the organization process.  keeping them empty on your counter for 3 days is counterproductive.  you have only added more clutter to your cluttered kitchen.  got it. 

Step 2, I picked up a cookbook.  actually, I didn’t pick it up, I had it mailed to me from one of my best friends, amazon.com.  this assists the ever so lacking part of my creative brain.  power + food, and lots of ideas.  I’m all over it.

iphone pics 495

I sat down Sunday night and flipped through the cookbook to come up with meals for the week.  meals, that did not happen.  I got distracted by a few very promising and tasty looking snacks. 

I’m sharing with you the first one that I attempted.  because I LOVED them.  and it was not an epic failure.  if I can do it in my cluttered disorganization, so can you. 

Split Pea Bites (the ones in the pan)

iphone pics 494  

I’m not a fan of split pea soup, but split peas are so good for you.  A couple of my requirements for snacks are protein and fiber.  I don’t worry as much about healthy fats and carbs because I get plenty of them at my other meals.  The Bob’s Red Mill yellow and green split peas that I used, pack 13 grams of protein and 13 grams of fiber into 1/4 cup!  my kind of snack.  I doubled this recipe, hoping that it would be great.  they tasted like a mix between corn nuts and soy nuts.  without the corn or the soy.  happy. great addition to any trail mix, or eaten alone.  or with a friend.  that would be fun too. 

Recipe: (lazy bones is too lazy to type it out)

iphone pics 501

Here’s what the process looked like for me – post soaking, draining, drying – the drying is important.

iphone pics 472

stir it up. 

iphone pics 474 

let the oil drip off and voila…

 

iphone pics 476

I burned some – don’t turn your back for 30 seconds to run after your child and stop him from running into the street. you will burn your peas.  still crunchy and fiberlicious.

enjoy!

Tomorrow I will post about some of my other favorite food items as of late.  very exciting.  you can wait with nail biting anticipation.  till then, peace out friends. 

 

What is a good snack you have discovered lately?

Do you run on trails, roads, mix of both?

Do you like to eat soup?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

11 responses »

  1. I need help in the kid snack department for sure! I rely too heavily on fruit leathers and Annie’s bunny crackers. A friend suggested frozen blueberries – they are good for on the go.
    Thanks so much for the well wishes – we seem to be on the upswing! Also thanks for the reminder to replace running shoes – seriously! In my sleep deprived haze I could not tell you when I bought my last pair but after your post, I thought oh yeah that’s why plantar is creeping in. New shoes today and voila! I swear I am cured 🙂

    • Sometimes those little running pains can be cured so easily by new sneaks;) I also go through a lot of frozen raspberries as snacks – the kids love eating them straight from the freezer or in yogurt, and they are cheaper than the fresh sometimes! Have a good night:)

  2. I haven’t done a trail run in a long while. I am recovering from a partially torn tendon under my ankle and I am not supposed to run on any uneven surfaces for the time being. I do like trail running though; it is always a nice challenge. As far as snacks go, I am really into dry cereal at the moment. It is not that exciting, but so, so good 🙂

  3. I am a new reader and love following your training. Congrats on the recent 5k PR! It’s not a new discovery, but I am really liking cucumbers and hummus as a snack these days. Thanks for sharing a new healthy snack!

    • Hi! Thank you for reading and commenting and following!!:) I checked out your blog- you are pretty speedy yourself! You are doing your ten mile the same day as my marathon- fun!:) my girls love cucumbers and used to love hummus. I’m trying to get them to eat it again- I probably overdid it when they were little:) Have a great night!!

TALK TO ME:-)

