The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

Standard

Let’s just get the real ugly over with right away…

iphone pics 489

superstar.  there is nothing pretty about the faces I make when I workout.  in my driveway. or when I run. or do anything requiring me to look normal.

Here’s a little hot shot to make up for that last monstrosity of a picture

iphone pics 480

she’s kind of a big deal.

The Good – Workouts

Monday, 7 miles, couple a hills.  couldn’t make it 9.  my legs could have made it 9, tummy could not.  that has been my one major issue of running in the evening.  tummy troubles.  I needed a bathroom.  a bush would not suffice.  it was not a great run, but it was a run.  a nice slow recovery run.

Tuesday, 5 miles treadmill, 2 miles stairmaster.  1 mile @ 7:45, 1 miles @ 7:30, 2 miles @ 6:51(MGP), 1 mile @ 7:45.  onto the stairmaster.  and some strength work.  all throughout the day.

The Bad

This is not completely bad, but this is not proving to be a stellar week for running thus far.  This is my last big mileage week before April 14th. by big week, I mean hopefully 50 miles minimum.  I had big plans going into the week that I would have fantastic runs, pop out 50+ miles like it’s no big deal and feel fantastic.  Naturally, it’s not going that way.  the best laid plains….generally don’t go as planned.  for me.  10 miles was supposed to happen yesterday.  only 5 went down.  9 miles on the agenda for Monday, only 7 got done.  I’m not giving up on the high mileage week, I’m just listening to my body and adjusting where I feel it’s needed.

More Ugly

I hurt.  reason for the not stellar running week that’s going on.  not the oh this hurts so good, I’m a machine and I feel amazing hurt.  it’s not the variety of I worked out so hard I am sore from my eyeballs to my toes, but the kind that makes you nervous about the sharp pain in your shins. I would say that generally speaking, overall soreness is a good thing.  when the discomfort or pain changes and is only in one place or one leg or one hip, it’s probably not a happy pain.  I made the mistake of wearing REALLY old sneaks to run on SundayOh, it’s just 3 miles, I love these shoes and they go great with the outfit – it’ll be fantastic.   It was great.  The race was great.  My shin and my knee and my lower back are less than thrilled that I made the decision to wear the Kinvara’s with way too many miles on them.  It’s not terrible pain, but enough to make me think twice about finishing my run yesterday and to forego a run last night just to get in the miles this week.  Pay attention to your body.  get to know it.  what the good pain is.  what the bad pain is.

*be smart about your running.  you really have to listen to your body if you start to feel things are acting differently.  I know how my running body works.  shins and knees scare me and I take it pretty seriously.  I’d rather not get injured now.  I’m carefully trying to get the miles in this week without getting a massive shin splint*

**do not wear old sneakers.  even if you think you can squeek one more 5k out of them. or one little short run.  in the name of fashion or I love you so much sneakers, I just don’t want to let you go.  don’t do it.  you will hurt yourself.  it’s not nice to your hardworking bod.  poor choice, kate**

I’ll Throw in some more Good

I have a hard time being proactive about certain things like stretching, rolling and icing (I wait until things start to hurt, not recommended) I’m trying to change this bad habit.  I’m a work in progress…anyway, the shin and knee pain served to force me into showing a little TLC to the legs last night.
R I C E people.  Rest. Ice. Compression. Elevation.  I rice’d it.  I’ve been wearing my compression socks.  and stretching like a good girl.

iphone pics 477

I don’t think you have to be injured to practice these healthy running principles, my friends.  have a little ice party and then get cozy with the foam roller and give those legs some lovin’ with some compression socks.  always a good thing.

A Tad more Good

The weather has been unbelievably fantastic.  I’m getting high doses of Vitamin D.  we are outside ALLLLL DAYYYYY LOOOONNNGGG.  I get my bum out of bed at 5am, and it doesn’t stop moving until approximately 8:34 pm.  long days.  good days.  playing and running and chasing crazy little toddlers all over the yard.  that’s a workout.  Vitamin D filled Katie means I’m happy, my kids are happy, my home is happy.  I’m a half decent person to be around this week. I can only imagine it’s the nice weather, because I’m definitely not getting a lot of sleep.  I’ve taken full advantage of my outdoor workouts this week – I LOVE my strength training.  I love it even more in the driveway, in the sun.  so fun.

iphone pics 486  

weighted lunges in flip flops.  i clearly live on the edge and laugh in the face of injury.  ha. ha.

 

Lets just end on a Good note…

I was really excited for this box to come, because of the previously mentioned shin probs I brought upon myself

iphone pics 482

what is in the box?

more sneakers.  I returned the ones from last week because they were all a tad too small.  I will reveal what was in the box later this week after I have tried them out and decided what I want to keep and what’s going back to the warehouse. 

Coming up later – a really exciting split pea snack that I stumbled upon.  and other nonsense that happens between now and then. 

let me leave you with this thought….sledding is not just a winter activity. 

iphone pics 469

get out those sleds and bathing suits and have some fun.  in the sun.

 

Happy Wednesday!!!

Fill me in on YOUR week?!?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

3 responses »

  1. So I’m commenting on your Wednesday entry on Saturday, but I was on vacation, remember? I’m catching up, and just wanted to say, thanks for the posts with info on the nutrition for runners and Running Warehouse! I also got a Lulu giftcard for my birthday last week…score! WAY TO GO on the 5k! For real, you’ve motivated me to get out of my comfort zone recently. OK, my random comment on your last five posts is done. 🙂

TALK TO ME:-)

