Shins and Hot Lava

Standard

Workout – none.  it’s sad.  not because it’s a rest day, because today is a “planned” rest day from running.  but because I have decided that I need to take a few more rest days to let my shins perk up.  I’m not really happy about that.  all shininagans.  but it’s the smart, wise, mature, intelligent runner thing to do – things of which I am none of, but I’m going to pretend to be and do the smart thing.  no running. 

It hurts as soon as I start to run, and then goes away very shortly after.  but pain like that is NOT EVER a GOOD thing, and needs to be paid attention to.  it could definitely turn out not to be a bad thing, but it also could turn out to be a very bad thing.  I’ve decided that I do not want to take that risk 3 weeks out from a marathon. 

It is not going to kill me to give my body a little more tlc and little less miles than I have been giving it.   

I’m going to take care of it.  rest it.  ice it.  compress it.  and stretch the heck out of everything around it.  I was so enjoying my ice break yesterday, I almost forgot to pick my daughter up from school.

I consulted with none other than Runner’s World on matters pertaining to resting, icing, and compressing.  Here’s what they say…

I askWhy is resting and icing important during training/running?

They say…(read whole article HERE)

Years of research disprove the notion that a day off wrecks fitness; in fact, the opposite is true. Little detraining—the loss of fitness and performance that occurs when you stop working out—happens until you take off more than two weeks. When it follows difficult bouts of work, rest lets your body adapt to the work and improve. A day off every seven to 14 days restocks glycogen stores, builds strength, and reduces fatigue.

 

and the difference between rest days and easy base building days must be noted…

 

Less Is More
Rest days and easy days reward runners with different benefits

REST DAY
How It Helps:
Prevents overuse injuries
Restores glycogen stores
Prevents mental burnout
How Often: Once a week
How Easy: Off completely or 20 to 30 minutes (or 2 to 4 easy miles) below 60% of max heart rate

EASY DAY
How It Helps:
Builds base
Improves endurance
Increases blood volume
How Often: 80 to 85% of total weekly mileage
How Easy: 70 to 75% of max heart rate or conversational pace at comfortable to moderate effort

 

In another Runner’s World ARTICLE, they say this…

…most runners don’t have a problem pushing themselves. But when you’re focused on building endurance and speed, it’s easy to forget how important rest is. “It’s when you’re not running that the muscle rebuilds itself and becomes stronger,” says Bryan Heiderscheit, Ph.D., P.T., who heads the University of Wisconsin Medical School’s Runner’s Clinic. “If recovery is insufficient, you’ll break down more than you build up.” Recovery is vital whether you want to run the race of your life or just get to the starting line.

If you stop seeing positive gains or your legs feel sluggish or especially sore, you’re overdoing it. “Don’t wait for aches or pains to take a recovery day,” Heiderscheit says. “That’s a sign of overtraining.” Take at least one rest day per week and additional days as needed.

They also had this to say about ICING (not the sweet kind you get to lick off a spoon from the jar.  I know I’m not the only one who does that)

If you want to run like an elite runner, start acting like one. “When we aren’t running, we’re doing everything we can to recover,” says Bob Kennedy, a two-time Olympian, who is a devotee of postworkout ice baths and weekly sports massages. A recent Canadian study put Kennedy’s methods to the test. Subjects performed sprint intervals on a stationary bike followed by a cold-water soak, a massage, or complete rest. When they repeated the interval workout 24 hours later, the people who only rested showed a decline in performance compared to those who had the cold-water soak or massage. Ice baths and sports massages improve circulation and flush out waste products, reducing inflammation and soreness.

 

And according to The Runners Guide (dot) com,

Joint health is one of the most important reasons why runners need to schedule regular rest days into their training regimen. These rest days are critical because running is a sport which results in a great deal of impact on the joints. The repetitive nature of running results in pounding on the joints of the ankles, knees and hips with each and every stride. Allowing a few rest days during the week will give these joints the much needed rest they need to heal from the repetitive pounding. Without this rest the joints may regularly be sore or inflamed.

A reader kindly linked me to a blog post she did that is VERY informational about shin splints, what causes them and how you might take care of them, including resting, icing and compressing.  Check it out, HERE!

 

looks like I’m going to be resting.  from running.  I’ll do cross-training and strength training to fill the time that I would be running.  think elliptical, stairmaster, stationary bike.  those kind of fun things.  i’d rather be running.  it’s ok.  my husband says you could go run a 3 hour marathon tomorrow.  you are ready.  hmmmm.  i love how confident he is in my running abilities.  someone has to be.  i’m getting there.  I still show up to races, like the 5k, looking at people looking at me, just knowing they are thinking, why is SHE starting at the very front of the race?  but you know, I’m pretty sure they aren’t really thinking that.  I’m pretty sure they don’t care whether or not I’m there.  I think I project that on them, because that is still what I think about me.  there is entirely too much thinking going on.  I have just as much right to be up front as the 75 year old woman next to me who thinks she should be at the front line. or the 7 year old boy who is nudging me out.  because it’s not about starting at the front, it’s about how you view yourself and your abilities.  if the 75 year old woman run/walking a 5k views herself as a “front runner”, so should I.  it’s about attitude.  and mindset.  and confidence.  I’m not 100% there yet with my running.  so I do silly things like not rest enough when my body just wants to rest.  and run when my shins hurt.  every day I learn.  every run and every race builds some confidence and gives me some insight.  that’s what I love about running.  

Ok.  now that I have thoroughly bored you by talking whining about my aching legs for the 5th day in a row, lets quickly talk about some random Friday things.

1.  She is in training for her first marathon…in 2026

iphone pics 505

2.  This is how almost every morning has started this week….

iphone pics 504

chasing my boy all over the yard at 7am.  he’s fast too.  he doesn’t understand that mommy is trying not to run for a few days.  yes, he’s still in his pajamas.  and all he wants to do is play outside 24/7.

3.  I met with a naturopath for the first time today.  I think I liked it.  He is also a medical doctor, which was a requirement of mine in finding a naturopath.  I will expound upon this at a later date.

4.  I held the plank position for 4 minutes last night during my icing, stretching, rolling exercises.  I just had a sudden urge to plank, and then hold it for a long time.  I was dripping sweat from head to toe.  My record is 5 minutes.  i’ll break that soon.  my mom and I compete for who can hold it the longest.  she’s 52.  she held it for 5 minutes too.  she’s crazy.  like me.

5.  I’m not doing my long run tomorrow, which you know already if you’ve been paying attention to the rambling that went on above.  It would/should be my last long run.  so that’s a big bummer.  I am going to do a long gym workout.  hopping and bopping from cardio machine to cardio machine.

 

6.  Seeing this brought me back to my childhood…

 the-dar-today-35

but sometimes the lava was sharks.  sometimes it was sea monsters.  can I be 5 again?

 

Happy Friday Friends!!!

What’s going on this weekend?? I think I get to go out to dinner tomorrow night at my fave local restaurant.  exciting.

Who is doing a long run?  Explain in detail so I can live vicariously through you.

Who has a race? C’mon! I know some of you are racing this weekend!?

 

 

watch out for the hot lava.  it will sneak up on you out of nowhere.

 

 

 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

19 responses »

  1. *Raises hand* me me! Running RnR Dallas half this wknd!!

    I hope you rest those shins of yours and recover quickly! Rest & recovery is definitely important. I think I am going to rest completely tonight with compression sleeves on then tomorrow do a very short shake out run to get the nerves out before Sunday! 🙂

  2. I hope you feel better soon. But you are definitely smart to rest!

    Hopefully I will be doing 10 miles tomorrow in a local park along some fun trails. My feet have been hurting me a little today, but I have no idea why … I think it’s the shoes I was wearing and not running-related (at least I assume so!). I’m thinking my ballet flats are not the most supportive of shoes … hmmm …

    Have a good weekend and rest up! 😉

  3. Rest is so important. And overtraining is so common in the running world. I have been deeply humbled in the last couple days regarding this very topic. I ran the most miles ever in one week, two weeks ago. And during my last .25 of a mile of my last run that week, I landed wrong. I landed wrong one time and now I have an overtraining injury. And by overtraining injury I mean a stress fracture in my foot, that I may have to take 6 months off of running for it to heal. I say this in the most loving and caring way, stay off your damn legs and let those suckers heal! You will not lose any of your performance, you will only improve for your marathon. It’s counterintuitive but true. My fiance tells me that all the time. I never listen. Now I’m his patient. Guess it’s time to open my ears.

    • what a bummer that you got injured in the last part of your run:( isn’t that the way it goes….I hope you heal quickly and without problems. I am trying to be smart about this shin thing – thank you for your input and advice!

  4. I have a marathon on Sunday in Ohio. I am hoping to run sub 3:15… I was totally confident until I pulled my hamstring on a taper (!!) run two weeks ago. I have only run three times in the past two weeks, but my legs and hamstring finally feel great.

    • Oh my goodness, Erin!!!! Good luck!!! Good for you for resting it- it will do you good in the race! The first marathon I did 4 years ago, I hurt my knee and didn’t set foot on the pavement for 2.5 weeks before. It was my first race ever and I did better than I thought possible- I qualified for Boston and everyone told me I was crazy for thinking I would qualify because I had never run a race before. This is where your mind has to be strong and overcome what you think your body can’t do. Be confident in the training you have put in and you are gonna kill it!!! Ahhh, can’t wait to hear how you do!!! Good luck!:) xo

  5. Your daughter looks so cute in her running outfit. I just bought my 18 month old a running skirt and tank. I hope it will fit her by summer…I am planning to run 12 mile tomorrow morning but I may need to shorten the run depending on how my legs feel. I will write about my long run on my blog tomorrow 🙂

    Good call on allowing yourself to rest. I know it’s not always easy!

    • They make running skirts that little! I must find them!:) her little outfit is from target – she wanted “workout clothes” for her bday last year. She loves them.

  6. Agghh so sorry about your shins! But obviously you are doing the right thing and you have worked too hard to miss the race. I wish I could act like an elite runner but when I’m not running I’m usually mothering, not recovering. Gotta learn to sneak it in more.
    I’ve said it before, but I love your blog. It’s such a good mix of great info, personal experience and funny anecdotes. Love the story of you and your mom having plank competitions !

  7. How very wise of you to embrace rest, though No easy task!! Tomorrow I’m running 10 miles on a trail in the rain with my running group because we like to think we’re hard core… I suppose you could call it a mud run? 🙂

  8. No running for me for a week now…it’s killing my brain, but my left calf is finally starting to feel normal. I’m hoping to be able to run again on Monday…but I’ve been scared that maybe what seems like a minor injury will be a more severe one.

  9. Sorry about your shins, but sounds like you’re doing the right thing. Never fun to have aches and pains when you’ve put so much into training for a marathon. Today is my “long” run…it’s basically your warm-up:-) A good friend of ours is a local running coach. He gave me a plan to get me in shape to join his next clinic, so I’ve been working off that beginning this week. Fun to have a plan. Oh, and I’m with you outside at ungodly hours chasing down my 3-year old who also wants to play outdoors 24-7. Enjoy your weekend.

  10. Hope you’re feeling more yourself soon. I’m so interested in finding in naturopath, I’ve been told they can really be great. That pic of your little one is precious, I’m sure she wants to be just like her momma!

  11. I am sorry your shins are still hurting but it sounds like you’re doing everything you can to be responsible and take care of it. That is one of my biggest struggles…knowing when to hold back in order to prevent further injury. I can’t wait to hear more about your naturopath experience. Finally, your daughter is SO beautiful. I’ve never seen a little child that embodied such natural beauty 🙂

  12. Did a 5k this morning. Stayed up WAAAAY too late watching basketball (NCAA championships) which I know you and Davey have zero awareness or interest about but we eat, sleep and breath the stuff here in the Carolina’s! We are Tarheel (UNC) fans if you wondered, which I am sure you didn’t. Anywho I figured if I was too tired I’d sleep in but getting up at 5 each morning somehow resets your internal clock to just be up no matter how little sleep you’ve gotten. So I kissed my sweet babies goodbye, leaving them watching some moronic Saturday morning cartoon with their father, handed over the baby monitor of the still sleeping baby (Yes he is a miracle child) and sped off to run the 5K. Only then did I realize it was pouring down rain. When I arrived I realized…this is a trail race not a road race…well it was some darn good mud run training and even ran into (literally…if you can remember my lack of coordination) some other folks running the same mud run as I will! No long run today but conditioning, plyometrics, death work next week mixed with some hills. Do some yoga and other good stuff while you stay off those shins!!

  13. Listen to you body and rest! In a few days you’ll be flying again!

    I’ll have to show the husb the article about massage for injury prevention. Maybe I won’t get the eyebrow raise when I schedule a massage every other week???

    Your daughter is adorable! I love her running outfit. I’ve got to find one for my little pumpkin.

  14. Oh man I’m so sorry you missed your long run because of your shins! Totally sucks. I’m right there with you (well maybe the next few 10 pace groups behind ;)) I water ran on Saturday then totally deliberated my 20 miler on Sunday. I chose to skip it-very difficult decision and it was so beautiful out. BUT I was on that elliptical for 2hrs and 20 min. Sigh. And I’m so glad you posted about it because the entire time I was thinking it wasn’t nearly the same as running just mentally satisfied me, well kinda.
    Heal quickly and I have to think you made the right choice.
    Ps…that pic of kids hanging from gutter is priceless!!!! Love it!

TALK TO ME:-)

