TRACK ATTACK and Productivity

Standard

Workout – speedy speedy speedwork!!!  Lets talk about last night’s speedwork at the track (workout #2 for the day) before we move onto today’s horribly uneventful workout. 

Dear High School Track,

I love you.  It was love at first step.  You were kind to my shins.  You let my fly through a very short, but much needed speedwork confidence booster kind of run.  I hope that we can continue this relationship.  I’ll ditch the treadmill in a heartbeat for you.  Even though you are located at my old High School, and I didn’t particularly care for high school – I’ll get over that.  For you.  Even though when I arrived there last night and was fully expecting some nice alone time and instead was greeted with 80 fifth grade lacrosse boys and their parents and their little sisters that I had to dodge, running all over every lane of the track – I’ll get over that too.  This could be a good thing.  I will see you next week.  Same time.  Same place.  Get rid of the lacrosse peeps and I’ll be really happy.

Total run – 9 miles

Warmup ended up being a little longer than anticipated – we ran from my friends house to the track – 2.3 miles, then 2.4 miles home

Speed sets :

2 x 1600’s and 2 x 800’s, jog 1 lap between each

That’s it.  It was short because we got a late start and and underestimated the run to get there.  Short, but very sweet.  The splits:

1600’s – 5:34, 5:32

800’s – 2:48, 2:48 (5:37 pace)

Recovery jog at 8:15 pace

I have no pictures to show you of the track workout.  You know what a track looks like.  You know what I look like with unwashed, unshowered from the morning’s workout, lulu loving running clothes.  and I don’t bring my phone with me when I run.  no pics.

I really had no idea what to expect for my pace.  I wanted it to be at least 6 min/mile pace, but knowing how I CAN NOT pace myself at all, I knew I would probably go faster than that.  and off I went – the first lap of the first 1600 was just fun.  and they continued to be fun all the way through.  I probably could have done one more 1600 and 800 under 5:45, then it would have started to get tough.  With each set, I didn’t feel like I was pushing it to exhaustion.  Finishing each set, I had some pickup left at the end, which made me feel good.  I REALLY needed this workout.  As supershort as it was, I needed a little confidence boost that I had some speed going.  I was on cloud 9.  it was a good one.  it was my longest run since last Thursday.  to make a good night even better, I opened this piece of mail when I got home….good things do come to those who get 2nd place!!!

iphone pics 527

max restaurant group has a bunch of fancy shmancy delicious restaurants in the area.  good stuff.

 

and then I was brought back down to earth this morning by the ever loving gym treadmill – despite the fact that I even took an ice bath last night in hopes for a good tempo run this morning.  my plan didn’t work.  ice bath in vain. 

iphone pics 528

oh good God.  that is painful.  I didn’t even put a ton of ice in there.  I thought my feet were going to fall off within seconds of getting in.  after about 2 minutes, I settled in and it was fine.  I brought a little snack with me.

iphone pics 529

chocolate makes everything bearable.  and this picture is deceiving.  my toes were a pretty shade of purple.

still confident that a tempo run was in the cards for today – I hopped on the treadmill at 5:30 am.  and hopped right off after .5 miles.  not happening.  the bad news – I’m sure you can figure that one out.  shins are barking.  the good news is that they aren’t barking louder than they were when this whole fiasco started.  I’m going to call that good news.  so the elliptical and I hung out for about 6 miles and then I got on the stairmaster for 2, or so it tells me.  I think it’s all lies.  those things are never accurate. 

and soooooo begins the taper.  I’m now confident that I will be doing little to no running for the next two weeks if I want to have any chance of running 26.2 miles on April 14th.  pity party commences now…..…..and now I’m done.  Moving on.  the elliptical and I are going to get chummy.  Next week my mileage is only supposed to be in the high 20’s.  Yes, I’ve only done one 20 mile run this whole training period.  I’m trying not to think about that.  I will do another replacement long run workout on Saturday and call it good enough.  I still have high hopes that my shins will be fine in two weeks if I stay off of them.  I’m not going to run at all until next Wednesday when my track and I will meet again.  for a tempo or a speedwork. 

nuff shin talk.  lets talk about fun stuff like housecleaning and child labor.

yesterday was a waste of a day.  100%.  meaning that I was very eager to make today productive.  the whole house was going to be cleaned from top to bottom, sheets changed, kids clothes cleaned out and all switched over, everything organized and put in place, 8 loads of laundry done, freshly baked homemade goodies and treats for everyone…not a chance. in a million years.  this is where I usually get overwhelmed and back out on doing anything because I feel like I want to accomplish everything.  when that happens – I literally take a step back and mentally let go of 75% of that list.  and go with the remaing 25%, hoping to get some of that done.  then I grab a big huge garbage back and start getting rid of any toy that looks at me wrong.  that’s always a fun place to start.

iphone pics 535

off to goodwill.  you will be happier there.

no worries – it is just toys in that bag.  my shin/no more running anxiety hasn’t gotten to dangerous levels yet.  I promise.  I do this probably once a month.  you would think we would have no worldly possessions left.  you would be wrong.  because next month, I could probably fill the same size bag with silliness that never gets touched.  get it out of my house.

Whilst I am hustling and bustling around the house, my little pink peanut requests “Jillian” – she’s ready to go with the workout clothes on.  I put her to work doing the strength session while I am cleaning the house.  Someone’s gotta get toned and buff.  might as well be the 4 year old.  and the two year old testing out the sneaks.

iphone pics 533

 

She really actually loves this DVD.  and she really actually does a pretty good job doing the moves.

I really actually was a little bit jealous that I was on a role cleaning and not doing the Jillian ripped in 30 week 3 that I love and adore.

I am being really good about icing and rolling.  REALLY good.  this is my life for the next two weeks while crazy toddler takes a nap and crazy 4 year old is at school and crazy 5 year old plays.  it’s actually kind of nice because it forces me to lay on the couch and do nothing.  but compress and ice.  then roll.  that’s a pretty foreign concept to me.  all in the name of the shin. 

iphone pics 532

then I boogie my little hiney into the TV room and roll roll roll. 

iphone pics 534

not sure it’s quite big enough.  I think 3 people can roll on that at the same time.  I wasn’t really thinking when I bought it that I could have bought a shorter, more portable roller.  think BIG.

Productive day underway.  Laundry in progress.  bathrooms cleaned.  toys purged.  icing underway.  rolling was a success.  repeat. 

Coming up….my taste testers and I have tried out the Picky Bars and will let you know what we think….and Chicken chili was a success, with my own mods of course and I will be sharing that recipe with you.  You can count on the fact that I will continue to talk, complain, and bore you to death with shin splint updates and cross training shenanigans.  I will try to balance it out with some interesting informational topics for you as well.  I’m also going to try to break my planking record.  stay tuned.

 

Do you use a foam roller? or one of those little stick things? 

Have you ever taken an ice bath?

Do you get rid of large amounts of things/toys at a time?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

13 responses »

  1. Go girl!! Sweet reward for your fast finish in the 5K! 🙂

    I JUST got a massage stick and am very excited and scared to use it! I am going to have to use it tonight after my 2nd run of the day cuz my legs are in need of some rollin’.

    It has been a loooong time since I’ve done ice but I know it works wonders!

  2. I use my foam roller every day to hit the knots in my legs. When my calf tightened up, I made sure to spend extra time rolling my shins because I don’t want to get shin splints again.

    Hope your taper helps!

  3. I can relate to so much in this post: the track overrun by adolescent lacrosse players, the icing, the rolling and the purging of useless and unnecessary toys! My shins and hip have been really sore but I noticed that my shins felt much better about 1/3 into my run. Someone suggested a walking warmup for 5-10 mins before running. Going to give that a try. Best of luck in your taper!!!!

  4. I did have a foam roller but lent it to a friend who loves it so i might just let her keep it; I always forgot to use it anyway. I have been looking at a stick after reading SarahOUaL’s blog and her professing love for it (if you don’t follow her, you should, she is so funny). I do however, love and believe in ice baths, especially after long runs. They are painful so I always make sure I bring a hot cup of coffee and a magazine to occupy my time.

    • I do read her blog – she is very funny. And that’s kind of what got me thinking more about the stick. It seems like a more precise, intense way to get rid of the knots and tight muscles. I think I’m going to hunt one down this weekend! I agree, ice baths in the future will require some preparation do distract from the pain of the cold!

  5. I love your kids and hope that when I have little ones they are just as spunky and ready for activity as yours! They are very entertaining! And dang, those are quick repeats! I don’t know if I could manage sub 6 mile repeats, but I suppose if I really do want to come in well under 19 minutes in the 5k that I better start incorporating some of those bad boys into my schedule!

    Don’t run on a track much here, too difficult to get to. But I do love them, always brings back great memories from my younger years on the T&F team.

  6. I’ve never done an ice bath but your picture reminded that in the last month of pregnancy this past fall, I ate candy in the bath tub almost every night. It was the only thing that made me feel better but man that was a hard indulgence to let go.

    Have the roller and the stick and tend to use the stick more. Also guilty of getting rid of clothes and toys – but only when my daughter isn’t looking!

    The speedwork sounds like it was awesome – next week you’ll be like a bull in a pen!

  7. I try to foam roll religiously after my long runs but when the knots in my calves becomes
    too unbearable I will use a hand held massager and the occasional treat of going for a sports
    massage , $30 for 30 minutes is not too bad to keep my pain at bay. I have never tried the stick or
    ice bath ( we don’t have a bathtub) but will try to make that possible.

    How are you planning to use the vouchers? It’s so cool to win something from a race.

  8. Ok. Have you heard of tp therapy brand rollers? It sounds like we have really similar shin issues (albeit your crazy way faster) BUT, nonetheless, a pain is a pain. On my blog under a post listed therapist or something like that I found this crazy amazing roller. If we were neighbors I’d totally let ya borrow it;)
    Yay for taper and I hope kick crazy a** for your marathon!
    And yes, I’m a total purger! It seems since I’ve been a bit sidelined I’m throwing even more crap away.

  9. I recommend the foam roller to a lot of my patients….but actually recommend a shorter one just because the big one takes up so much space! And I kind of LOVE ice baths. Weird!

  10. If I do track workouts will I get as fast as you?? Good luck with the taper. I know how hard it is to not run. I occasionally roll (with the stick. It hurts!! but helps) and ice, but not with much regularity. I’m bad at injury prevention and only do something after I’m already hurt. Not good!! It sounds like you’re taking good care of yourself and hopefully the taper will help those shins heal 🙂

TALK TO ME:-)

