The Good

Standard

I was thinking of doing a post along the lines of another ‘The Good, the Bad, the Ugly’ type rambling nonsensical talk…but yesterday was such a craptastic kind of day – when 5:30 pm rolled around and I was confident time stopped and the day was never going to end and thoughts of I think I’d rather be poking my eyes out with a dull pencil type evening was happening in stay at home mommyland – that today I want to keep positive, happy, up and up, all goodness and rainbows and chocolate covered marzipan (that would be my favorite chocolate covered thing.  ever.)  keep the dull pencils away.

So it’s all GOOD talk from here on out.  no bad.  try not to do any ugly.  that’s for you to determine.

GOOD:

I did get to run last night on the treadmill at the gym.

This was not the plan.  but it was EXACTLY what my non-running for two weeks legs needed.  I really wanted to do speedwork at the track.  that was the plan. but my mental state NEEDED the treadmill run that happened last night, that I didn’t know I needed.  I love when that happens.  which is often.  plans don’t work out the way I want them to, but the way they work out is exactly what I needed at the time.  I had big doubts that this run would work out.  partly because I was so exhausted from the day, I could have fallen asleep standing up at any given moment.  I almost called it and didn’t even go.  but ‘tired’ is not even close to a good excuse.  It was GOOD that I went.  If you plan on doing something, just do it.  especially if you have the time.  no excuses.  they don’t work.

GOOD-ER:

The actual Workout: flipping fantastic.  turned out to be a tempo run of sorts.  here’s how it went down.  7 miles total.  1 mile each warmup and cooldown.  5 tempo miles in the middle. 

7:40 w/u, 6:27, 6:22, 6:18, 6:15, the last tempo mile was a 1/4 mile at each of these paces – 6:03, 5:56, 5:52, 5:49.  7:40 c/d.  done.  GOOD.

REALLY GOOD:

My running legs joined the party on the treadmill.  They hurt less than they did a week ago.  My right leg is uncomfortable today.  not sore, not even hurting, just a bit off. but we aren’t going to talk about that because that does not fall in the ‘GOOD’ category of today.  and I’m not feeling bad that it is uncomfortable.  I expected that.  I could probably run today.  I am choosing not to run because there is no benefit to it in the grand scheme of next weeks marathon.  it would do more harm than good.  The little shinny shins need rest today.  I’m letting them rest.  they worked hard last night.  Once again, I needed to know that I could still run and that I do not, in fact need a shin replacement.  because that’s where this injury was headed.  my legs are still nicely attached to my body and functioning properly.  I am not dramatic at all. 

iphone pics 589

 

SMART GOOD:

I spent close to an hour icing, rolling, massaging and stretching after my run.  I even skipped the last mile (I really wanted 8 total) because I needed the extra 7.6 minutes to stretch and stop and get ice on the way home.  I’m turning into a smart runner.  scary.  this is shocking because I didn’t get home until after 9.  doing all of that jazz put me way past my bedtime.  but it had to be done.  and it felt grrrreeeaaattt.  great. I’m wondering if that’s why my calfs are a little sore today.  they took a little beating last night with the stick.  my apologies.

MENTALLY GOOD:

Instead of running in lala land like I usually do on the treadmill, I REALLY had to be very mentally present during this run.  I really had to focus on my form and what was going on with my feet and my legs and my arms and my breathing.  and and and.  lots of thinking.  I almost fell off the treadmill from thinking so hard.  For one, I had not run on a treadmill in over a week.  I was nervous and anxious that I might not even make it through the whole run.  Resulting in my entire body being tense and uncomfortable from the first stride.  I was like one big knot of tension.  I had to keep telling myself to relax, drop the shoulders, relax the back, take a chill pill.  or 5.  I also realized that I had been compensating for my right leg with my left leg A LOT this past week.  and I found myself starting the run still compensating for my right leg, when I really didn’t have to – not to mention it’s not a great way to run.  My left leg is now like the hulk leg, and my right leg is more like gumby

I’m pretty sure I don’t have the best natural running form.  My right foot kind of kicks out to the right.  I don’t think it’s called over-pronating as much as the Katie freak foot.  I have to really focus to correct it and get it back on the same page with the rest of my body.  It would much rather be on its own run.  That’s one thing.  I also had to really focus to not land hard on my heals.  I think I naturally do that, and that’s not good for my baby shins.  I was also making sure that I landed nice and soft in general, instead of the stomping that usually happens.  These are all things I don’t think about and realize I do, until I have a little leg problem and need to protect it and make sure I don’t hurt it more.  proper running form.  don’t land on your heels.  relax the shoulders.  land soft.  does a body good.  work in progress over here.

PACING GOOD:

Let me be clear.  I do not ever pace ‘good’.  The treadmill paces me ‘good’.  that’s the only place I will ever stay on a ‘good’ pace.  With that being said, the pace that I ran felt great.  I hit the last mile at 6:03, and I quickly realized there is no reason to be running a 6:03, if I can bump it up and get it just under 6.   One thing I’ve really missed in these past couple weeks of not running, is the challenge in running.  the challenge in pushing the pace.  the challenge in making it hard at the end of the run.  that is giving me a little bit of stress about the challenge of all of those things in a marathon.  I needed to make my legs work and my lungs burn a bit at the end of this run.  Surprise to me was that the 5:49 didn’t feel too bad, and my lungs didn’t burn – that made me feel GOOD.  the only thing that made me feel bad was my lack of bladder control at that pace.  too much information, but it’s true. and you people need to know what it’s like to run after kids, if you don’t already.  it’s not always pretty.  It’s as if certain muscles just give up at a certain pace or time.  and if you have children and no issues with the bladder while running, be nice and share your tricks.  I’ve finally figured out why I will never be an elite olympic marathoner.  I simply do not have the bladder control required to run at that pace for that distance after delivering 3 children.  That took some mental focus.

SHOE GOOD:

The shoes.  Brooks PureFlow.  they are really good.  I can foresee maybe a little problem with my little pinky toe.  but, I think that’s because I usually wear thick running socks and the seam rubs a little bit.  easy fix.  get rid of the toe.  other than that, they are fabulous.

NOT POKING MY EYES OUT WITH PENCILS GOOD:

Despite the too late for me 11:30 bedtime, I got up early and did 45 minutes on the stairmaster this morning.  Makes for a nice start to the day. 

My sister flew in from Nashville and we have a fun little evening of Lululemon shopping and eating planned with the little girls and the madre.  Family makes everything good.  especially when they support the lulu habit and eating out.

I got to go in and hang with my little k-gartner in her class for an hour this morning.  and I actually took a shower and looked like a human being before I went in.  winning.  and I realized that being a kindergarten teacher to 18 five and six year olds is much more challenging than being a stay at home mom to my 3 kids, as darling and precious as they are.  those teachers are truly are saints.  I don’t know how they do it.  my heroes.

My five year old just taught my four year old how to ride a two wheeler in the back yard.  she’s a little rough around the edges, but watching them help each other and play nicely together makes me feel like I am doing something right.  If she can teach her sister how to ride a bike, I should put her on some more challenging tasks, like cooking dinner for the family a couple nights a week.  that would be nice.

and Luke – teaching me that it’s fun to rip things off the house.  he’s so special. 

iphone pics 590

we don’t really need the gutters.

There’s the GOOD stuff, friends.  choosing to ignore any bad for now. but, there really isn’t any ‘bad’ to be ignored.  that’s a GOOD thing. 

I hope you are having a GOOD day. 

8 days until Gansett.  stressball.

 

Tell me something GOOD about today

Do you have a long weekend coming up?

How do you challenge yourself running?

What is your favorite chocolate covered thing?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

14 responses »

  1. Yay yay yay for your run :). I know you needed that and now you can run your race with confidence. I am so excited to hear how it goes. You are such an inspiring running mom. So my good news today is after months of fretting over my nursing baby’s slow weight gain, today he got a “perfectly healthy” report at his six month appt. and has almost doubled his birth weight. This weekend will be all Easter all the time for my 4 yo daughter and I’m hoping the Easter bunny brings chocolate covered caramel popcorn.

    • Yayyy for healthy babies! I never made it to 6 months nursing, good for you! That’s always a good day when you get a good dr. report. OOOH, chocolate covered caramel popcorn sounds delish! Hope the easter bunny is good to you;-) Have a great weekend!!

  2. Oh my goodness, what is Luke doing?? That is such a funny picture!

    My husband has tomorrow off of work, so we’re going to this area of Georgia called Stone Mountain to do a little hiking. 🙂 Saturday I have an 11 mile run planned, and then Sunday will be church and Easter celebrations! 🙂

  3. Glad that your run went well and that your shins are still doing ok! Wow- very fast times. You are one speedy gal!!

    No long weekend, I work on Sunday. Boo. But I am going to try 14 miles on Saturday morning. I am hoping that the hamstring doesn’t contract/freeze again…. My runs this week have been going well so I am hopeful.

    WHITE covered chocolate pretzels. Yum…. I could eat a million of those things.

    • Bummer for working on Sunday:( I hope you get a good run in tomorrow – that will make for a happy weekend, at least it would for me! I will be ellipticaling away tomorrow:)

  4. I love your attitude in this post! Love chocolate covered strawberries and there’s fruit in there so it isn’t all bad 🙂 I am going to bootcamp shortly which I know will boost my mood and be the good in my day!

    • Hope bootcamp kicked your booty:) Chocolate covered strawberries barely count as chocolate – it’s almost a health food in my book;-)
      Have a great Easter weekend!!!

  5. I just purchased those shoes!! My physical therapist recommended I go a half size up– maybe I will avoid the pinky toe thing!!

    My good is that I *might* be able to try running again in two weeks! Fingers crossed.

  6. This picture of Luke is hysterical. What a busy little boy. Will he be in preschool next year? I love chocolate-covered anything salty. Taking a page from your book – the kids have no school so we’re taking a little adventure to the track so I can do my speed workout:-) Promises of frozen yogurt to anyone who cooperates. Hope you had fun with your mom & sister…what a fun girl’s night out. Enjoy your Easter.

    • Hope the froyo bribing worked and you got your speedwork in! Have a great weekend!! We’ll have to touch base soon about April vaca week, if you still want to try to meetup on your way through:)

      • Didn’t even need the bribe. It was as if I brought them to Disney they were so happy. The pole vault mats were out and they played on those the entire time! Yes, would love to meet up. I’ll be driving through G-bury on Wednesday the 18th if that works for you. My timing is flexible…probably sometime around 1-ish, but I can change that is need be. Have a great weekend.

TALK TO ME:-)

