Marathon Skirt and Clean eating Quinoa

Standard

Workout – treadmill 3 miles, elliptical 15 minutes (2 miles), stairclimber 15 minutes (2 miles)

I was feeling frisky today and decided to hop on the treadmill and see what might happen.   even though I promised the legs we wouldn’t run again until next week.  I lied.  It must have been the new Lululemon skirt I was sporting (get to that in a minute) – 1 mile warmup, 2 miles @ 6:48, marathon goal pace. 

that’s all.  nothing crazy.  I definitely could have kept going, but this was a compromise run.  testing the waters.  I was curious.  the legs and I made it through.  no spontaneous combustion.  no broken bones.  yet.  this puts me at 10 miles for the week.  whoa.  getting crazy over here.  my legs feel so much better than last week.  I’m excited to see what another week will do.  It’s hard to remember that this is actually legit taper time.  it’s acceptable to not run a lot.  it’s hard to remember that because I’ve been not running for a couple weeks.  in honor of tapering, I am not going to do anymore lower leg strength workouts.  I usually finish up the workouts with at least a couple leg exercises.  for the taper, I’m going to try to give that a rest for the next week.     

let’s backtrack to last night.  I am now convinced Lululemon puts something in the air.  I dragged my sister and my mom there last night on our little girls night outing.  I dragged the little girls too.  start ‘em young.  anyway – my ever so thrifty mom, who has been known to hunt down a pair of BRAND NEW True Religion, perfect fitting jeans for yours truly at our local Goodwill thrift store for $9.99, who doesn’t pay full price for ANYTHING, left Lululemon saying, and I quote, Katie, Look at this!  This shirt is ONLY $99.  wow!  truly and sincerely.  brainwashed my mom.  love it.  now she gets it.  I left with a few goodies.  they must have known I was coming, because just yesterday, they put out a NEW style of running skirt.  It’s called the Marathon Skirt.  It was meant to be.    be still my heart.  just what my running wardrobe needed.

lulu skirt

lulu skirt 2

What you can’t see, that is so spectacular about this skirt and makes it perfect for Gu fueling marathon runners, is that there is a pocket on each side of the shorts underneath.  perfect.  and a zipper pocket in back. 

In action…

iphone pics 595

Up close…

iphone pics 596

Short.  cute.  lovely.  little pop of color.  so fun. 

I’ll share the other fun items when they make an appearance for a run. 

We grabbed some food at a little coffee shop type place called Cosi’s after the Lulu brainwashing happened. 

The best part of Cosi’s is the table s’mores.  yum.  Anna almost caught on fire about 327 times.  but we made it out with all of our hair on our heads and the establishment still standing.  successful Thursday night.

iphone pics 594

_____________________________________________________

 

I like to think that I eat pretty healthy on a daily basis. ignore the s’more eating above.  but it’s very easy for sneaky little unhealthy things to sabotage a good healthy day.  That’s ok with me every now and then.  but sometimes I get to a point when I really want to get all of the junk out.  I especially think like this pre-race.  With one week to go, I decided, just last night, that I am really going to cut the crap out and eat superclean.  I really think the only reason this becomes difficult for me to do on a more regular basis is because of all the kids food.  snack stuff.  mac and cheese for lunch.  pretzels coming out of our ears.  I steal a few bites of here and there.  it’s not super unhealthy, but better food choices could be made, for sure.  I know that for me, little bits here and there definitely ‘gunk’ up my system.  yes, ‘gunk’.  go look it up.  and you can let me know what it means, because I just threw it in there. 

This is what super-clean eating for me means – this stuff comes OUT:

Dairy, most meat, sugar, bread, soy products, some fruits.  The dairy and soy are not a big part of my diet to begin with. 

Stuff that stays IN:

Lots of vegetables, rolled oats, nuts, seeds, avocados, almond milk, beans, whole grains, quinoa, lentils.  think vegan without the soy.  ultimately, that’s where I’d like to be as a family.  in time.  no rush.  Being the food planner of the family, I like to take things as they come and try out different ways of eating as I ‘feel’ necessary.  not pushing anything.  for now, meat stays in.  minimally.

I really want to like quinoa.  and I really want to like lentils.  I have yet to make them in a way that makes me happy to eat them.  unless there is some recipe where it is healthy to eat them covered in chocolate, I just don’t want them.  But, in trying to eat very clean this next week, I’m giving quinoa and lentils another shot.  and this thinking prompted this delicious little dish I came up with and gave up my shower this morning to make.  I was woman on a mission this morning to make a superhealthy meal that I could tolerate.  It was delish.  I got really creative and named it

Quinoa/Lentil/Bean Salad

iphone pics 600

Here’s how you do it:

2cups quinoa – made according to directions.  no seasonings.

Remove from heat, add salt, pepper, garlic salt and cumin, lime juice. (I apologize, I don’t measure seasonings.  whatever floats your boat:-))  let cool.

Drain and rinse 1 can cannelini beans and 1 can black beans.  Add salt, pepper and garlic salt.  Sautee over med/high heat for 5-6 minutes.  Remove and toss with quinoa. 

let cool, add chopped red pepper and chopped cilantro. 

Cook 1 cup lentils according to package.  Drain any excess water and sautee in pan for a few minutes – add same seasonings.

 

iphone pics 601

 Let cool and then toss with quinoa/beans.

iphone pics 603

I added an avocado to my personal scrumdiddlyumptious bowl.

What is more impressive about the lovely taste of this dish, are the nutrition facts.  I worked my math magic and put it into myfitnesspal.  here you go.  per 1 cup serving. 

iphone pics 604

love the potassium, especially after you add the potassium rich avocaodo.  love the fiber and the protein.  all good.  go make it.  and go run.

ps- this actually makes a huge amount – approx 12 servings @ 1 cup each.  that would equal 12 cups for all of you math whizzes.  adjust accordingly.

So clean.  so good.  those are the types of meals I will be making this week.  I made so much of this, that I will probably be eating this all week.  I would imagine it would be really good with some salsa on top, or anything mixed in – like chicken or beef.  put it in a wrap.  so many possibilities.

My training plan calls for a long run of only 8 miles tomorrow.  I’m not sure why I still refer to my plan, because I dropped that ball a few weeks ago.  but, I do still refer to it to see how far I’ve strayed give me a general guideline as to what the heck I should be doing.  then I put my own spin on it.  I’m not going to run tomorrow.  I do believe I will save that until Tuesday.  nerves nerves nerves.  starting to creep in.  get ready for some marathon talk and past race reviews of how fantastic I am at pacing.

This weekend I will be busy playing Easter Bunny and host of all other Easter festivities.  egg dying, food making, family feeding.  joyous. 

catch ya on the flip side friends.  meaning Monday.

Have a happy happy weekend, whatever you may be doing.

 

Do you enjoy quinoa?  Lentils?  I actually have a quinoa recipe that involves chocolate – tasty.  I may have to revisit it.

Who is running long this weekend?

Who is tapering for a race next weekend?

Tell me about your other fun weekend plans!

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

14 responses »

  1. LOVE that skirt- it’s so cute! Seeing as how it took me forever to convince my husband to let me buy my $50 Kinvaras, I don’t think I’ll be buying a $99 running skirt anytime soon 😦 A girl can dream though, right?

  2. I like quinoa! I haven’t really tried lentils plain (only in a soup where it’s all pureed). The nutrition on that dish you made is awesome! I would probably end up eating 2.5 servings though. It sounds delicious!
    I plan on doing a long run on Sunday. Have a great weekend!

    • I was definitely hungry like an hour after I had that dish, I think adding the avocado helped give it a little more substance. Have a great weekend and enjoy your Easter long run:)

  3. Oh my gosh — that skirt is adorable…love it! I like quinoa but hate lentils. I’ll give them another try someday. I am up early for my “long” run. Will be happy to have it finished early so I can focus on all things Easter. I keep meaning to ask you is your gym is WOW? If so, you’ve probably seen my dad there at some point. He walks 4 miles 5 days a week on the treadmills at 4.0. Impressive for a 74 year old. Have a fun weekend. Can’t wait to read about your marathon prep next week. I bet your stressing and abscessing is just another outlet for al of your energy while you taper.

    • Yep, I go to WOW. I am usually at the gym before 6am, so if your dad is there at that time, I’ll look out for an older gentleman walking!
      Mixing the lentils with the quinoa dish made them tolerable. I really don’t like them plain or in soup either, but this kind of disguised them.
      I will plan on Wednesday afternoon to meet up!
      Have a great weekend and a fantastic long run!!

  4. LOVE that skirt! I have never even been in that store bc I know I will just get annoyed at the but things and the rough prices.

    I don’t get quinoa. It never cooks properly for me! I try to use my rice cooker and it ends up slightly crunchy everytime. I am picky about texture so I’ve given up 😦

    • It’s better to stay out of that store, then, if you don’t want to develop a really bad habit of going there once a week! Their stuff is just so perfect for running and living in;-)
      I rarely cook quinoa correctly, like you, mine always turns out crunchy as well. This time, I added probably 1/2 cup more water than the bag says to add. It helped. Adding the seasonings after also seemed to make it taste better to me. My lentils always end up crunchy, I can never get them right either! I was very pleasantly surprised with this dish!
      I hope your calf is healing up nicely! Have a great Easter weekend:)

  5. I love that skirt and it looks so cute on you. How could you resist? No way!
    I also love eating quinoa and just last week made a black quinoa recipe with mango, tomato, avocado and cilantro – drizzled with lime and olive oil. So good and summery. Also love lentils, but think red lentils taste better.
    Have a Happy Easter!

    • Oh my goodness, that quinoa recipe sounds amazing! I love cilantro! I will have to try out the red lentils next time – definitely don’t really enjoy those green ones.
      Have a great Easter!!

  6. Very cute skirt!! 🙂 I have an 11 mile run planned for this morning, but I hope it goes OK … husband and I climbed up a mountain yesterday (we’re not as hard-core as that sounds), and my butt is sore! 😉

  7. Semi-tapering for a half-marathon next saturday (well, a half marathon where I am getting there early and running 5 miles to make it a 18.1 miler) I do have some serious Boston-envy.

    Love me some Lentils crushed with tons of garlic. Nice protein, good for regularity, but without the immediate stinky aftermath of other beans.

  8. That skirt looks so amazing on you. Good job on your run and even better job stopping even though you felt great! You are incredible!

TALK TO ME:-)

