Getting Ready to Go…

Standard

Wardrobe Ready

iphone pics 641

Fueling Up

iphone pics 646

looks so yummy…

bagels, bagels and more bagels

iphone pics 647

 

Snacks for Kids…makes for a happy race day

iphone pics 644

Snacks for Mama

iphone pics 645

magic powders and pills.  they give me super powers.  lets not talk about the amount of horse pills and supplements in that bag….except to say that it’s not for a single serving…and it’s naturopath approved  😉  the little baggy to the left is my breakfast, if I can hunt down some hot water in the morning – oatmeal/chia seeds/protein powder – and Go Lean bar as back up.  I also need to hunt down some iced coffee for the am…I don’t like it hot

Compressing

iphone pics 642

while trying to look normal.  tough for me.  all hidden under real clothes.  makes for an interesting and long bathroom trip.

 

I’m going to hunt down the ice machine at the hotel and chill my shins and knees tonight.  and get reacquainted with the massage stick.  and relax.

It’s a run.  It’s a race.  I love to do both.  I’m going to give it all I’ve got, but I’m going to have fun.  I’m going to REALLY love getting out there and running.

Gansett Marathon is a qualifying only race, harder than Boston’s qualifying times.  Running a qualifying time is the only way to get into this race.  It’s small.  It’s fast.  I like small.  I like fast.  as long as I’m fast.

 

Do you have a particular pre-race meal?

Iced coffee, hot coffee, tea?

I hope everyone has a great running and racing weekend!!! 

Chat with you cool kids on Sunday!

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. I’m so excited to hear about your race! Love all your race prep, especially the kids’ snacks. When we flew out to CA for Kevin’s Western States he had bags and bags of white powders in his carry-on…we were sure he was going to get pulled aside. Then again, when he ran VT100, there was a police stop and check point on I-89 in VT. They went through the trunk and everything and had LOTS of ?s about the powders. Best of luck — you’ll do great.

  2. Ahhhh good luck! I love the anticipation before a race!

    Pre-race meal = whole wheat toast with PB and banana. I like coffee hot in the morning (with half and half…yum!)

  3. Good luck Katie! Run smart the first half and run tough the second half! And personally, I’d skip the vitamins race morning. 🙂

    • Thank you!! Just a tad stressed because I forgot my garmin charger and it’s near dead!:-/ no time like the present to learn self pacing…or just sticking with #1 girl and not letting her outta my sight!;-) Have a great night:)

TALK TO ME:-)

