Let’s Pretend This Didn’t Happen…

Standard

I’ve said before, I truly think everything happens for a reason, and there was a reason for this race…so because I’m sure you are all sitting in suspense by your computers waiting to hear how I broke 3 hours, I am going to just do a super quick post and do a recap tomorrow about how I want this day to be erased from history – while at the same time am fully aware that bad races have to happen and I needed this race for my “arsenal” of race experiences to draw from. I just wish this wasn’t that bad race for me. I also wish it wasn’t as bad as it was. I am going to let myself be in a massive funk for about 15 more hours, then I will get my act together and move on.
If we can make up a super cool category of negative pr’ing by like 10 minutes – than I am in that supercool category and came in at 3:21. 10th female out of 56 or so.
That is all I’m going to say about that for now. A humbling, humiliating, slightly depressing, learning experience. Lots more details I am going to leave out for now until I process my run…and have time to write.
I have to go chase a toddler and a four year old and a five year old right now. Fun never ends.
Here’s a little post race, forced smile pic…

20120414-161754.jpg

And Luke stealing my Gatorade…

20120414-161844.jpg

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

25 responses »

  1. Sorry that your race didn’t go as you expected. The worst races are the best learning opportunities; I am sure that sub-3 is just around the corner for you!!

  2. I count 46 or so who came in behind you and a whole lot more than that who didn’t do it at all missy. So let’s cut that 15 hours to 15 minutes and put back on our ” I am a rockstar panties ” and get on with this day….
    love you

  3. I am so sorry your sub 3 did not happen today – I know you had some challenges going into it. I concur with everyone else – you are such an inspiration and your goal will happen! You have the talent and determination and I feel lucky to read and learn from your experiences.

    • Thanks:) It will happen – there is definitely a lot to learn about running and how it works with ME, and I still feel fairly new at figuring that out…a work in progress for sure!
      I hope you are having a great weekend!!

  4. I just started reading your blog and I think you are amazing! 3:21 is fabulous. I know you wanted under 3 and you will get there! Just be proud of yourself and think of all of us who think you are amazing!

  5. Oh girl, I feel for you. I’ll be honest, running a 3:21 would be an absolute lifetime goal that I am shooting for someday, but I know that my opinion or others’ opinions don’t matter because it’s not what YOU wanted. You are right that sometimes, it’s just not your day to race YOUR way. You are so freakin’ talented and smart, and you’re right this will make you a stronger runner. Hugs to you. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much – you’re awesome:) What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger, right?;)
      Shoot for the stars! I’ll get there, and so will you!
      Have a great weekend!

  6. Great race Katie! Give yourself a pat on the back for the awesome determination and effort. The more obstacles you face now will only make it sweeter when you reach your goal. You are definitely the best dressed marathoner I’ve seen πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Penny! There was a lot of Lululemon going on at this marathon:) Every marathon is a step in the right direction for me…figuring it all out! Have a great day!!!

  7. So sorry that it didn’t turned out as you had hoped, and I know from experience that nothing anyone can say will change the fact that you spent months training for a goal race only to have it all blow up in your face…so I won’t tell you how valuable the lessons you learn will be from this or how you’ll somehow become a different runner because of one bad race. It sounds like you had the same experience that I had last fall with my marathon, only I negative PRed by about 20 minutes, and that hurt a bit. I allowed myself 24 hours to be a baby about it, then I chose to move on because it is what it is at this point.

    One race won’t define you, so remember that! You are still a kick butt runner who can run an 18:xx 5k and a 1:28 half marathon while being a mother of three…holy heck that is pretty dang impressive.

    • Thanks, Brittany – I appreciate your words. I actually remember reading part of your recap of your chicago race and went back and read it again today – so much of it resonated with me….and then your post yesterday was spot on for me and so informative. Perfect timing! I hope you’re running is going fantastic! I’m going to regroup this week and get back to the basics of what works for me:)
      Have a great rest of your weekend:)

  8. In my realm of running you are a rock star! And you were injured (shin splints) going into this race, so with that in mind I’d say you were awesome! So great job!! You will get back to where you were I am certain!

    Thanks for inspiring us with your experiences. πŸ™‚

  9. Hi Katie,
    you have read it all, but still, 3:21 is what most runners do not accomplish. I can imagine it is not relevant at the moment, but look at the whole picture: You have 3 little kids, household to take care of and you train like a champion! Your shins were giving you bad time…so it just was not the right race for sub 3! With your determination you are going to get there …sooner than later.
    btw…i did my first marathon this weekend…and if I would dare and write the time, your blog would collapse…still I am so proud of myself and so you should be!

    • Yay yay yay for your first marathon!!!! I would love to know how you did- running a marathon is a MAJOR accomplishment, good for you!!:) And it’s good to know Radcliffe was off her game too- I’m in good company;-) Have a great day!!!

  10. I am so sorry the marathon didn’t go as well for you as you would have liked. I would be delerious with joy with a 3:21. I know you are capable of a sub 3. If is makes you feel any better, I’m 42. I have been racing for about 12 years, and I am still getting faster. You have plenty of good years left! (And your kids are adorable)!

TALK TO ME:-)

